Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amateur day at the circus‏

• 21-05-2011 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭

I've just sent this to a choice list - and some media contacts.
    Sent: 21 May 2011 10:41:29
    To: leo.varadkar@oireachtas.ie; alan@alanshatter.com; traffic@dublincity.ie; Garda Press Office (pressoffice@garda.ie); gpsu@garda.ie; info@gsinsp.ie; Andrew Montague (andrewmontague@eircom.net); Cllr. Dermot Lacey (dermot.lacey@dublincity.ie); eoghan.murphy@oir.ie; info@dublinbus.ie

Just around town now. Garda, city council and Dublin Bus are like headless chickens for the last while. Dame Street is closed so the gardaí can demolish the public street lighting for the Obama visit. I can understand general traffic being blocked, but not buses.

Gardaí on Dawson Street twiddling their thumbs outside the Mansion House for the state funeral while there is a traffic jam on-going. Either (a) sort out the traffic jam or (b) don't be seen twiddling your thumbs.

Bus drivers being told over the radio to travel between South Great Georges Street and O'Connell Bridge, via Westmoreland Street ... but not via Dame Street. Given the typical size of a bus, this may require magic.

Thank you

Colm

PS Someone might fix the loose paving slab around College Green before someone plants something under them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Victor wrote: »
    I've just sent this to a choice list - and some media contacts.

And Victor,don't forget the absence of public lighting in Westmoreland Street.....only a single unit functioning on the eastern side and none at all on the south western corner...this situation has pertained now for in excess of 2 YEARS. :eek:

During this time Dublin City Council has depended upon the goodwill of the Westin Hotel to leave their own illumination on in order to light the street.

In the meantime Dublin City Council has continued to pay a substantial salary to somebody who insists they are the City Manager....given that having a major city thoroughfare without any public lighting would indicate the City has in fact NO such personage employed,I suggest the City Council have been had by a fraudster from some African Country who is pretending to be the City manager...!

Please DO copy this to your contactees !!!!

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

:mad:

I got directed off the road for Barry O'bama's convoy today at Donnybrook this morning, just on a training run too.

Assholes, thinking they're better than everyone else with they're ridiculous big US cars and Garda lackeys

:mad:

I got directed off the road for Barry O'bama's convoy today at Donnybrook this morning, just on a training run too.

Assholes, thinking they're better than everyone else with they're ridiculous big US cars and Garda lackeys

Cookie,are you sure that was'nt Garret Fitzgeralds removal to the Mansion House you encountered ?

I met this also and thought,like you,it was a dry run for the big O.....only when I saw the new (and very large ) Hearse coming back from Dawson St did the pingin drop....:)

On a tangent,is'nt Garret Fitzgerald's Lying-in-State recieving a lot more Public interest than the same of his "old adversary" CJ Haughey ?

This has been a momentous week in Modern Irish History and Garret's death has afforded yet more evidence of the Irish People developing in their thoughts ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Cookie,are you sure that was'nt Garret Fitzgeralds removal to the Mansion House you encountered ?

no, US SUV's and that uniquely stupid looking limo
    new_Presidential_limo.jpg

also that last post (of mine) was a bit strong, I may have been quite drunk by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭KenHy

Does the President of the USA routinely stop for tolls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

And Victor,don't forget the absence of public lighting in Westmoreland Street.....only a single unit functioning on the eastern side and none at all on the south western corner...this situation has pertained now for in excess of 2 YEARS. :eek:
    I spoke to the light foremand about putting the lights below the canopies of the trees, but no, they are putting the same stuff back (even the stuff they were cutting apart with the blow torch), but may fit extra lights ... at some stage.
    KenHy wrote: »
    Does the President of the USA routinely stop for tolls?
    Perhaps not, but the vehicle may when its off duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,088 ✭✭✭Trampas

doesn't go very fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,115 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

I can just imagine the M7/8 toll booth trying to decide if its a car or a truck if he cant helipcopter to Moneygall tomorrow.

