Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Graham Geraghty back in the Meath panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Heard it during the week alright there were rumours.
    Also Darren Fay?

If this backfires Banty will be gone. Big gamble in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

whycliff wrote: »
    Heard it during the week alright there were rumours.
    Also Darren Fay?

If this backfires Banty will be gone. Big gamble in my opinion.

No, Darren Fay is not coming back. Can't imagine GG starting so Banty has nothing to lose by sticking him on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

he must need the milage payments

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Will be interesting to see - is he around the 37/38 year mark??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

This can't end up good unless you're a Dub. Really bad move IMO when Meath were doing great without him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

This can't end up good unless you're a Dub. Really bad move IMO when Meath were doing great without him.
    Doing great...I would hardly think so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Will be interesting to see - is he around the 37/38 year mark??

According to RTÉ he is 38.

Banty must be thinking of using him as an impact sub or to serve as a distraction for the opposition by calling him back into the panel.

At 38 you would think that his best days are behind him - I know there are a few exceptions, Anthony Rainbow for Kildare played until he was nearly 40 while Tony Browne is still going strong at 37 for Waterford - but it doesn't say much for the rest of the forwards if they are going to have to rely on a lad who retired from the game 3 years ago.

Agree with a previous poster that it is a huge gamble and if it doesn't work out, then I think Banty could well be walking away at the end of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭kildare9

Its bad for the young lads in the Meath set up. They will feel hard done by if he becomes are regular starter on the team. Doesn't bother me too much, im sure the Kildare backs will be well able to handle him IF we meet them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

closeline wrote: »
    Doing great...I would hardly think so?

Well not too bad anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Its a move that smacks of desperation in my opinion. At 38 he is too old to make comeback.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Its a move that smacks of desperation in my opinion. At 38 he is too old to make comeback.

I wouldn't think so - if he can make a positive impact, then why not? As for the younger fellas, if he can give them something then it could be a good thing. It will be interesting to watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭thesultan

What age was Jimmy Keaveney when he came back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭kc66

kildare9 wrote: »
    Its bad for the young lads in the Meath set up. They will feel hard done by if he becomes are regular starter on the team. Doesn't bother me too much, im sure the Kildare backs will be well able to handle him IF we meet them ;)

Why should they feel hard done by? If a better player from the county exists he deserves to be out there. GG has been an outstanding player for a long time, and still is for his club. Hope it works out. Meath are in a lot of trouble so far this season and GG could make the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭paul71

After watching Leinster rugby for a year and Horgan plucking balls from the sky on kick offs, anyone wishing he would retire from rugby? Which would benefit us most GG coming back or Horgan solving our ongoing midfield problems, or is this just wishful dreaming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Sure they might aswell bring back Giles, ollie murphy and Colm O'Rourke while they are at it:D.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

If McEnaney feels he's good enough to take part, then great. If he's not, I'm sure he won't be played.

Love to see him get a go at the Dubs again if he's up for it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Well at 38 I cant see him getting any faster or better for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

Oh you poor deluded Meath people. Banty doesn't care about GG, he only cares about himself. This time last year he was picking a centre half back to play in goal, in 2007 he broke an agreement with Tyrone on jersey colours in ulster final, in a league game against Armagh on 2008 he kept the team in the dressing room until 30 seconds before the start of the game. A lad on the Tyrone team told me that they spent the journey time to Clones for last years Ulster final speculating on what stunt would Banty pull, the correct answer was to switch the dressing rooms. Bottom line, Banty wants to be viewed as a cute hoor, that's his Sam Maguire. He wants one of these stunts to work because thats his idea of a good manager. He's a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭davedfc

What are meath fans opinions of banty so far? I think hes a bluffer of the highest order and meath football will go nowere with him in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

davedfc wrote: »
    What are meath fans opinions of banty so far? I think hes a bluffer of the highest order and meath football will go nowere with him in charge.
    Time will tell. He needs at least two all Ireland campaigns before he is judged IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

He could be on very thin ice with news breaking about 2 of his selectors walking away... If Geraghty's comeback isn't a success he'll be gone if they don't beat Kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭tippx

There was always a good buzz when GG was sprung from the beanch esp In his last year
    As we were roarin on the Hill ,Release the beast ,I mean he,l def get the the fans goin ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

Looks like Graham's comeback is not welcomed by everyone -
    Meath football selectors quit
    Meath senior football selectors Liam Harnan and Barry Callaghan have left the Royal County set-up.

The news comes just days after former captain Graham Geraghty made a surprise return to the Meath squad.

It appears that Meath manager Seamus McEnaney did not consult with Harnan and Callaghan over the return of the former All-Ireland SFC winning captain.

Callaghan was abroad last week and was unaware of the Seneschalstown clubman's recall to the county panel.

Harnan refused to comment on the issue on Friday, and took charge of the Meath team for a challenge game against Westmeath that night.

