Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal also affected by British Queen visit

• 17-05-2011 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭

Found this a few minutes ago.

Are we the only county being targeted I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,665 ✭✭✭Penfailed

There are loads in the North as well...but that's due to the North West 200. Practices today and Thursday and the big races at the weekend.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 katemc

Newtowncunningham had a speed camera outside it and two guards on main street,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭mamakevf

Just passed Dunnes of Illistrin in L/K, there was a Garda car with the Blues flashing and 4 Gardai stopping cars, and 100 yards on there was the Gatso van as well.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

katemc wrote: »
    Newtowncunningham had a speed camera outside it and two guards on main street,

The Blue transit sitting on the Killea road, I think thats the Tax van, no speed camera on board. The Go-safe vans all need to have marking on them. Which makes the Guards on the main street outside the barracks all the more pointless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

next they'll want our mods in the After Hours foum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

one on the Lifford /Letterkenny road near the tyres at 2pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

parked outside clar chapel last sunday lunchtime

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,607 ✭✭✭✭muffler

danniemcq wrote: »
    next they'll want our mods in the After Hours foum
    A fate worse than death :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

muffler wrote: »
    A fate worse than death :eek:

haha send Homer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

More than likely they are trying to recoup the 30 million the visit is costing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

irish-stew wrote: »
    More than likely they are trying to recoup the 30 million the visit is costing.

I would say so, customs are out now aswell by Burt graveyard

theboss80 wrote: »
    I would say so, customs are out now aswell by Burt graveyard

I'd say its a nationwide thing. Not just customs and speedchecks, but everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

A jeep with an Armed Response Unit on it was in front of me from Oldtown as far as Drumkeen today. Jaysus:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Maybe it's to stop the eejits that would be out on the roads tearing around otherwise because they believe every garda in the country is in Dublin. And fair play too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭Pique

The Blue transit....
    The Go-safe vans all need to have marking on them.
    Yeah, the go-safe vans are marked. Doesn't mean the Gardai don't have checks out and their vans aren't marked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,523 ✭✭✭irish1967

Checkpoint outside Killybegs yesterday evening. And spotted a lot gardai than usual on the roads round town. In a way I think they are shooting themselves in the foot ( figuratively). If they can be so visible now why can't they show this presence all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭North_West_Art

€32 million has been spent on national security for the queen and Obama's visit... they have to recoup this money some way! The checkpoints will disappear after they have gathered up the money :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,607 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Leaving the go safe vans aside Id imagine that the Garda presence is to act as a deterrent to or monitor dissident republican activities as symbolic or token acts of terrorism during the queens visit would be anticipated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭Durnish

I thought the bus bomb was on a bus that originated in Donegal.

2 Sunday evenings in a row. Go safe van parked near Four Masters GAA in Donegal Town. Thought these vans were suppose to be rotating their locations.