Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Melancholia (Lars Von Trier)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Just for once I'd like to see LVT make an action film with snappy dialogue and explosions.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Just for once I'd like to see LVT make an action film with snappy dialogue and explosions.

Woah, woah! Slow down! Kirsten Dunst in A LARS VON TRIER FILM (capitals just in case anyone forgets Lars von Trier is involved) is a big jump for one film!

Saw the trailer a while ago, hard to tell what to make of it. Was glad when it went a bit mental in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

That is strange.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,595 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Well at least she's going to get her kit off, am i right fellas?? ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Woah, woah! Slow down! Kirsten Dunst in A LARS VON TRIER FILM (capitals just in case anyone forgets Lars von Trier is involved) is a big jump for one film!

Saw the trailer a while ago, hard to tell what to make of it. Was glad when it went a bit mental in the second half.

It's a small foot-shuffle from a Sofia Coppolla film to a LVT movie, if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Any thoughts on this for the Palme D'Or in Cannes, especially given LvT's previous record there. It's 10/1 on Paddypower....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

christeb wrote: »
    Any thoughts on this for the Palme D'Or in Cannes, especially given LvT's previous record there. It's 10/1 on Paddypower....

should have dived in, they're at 5/1 now. Reviews / pics etc are on teh Melancholia FB page here

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I love the second half of the trailer. This looks far too crazy to miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I see Mr Triers has been kicked out of Cannes after his Nazi comments

http://www.euronews.net/2011/05/21/von-trier-regrets-idiotic-hitler-comments/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

There's a separate thread discussing that here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056273535

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Charlotte Gainsbourg is in it. Hopefully she will do the obligatory nudity :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭dominiquecruz

This is out tomorrow; playing the IFI, Screen and Cineworld - looking forward to getting my head around it!

Yep, can't wait. I'm in just the mood for some von Trier craziness.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Hoping to double bill this and Guilty of Romance over the weekend. Bringing on the weird auteurs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I don't get Lars Von Trier at all, and Kirsten Dunst is not making this any more appealing for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭lolo62

i went to see this movie yesterday and overall i really like it...for a minute at the start though i thought i was at the 'tree of life' again but in a good way.

kirsten dunst was good...she is so beautiful, i was expecting a more tortured performance though after hearing her in interviews, i think someone like samantha morton would have brought a lot more to the role

the wedding took up an unecessarily large part of the movie but that could be down to kirsten dunsts acting..

i have to say although its an end of the world movie i came away with a much more optimistic view of the world than after seeing 'antichrist'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Anyone aware of what cinema's this is being shown in?

All I can find is the IFI in the city centre?

Anyone know of any suburban cinema's showing it?

IFI, Screen and Cineworld are the only cinemas in Dublin showing it afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Saw this yesterday, absolutely loved it - great movie, wonderfully creepy, some shocks too.

Dunst has annoyed me before & I never rated her as an actress, however, she turns out a wonderful performance here. Kiefer Sunderland is excellent also.

The score is amazing also - plays a huge part in this movie.

I'd give it 4 and a half out of 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Saw this tonight and i have to say i absolutely loved it.

Surprisingly (or not?) it shared many similarities with Antichrist in it's tone, look and ideas although unlike Antichrist LVT manages to introduce that "Oh **** we're all doomed" moment without the use of talking animals. ;)

I thought the whole cast put in some great performances, and the end scene is to die for.
    Literally! Seriously though, i have never seen such a silent cinama hall during end credits as i did tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,535 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't know, this film just didn't do anything for me. I know a film is too slow for me when I begin to imagine characters from Father Ted showing up and having conversations with the characters.

Watching the film unfold, and witnessing perhaps one of the driest wedding parties that I have ever seen put on film that was filled with oddly dispassionate and incredibly WASPy people. Melancholia is certainly an appropriate word for the setting but not one I could really withstand.

I just kept thinking "If ever there was a group of people who deserved to be horribly squashed from above for their personalities alone, it's this shower...."

briany wrote: »

Watching the film unfold, and witnessing perhaps one of the driest wedding parties that I have ever seen put on film that was filled with oddly dispassionate and incredibly WASPy people.