McEnaney was not present for the game at Rosemount which Meath won by 2-10 to 0-12.

Neither Harnan or Callaghan are willing to comment about their decisions to step down, but the Meath County Board says both have left due to 'personal reasons.'

Meath will face Kildare, the conquerors of Wicklow, in a Leinster SFC quarter-final tie at Croke Park on Sunday, June 5.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/meath-football-selectors-quit-506037.html#ixzz1N79EU8hv

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I reckon his comeback will cause more harm than good. A couple of selectors leaving at the beginning of the championship cannot be seen as a good thing. He would want to make a considerable impression for it to be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

If it's true that the two selectors left because they were not told about GG coming back into the squad, then it puts Geraghty in a very bad position through no fault of his own. He'l be seen as the bogey man, when all he's done is turn up for training when asked. Banty appears to have made a mess of this. But it really is hard to tell whats really going on, as we're only being drip fed small bits of information. There's definetly more to this than meets the eye.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

McEnaney said he picks players who are on form not age and he said Geraghty is playing well at the moment

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

sendit wrote: »
    McEnaney said he picks players who are on form not age and he said Geraghty is playing well at the moment

I can only presume that he was playing poorly for the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I can only presume that he was playing poorly for the last few years.

Not as well as he's been playing this year, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭rpurfield

baztard wrote: »
    If it's true that the two selectors left because they were not told about GG coming back into the squad, then it puts Geraghty in a very bad position through no fault of his own. He'l be seen as the bogey man, when all he's done is turn up for training when asked. Banty appears to have made a mess of this. But it really is hard to tell whats really going on, as we're only being drip fed small bits of information. There's definetly more to this than meets the eye.

from what ive been hearing its not the fact its GG that returned but the fact they werent included in the thought process that brought him back.the players are apparently happy with banty so they better go out and show it against kildare by given a much improved showing on last augusts 1/4 and the league campaign because if they dont show up bantys in big trouble after this debacle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

rpurfield wrote: »
    from what ive been hearing its not the fact its GG that returned but the fact they werent included in the thought process that brought him back.the players are apparently happy with banty so they better go out and show it against kildare by given a much improved showing on last augusts 1/4 and the league campaign because if they dont show up bantys in big trouble after this debacle

thats pretty much what I've heard too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭pipelaser

This man is worth the gamble.
    How young players feel about his inclusion wont matter a **** when theyre being schooled by a powerful Kildare outfit.

Him coming on a a sub will raise the roof and is bound to have an effect on the Kildare full back lines thinking, hes the perfect decoy, and wishful as it might sound I believe he could even still be more than that.

This has made my summer already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

pipelaser wrote: »
    It's made our summer too, he'll get some welcome from the Dublin fans in croker on Sunday week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

dcr22B wrote: »
    It's made our summer too, he'll get some welcome from the Dublin fans in croker on Sunday week :D

I doubt it, he will be half way home by ten past four:D

Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

davedfc wrote: »

I don't know Banty myself, but when he moved to Meath, he had the presence of mind to keep on board Paul Grimley, who is a top class coach / tactician / man manager.

I'll give Banty one thing - he ain't stupid!

whatnext wrote: »
    I doubt it, he will be half way home by ten past four:D

Sorry
    I'll be there for the first game and not just because GG is playing.

I'll give him another, it's all about him and Meath fans warned (and were warned) against that from the very start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭rpurfield

pipelaser wrote: »
    This man is worth the gamble.
    How young players feel about his inclusion wont matter a **** when theyre being schooled by a powerful Kildare outfit.

Him coming on a a sub will raise the roof and is bound to have an effect on the Kildare full back lines thinking, hes the perfect decoy, and wishful as it might sound I believe he could even still be more than that.

just thinking that myself actually his appearing could lift the team in a close game.between the leinster final issue,the manager issue(after all the players seemed to have wanted banty when he threw his name in)the poor league campaign and now this selector thing the players really need to perform against kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭davedfc

I don't know Banty myself, but when he moved to Meath, he had the presence of mind to keep on board Paul Grimley, who is a top class coach / tactician / man manager.

In my opinion its his backroom team doing all the work when he was with monaghan he had grimley and mcelkennon with him both proven in there own right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭moomoocow

Big call to bring him back, no getting over the fact he was a great player but thats just it he was a great player. Is Fay coming back aswell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭ned rierson

rumour has it glenn ryan is coming back to mark him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

dcr22B wrote: »
    I'll give him another, it's all about him and Meath fans warned (and were warned) against that from the very start!

He has been a total and utter disaster and I suspect an early exit for us from both Leinster and the qualifiers this year and hopefully a swift end to Banty as a Meath manager too. I normally hate to see managers turned over so quickly but this guy is just simply useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

draffodx,
    I have to say that I was in favour of Banty originally but the recent goings on have been pretty pathetic. Not the recall of Geraghty per say but the lack of communications with the selectors.

He needs a big win against Kildate as much if not more than the players do.