Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LOL @ AIB

• 19-05-2011 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭

I have an AIB account, and this morning I got a letter from them to tell me my account has been credited with 120Euro+interest of 20Euro due to a failed ATM withdrawl in Feb 2006.

Now, here's the good bit...

I haven't used the said account since 2003, and have never ever ever used an ATM in the location where they said the withdrawl took place.

Naturally, being an upstanding responsible citizen, I find myself faced with a dilemma.
    So boardsies, what should I do ?

Should I ?

A: Run to the nearest AIB branch and explain this with a view to returning the money ??

or

B: Spend the weekend drinking someone elses fuck up ??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Just tell them, they'll figure it out eventually and then you'll have to pay it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭The Brigadier

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Take the monies and run! Close the account then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Jerrica

1. Open account with AIB
    2. Leave account to stand
    3. ???
    4. Profit

AIB have taken enough of our money, drink it and be merry. Or you could say something to them, like in a toast maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

Take the monies and run! Close the account then.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

withdraw the moeny then close the account! problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Don't be like one of those tossers who take the €400 and spend it when they only pressed €50, they eventually have to give it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

I think you should give it back if everyone took and spent money wrongly credited to thier account the banks would end up in a far worse position than its now and so ultimately would we......HA HA HA only messing take the money and run tis their fault have a beer for me!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

marcsignal wrote: »
    drinking someone elses fuck up

Thats all kinds of wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

No dilemma really, highlight the mistake and have it rectified now
    If you haven't used the a\c since 2003 you really should close it, you will still be paying stamp duty on the ATM cards and what now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

For every euro you have been credited the banks, AIB included robbed 1 beeeeeeeeeeeeelion off the rest of us. you'd be mad to give it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

4 say hand it back

6 say go on the piss

hmmmmmm ?

What would Sean Fitzpatrick do ? I say to myself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭paddypowder

if i could just have your bank account details.. annnd sort code

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

C. Say nothing, Leave the money in the account and go for double or quits. You might get another magic dividend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Shame that your integrity can be bought for as little as €140.

Guilty :o

Right then, I'm gonna leave it there for a week. It's my birthday at the end of the month. If the cash is still there by then, I'll drink the money and give the 20Euro interest to a cancer charity.

If they ever catch up with me, I'll jump off that bridge when I come to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

its obviously your lucky day, disregard my last post about wasting it down the pub, withdraw it and buy 70 €2 quickpicks or €2 scratchcards, either that or throw €70 each way on a 5/1 horse, either way you cant lose cause it aint your money

donalg1 wrote: »
    its obviously your lucky day, disregard my last post about wasting it down the pub, withdraw it and buy 70 €2 quickpicks or €2 scratchcards, either that or throw €70 each way on a 5/1 horse, either way you cant lose cause it aint your money

i like :)

whats the lotto headed for on saturday ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Tell the Sun about your story..

Tomorrows headline.. "AIB Bankers give away millions to non AIB customers"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

There was something on the news yesterday to the effect that A1B have been keeping all the ATM cash where somebody walks away from the ATM without taking the cash (some bullshít to do with Data Privacy). Anyway this was recently resolved so they are now crediting accounts (not well it seems).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

OP, thanks for getting my hopes up. Checked my account. It's still the same. They never gave me money.

I deserve it more, i have been banking with them for years. So i suggest that you send the €140 to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

There was something on the news yesterday to the effect that A1B have been keeping all the ATM cash where somebody walks away from the ATM without taking the cash (some bullshít to do with Data Privacy). Anyway this was recently resolved so they are now crediting accounts (not well it seems).

That's exactly what the letter was about.

Anyway, had a tweak of conscience, and just rang the branch, told them I recieved the letter, but didn't mention that I hadn't used the account in nearly 8 years, but did say that I had no recollection of ever using an ATM in the said area, and asked them if they were sure.... the guy put me on hold...

.. less than a minute later he came back on and said it all looked kosher his end, and to 'enjoy the weekend' :confused:

happy out :)

I reckon the Irish cancer society deserve an extra 20 for that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

That's exactly what the letter was about.

Anyway, had a tweak of conscience, and just rang the branch, told them I recieved the letter, but didn't mention that I hadn't used the account in nearly 8 years, but did say that I had no recollection of ever using an ATM in the said area, and asked them if they were sure.... the guy put me on hold...