That's pretty much the point of it from where i was sitting - they're all in some way or another deppressed and anxious, it's not just the main character's cross to bear. In fact in many way's she comes across as the only one that is thinking rationally at that point.

I thought the film handled the depression issue pretty damn well to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Eirebear wrote: »
    Saw this tonight and i have to say i absolutely loved it.

Surprisingly (or not?) it shared many similarities with Antichrist in it's tone, look and ideas although unlike Antichrist LVT manages to introduce that "Oh **** we're all doomed" moment without the use of talking animals. ;)

I thought the whole cast put in some great performances, and the end scene is to die for.
    Literally! Seriously though, i have never seen such a silent cinama hall during end credits as i did tonight.

Fully agree with this.

The end scene MUST be seen on the big screen! (Almost sounded like Dr. Seuss there).
    Oh yeah, Kirsten Dunst does get her kit off, I was pleasantly surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

do they all die in the end

Well, Melancholia hits Earth so i would guess so! Maybe we could view The Road as a sequel? :D

Finally got to see this, and there's some beautiful imagery in it. The opening may be a similar idea to Antichrist's but it still works. It's that final scene that will truly haunt though - absolutely fantastic. It's hard to believe a man who constantly makes a fool of himself IRL can conjure such stunning imagery.

The film itself I quite liked, although perhaps thought it was overstretched at times. I would have preferred more interaction between parts one and two -
    seems such a waste to dispose of such interesting characters at the halfway point
    . I was fascinated at Von Trier's various representations of depression, although especially in the second half felt like it was hitting the same basic beats too regularly. Dunst gave a genuinely surprising, intense performance - in a cast full of tried and tested talent (from Gainsbourg to Hurt) she definitely emerges as the true star. Hypnotic actress, and let's hope she gets more material to test herself with in the future.

It may go on too long (IMO, anyway), but it's also the least indulgent of Von Trier's films, and nice to see moments of warmth amongst the grimness. I wouldn't quite call it accessible, but it's the least idiosyncratic of his films. Definitely a bit of Festen in there too, although it amuses me to see the once dogmatic director indulging in so many effects. Not that I care: the moments where the film goes OTT with the fantasy are the most haunting.

An unwieldy but strangely compelling film. Very Von Trier, but admirable for being a change of pace for the man.

I went to see it last week. I was very tired at the time, so I'm still not really sure if I liked it or not. I guess I did. At least it's not like Antichrist. It doesn't try to mentally scar you like that film does.

Very Von Trier

Yeah, but would you have him any other way?

He's one of the few active directors these days to be applauded for being a very distinct auteur, and one of the few whose work you could easily spot even if he didn't insist on crediting himself in big bold letters at the start of every film (still find that quirk hilariously ironic from someone who co-wrote the Dogme 95 manifesto).

But he's a self-indulgent little fecker too!

He's one of the few active directors these days to be applauded for being a very distinct auteur, and one of the few whose work you could easily spot even if he didn't insist on crediting himself in big bold letters at the start of every film (still find that quirk hilariously ironic from someone who co-wrote the Dogme 95 manifesto).

But he's a self-indulgent little fecker too!

I agree with everything your saying, but i can't help but feel that if you took the self indulgent, erratic traits away from him you would be left with rather less interesting films.

I agree. It's kind of a catch 22 situation. On one hand, I'd love him to reign back sometimes - I honestly think there's a brilliant 90 minute film in Melancholia. On another, when his ambitions succeed (say, Breaking the Waves or Dancer in the Dark) his films are remarkable altogether. His own worst enemy, you could say.

But yes, I'd rather an interesting failure (or partial failure) than a lack of ambition any day of the week. And von Trier is always worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The opening sequence in Melancholia will stay with me for some time. Simply beautiful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 pulprock

Hi, I just saw Melancholia and was wondering what people thought of it. It was really two stories I felt - one dealing with the bride who suffers from mental illness and the hopelessness of trying to fit into society and be accepted, and the other with her sister who has an apparently solid life and yet is very nervous. How they deal with the impending end of the world is Von Trier's point I think. Rivetting stuff