Victor wrote: »
    I spoke to the light foremand about putting the lights below the canopies of the trees, but no, they are putting the same stuff back (even the stuff they were cutting apart with the blow torch), but may fit extra lights ... at some stage.

This is perhaps the worst aspect of Irish Public Administration and it's a recurring phenomenon...The absolute and total refusal to use an opportunity when it presents itself...

Other modern forward thinking places,such as Zimbabwe,Albania or Turkmenistan would see the massive uprooting job as a God Sent opportunity to improve the infrastructure,but not Dublin City Council....NO !....NÍL...."yiz have lived in darkness for the past few years,why bother changing now "

In many ways if it was'nt for the fecking Brits we'd be relying on the likes of the City Manager to widen Westmoreland Street and to install some burning rush holders to light the way......:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has. Margaret Mead

Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

This is perhaps the worst aspect of Irish Public Administration and it's a recurring phenomenon...The absolute and total refusal to use an opportunity when it presents itself...

Other modern forward thinking places,such as Zimbabwe,Albania or Turkmenistan would see the massive uprooting job as a God Sent opportunity to improve the infrastructure,but not Dublin City Council....NO !....NÍL...."yiz have lived in darkness for the past few years,why bother changing now "

In many ways if it was'nt for the fecking Brits we'd be relying on the likes of the City Manager to widen Westmoreland Street and to install some burning rush holders to light the way......:o
    Just like Carlow town council installing a loo at the bus park a few weeks before ripping it up again for sewage/water works, and now that it has been replaced it will most likely be torn up again shortly for the new roundabout being put at Hanover.

The mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,593 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Just to advise:
    Southbound traffic (and buses) gridlocked from Merrion sq via Westland Row, Townsend St, D'Olier St and the entire North Quays to Heuston. Total chaos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

lxflyer wrote: »
    Just to advise:
    Southbound traffic (and buses) gridlocked from Merrion sq via Westland Row, Townsend St, D'Olier St and the entire North Quays to Heuston. Total chaos.

I got on a bus at Cork Street at 9:25AM for a normally 10-15 minute trip to the city centre. I got off at the Coombe, told work I'd be in for the afternoon and and walked back home. Chaos ain't the word, last week wasn't even close to this level of a snarl up.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Why didn't you just walk to work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Why didn't you just walk to work :)

1) Appalling Rain.
    2) A foot that can't walk fast for more than 10 minutes due to injury
    3) I am rather lazy and slept in :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Number 3 is the only valid reason!

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Just like Carlow town council installing a loo at the bus park a few weeks before ripping it up again for sewage/water works, and now that it has been replaced it will most likely be torn up again shortly for the new roundabout being put at Hanover.

The mind boggles.

Absolutely Foggy,thanks for that information,as it underlines just how this type of abberant behaviour is deeply embedded in our Public Administration on a National Level.

It appears that most,if not all,of our Public Administration "Professionals" have all attended the same colleges,attained the same qualifications and now practice the exact same level of half-taught theories where ever they can draw a salary for it.

Just look at the two great standard-bearers for Regulation in this Republic......Finance and Taxi's....:rolleyes:

Both of these areas benefitted from the "New" thinking which espoused a fully independent Regulator with wide ranging powers and total autonomy from Political Interference.....Yet both of these Regulatory systems now lie in smoking heaps after a succession of Regulatory collapses which are defended by a suggestion that Irish Independent Regulators do not have the burden of actual responsibility for their actions......It really is the most bizzare depiction of where modern Ireland now stands.....:(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Trampas wrote: »
    doesn't go very fast
    Got stuck leaving the embassy
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-13507728 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Got stuck leaving the embassy
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-13507728 :D
    Looks like some of the suspension parts were damaged thef way the front sat down on the axle:) all the planning and nobody thought they could trip on their own doorstep:D