.. less than a minute later he came back on and said it all looked kosher his end, and to 'enjoy the weekend' :confused:

happy out :)

I reckon the Irish cancer society deserve an extra 20 for that ;)

That's OUR bail-out money you're messing with:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

OP, thanks for getting my hopes up. Checked my account. It's still the same. They never gave me money.

I deserve it more, i have been banking with them for years. So i suggest that you send the €140 to me?

Jeez...that's hard luck..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Why on Earth would you even consider ringing them? My God I don't think 140 smackers will make much of a difference to AIB's long-term financial well-being. Just as well your man on the other end of the line is a dope.

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Why on Earth would you even consider ringing them? My God I don't think 140 smackers will make much of a difference to AIB's long-term financial well-being. Just as well your man on the other end of the line is a dope.

He probably used to work in the development-property loan department.

Believe me, it wasn't easy, I just wanted to go on a binge with a clear conscience :D
    It is a total mystery to me, I was in my final college year in 2006 and didn't have the arse in my pants, never mind 120Euro to withdraw from a bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Take it.

You and your kids will give the banks much more than 140 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

When i was checking my account yesterday i was told my balance was 420 euro,wtf i said to myself,i only use the account only for making payments to pesky Sky,so i decided as i was in town to call in and see what the story was,talked to a lovely lady at customer services she told me i was been refunded 359 euro for a failed cash withdrawal back in 2004,I wasnt long high tailing it out of the bank :D:D:D

Got a letter today confirming this happy days :D

There was a case in the UK years ago where someone had £8000 lodged into their account. They informed the bank several times that it wasn't theirs, and the bank did nothing. The one with the free gift then went on a spending spree. The bank then woke up and decided that they wanted the money back, and took him to court, where the judge told the bank to feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,473 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Every time a butterfly flaps it's wings though :pac:

As long as you give a bit to charity you should be fine though :pac:

it's a good feeling isn't it Kerrydude1981 :)

I'm gonna take donalg1's advice and slap at least half of it on the lotto.
    If any good comes of that, then the ICC will gain from it too. I lost my gf to cancer in June 06, so if some of my good fortune can help prevent anyone going through what she went through, then i'm very happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

it's a good feeling isn't it Kerrydude1981 :)

I'm gonna take donalg1's advice and slap at least half of it on the lotto.
    If any good comes of that, then the ICC will gain from it too. I lost my gf to cancer in June 06, so if some of my good fortune can help prevent anyone going through what she went through, then i'm very happy.

Ya im going to have a punt on the lotto as well

http://www.aib.ie/servlet/ContentServer?pagename=PressOffice/AIB_Press_Releas/aib_po_d_press_releases-0_08&cid=1305459037961&poSection=HO&poSubSection=%20&position=notfirst&rank=top

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

The amount of fúcking boy scouts on here.

OP, go get píssed followed by cocaine and hookers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Take the bloody money, sure you could be dead tomorrow.

Caoimhín wrote: »

Good plan :) It's just that I'm putting half on the lotto, giving 40Euro to charity, which leaves me with 30Euro.

I reckon the only coke and hookers I'll get for that kind money might look something like This :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Interest of €20 Euro on €120 over 5 years

We'll all be rich leaving our money in banks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭WopTittyPop

I'm one of the gobsh!tes that left their money in an ATM on more than one occasion, but the feckers only gave me 20 squid.

OP, tradesies!

I'm one of the gobsh!tes that left their money in an ATM on more than one occasion, but the feckers only gave me 20 squid.

OP, tradesies!

fraid not :p but ye know, I was just thinking, what if the attempted withdrawl was some scammer skanger who had cloned my card somewhere?

now that kind of schadenfreude really would make my day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

The only letters AIB send me are to tell me about my quaterly fees :o

why cant they deposit some funds in my a/c ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Caoimhín wrote: »

cheap hookers and cocaine , I hope,,,,,recession and all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

mattjack wrote: »
    cheap hookers and cocaine , I hope,,,,,recession and all that

Shop around, get a few quotes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Under normal circumstances i would say give it back - it's not yours, however we'll all be paying for the bailouts for the next god knows how many years so just this once I say take it and enjoy! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Daith

Hmm, got the letter from AIB except the amount was €600 odd. I really don't think I withdrew €520 euro and forgot to take the money. But the Atm is one I would use but this happened in 2005. Can't remember back that far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Take it.

You and your kids will give the banks much more than 140 quid.

Probably one of the most heart breaking comments I've seen in a while :-(