Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newbie hiking in Ireland

Options
  • 17-05-2011 10:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭

Hey guys, I'm looking to do some hiking or hill walking but I've never done it before. I'm looking for a nice location with a cheap B&B or hotel or something where I can go wandering about if anyone knows of somewhere.

Also if anyone can gimme any newbie tips about what I should bring or shouldnt bring.

I'll be travelling on my own and although not the fittest creature alive I'll be up for a medium type of adventure.

I decided today that I need a bit of a holiday and being rather broke I thought wandering around hills lookin at stuff might be the way to go.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭Chris O Donoghue

Take a look at this site, it might give you some ideas. It's on the northern side of the Galtee Mountains, there are some great walks there, including corrie lakes, woodland, and Galtymore, which is over 3,000 feet.

The area is just off the M7 motorway so can be reached very quickly from Cork, Dublin, Limeric etc.

As for what to bring: boots are the key thing, make sure they are broken in before you take off.

You'll also need waterproof jacket and pants
    wooly/warm hat and gloves

breathable layers: a base layer (t-shirt) and some mid layer micro fleeces.
    From this time of the year onwards you might also need anti-midge spray unfortunately.

Most people also bring spare food, a bivvy bag (a light plastic orange bag or shelter if you have an accident) and a head torch.