Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you did to get off school

• 17-05-2011 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭

We've all faked sick to get off school, but what's the stupidest, or most genius, thing you did to get out of going to school.

I use to rub sudocream all over my face so I would look pale. Worked every time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Threatened my metal work teacher with a hammer. Nice week off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Passed all my exams and finished school!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

wrote worzel is a bollocks on my mechanical drawing teachers desk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Faked my own death to skip Irish.

Hmm, suppose I should tell the family I'm still alive. It has been 10 years, I doubt the Irish teacher can do anything to me now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Said "I'm not going" and um... that was it really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i never skipped school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Was about 10 years old when I dipped the thermometer into my mum's tea so show that I had a temperature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I turned into a ball of pure energy, it destroyed the school and just about everything within a hundred mile radius as well so I got out of homework too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Had a few beers the night before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

deman wrote: »
    Was about 10 years old when I dipped the thermometer into my mum's tea so show that I had a temperature.

and get a sip of her tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Said it was that time of the month. Well it worked for my sister

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I have cramps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

My Dad used to wake me for school when I was a teenager so the

Me: "ugghhh i can't go to school coz"

Dad: "umm... why??"

Me: "i have period pains, they're really sore, i feel like i'm going to faint"

Dad: "oh,um,oh... ok. bye"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Just went mitching down the old railway line... was the best craic ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

I have cramps.

It always worked for PE that one.

In college some guy said he got addicted to Grand Theft Auto

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Flojo wrote: »

As long as you didn't get hit by a train!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭2cool4school

crapped myself

it worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,321 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Have a glass of water waiting in the morning, Mam or Dad come in "C'mon, school!", bring glass of water to the toilet (make sure you're not seen). Now, pour water down toilet while making vomit noise. Flush. Hide glass. Exit bathroom and make "ugh" noise.
    Concerned parent: "Are you okay?!"
    You: "Just got sick...."
    Concerned parent: "Go on, go back to bed."

Got away with that twice before they copped on....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Flojo wrote: »

Are you sure you didn't see it in a movie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

Elba101 wrote: »
    It always worked for PE that one.
    Yeah, then after a while when we got older and were less embarrassed about saying it, our PE teacher used to pull the "well, you can still exercise when you have your period - it's good for you":mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Elba101 wrote: »
    In college some guy said he got addicted to Grand Theft Auto
    That's a real thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I just didn't go in. I didn't need their education, or their thought control. I particularly didn't need their dark sarcasm in the classroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭snooleen

I just didn't go in. I didn't need their education, or their thought control. I particularly didn't need their dark sarcasm in the classroom.

Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

How many people in this thread took notes off Ferris Bueller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭cookiemonst3r

Reddit much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭..Brian..

I used to get up a bit earlier and put a towel on the radiator. I'd then hold my forhead to the radiator for a few mins and hop back in bed just before me ma came in to wake me up. I'd be all, buaa, i'm sick, and when she felt my forehead for a temp of course I was unwell, temprature an all sure!

Worked a good few times actually :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I would call my ma into the room and tell I wasn't feeling well, she would then get the thermometer and put in my mouth, when would she turn her back I would place it under a hot water bottle. This trick worked well until my brother tried it and got the thermometer up to 104, ma then called the doctor who knew of the trick and that ended all that. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Put cigarette ash under my eyes to look like I had black rings, squint my eyes and moan until the auld one couldnt take it any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

How did you have any pudding if you didn't eat your meat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Faked illness by holding my parents thermometer under a lamp before they checked it. Got my mate to phone my principal and pretend he was my old man. Hacked into the school computer system and made it look like I was a punctual student, just in case my parents ever found out I wasn't and as I wanted to go for a spin in my mate's dad's classic Ferrari, hooked up a mannequin to some special sound effects and put it under my duvet so that if my folks did come home and check on me, a snoring sound would occur whenever they opened the door. My damn sister was a bitch though, nearly scuppered the whole thing on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Faked illness by holding my parents thermometer under a lamp before they checked it. Got my mate to phone my principal and pretend he was my old man. Hacked into the school computer system and made it look like I was a punctual student, just in case my parents ever found out I wasn't and as I wanted to go for a spin in my mate's dad's classic Ferrari, hooked up a mannequin to some special sound effects and put it under my duvet so that if my folks did come home and check on me, a snoring sound would occur whenever they opened the door. My damn sister was a bitch though, nearly scuppered the whole thing on me.

Wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

only missed about two weeks from school me whole life, that was a hospital stay :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I used to get the vicks inhaler and sniff it and it would make your eyes water, went to the form teacher and tell her I was having problems at home and was stressed and upset and could she let me go home..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

Laughed out loud when I read "thunder tits" carved into the front of a particularly flat chested teachers desk while she was giving out to me, and then told her WHY i was laughing when she asked.
    Got a week off for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭getuponthis

Drank two cartons orange juice to give me the ****s!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

I actually got out of going to school when i was 5 or 6 cos i had an Itchy back. I still don't understand why my parents let me stay home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,656 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

OutlawPete wrote: »

Brilliant......someone should make a film about it .:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

said my mother had a baby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

The night before, I chewed up some leftover noodles, spat them into a bucket. Poured a tiny drop of milk and orange juice in, for effect like. Spent the next half hour spitting as frequently as I was able, into the bucket. Told my ma I was feeling a bit sick, was bringing a bucket for beside the bed.

Worked like a charm :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

J. Marston wrote: »
    Have a glass of water waiting in the morning, Mam or Dad come in "C'mon, school!", bring glass of water to the toilet (make sure you're not seen). Now, pour water down toilet while making vomit noise. Flush. Hide glass. Exit bathroom and make "ugh" noise.

My ma from the get go insisted on seeing it before letting me have the day off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

became president of student council and showed up to the door of every class and went 'I need to go to the computer room for student council' then went off to smoke weed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

In my secondary school, if you didn't wear your blazer, you were sent home to get it.

Ah no, I've forgotten my blazer again.

We're talking the late 90s / early 00s.

I think they just didn't want us there.

FINE BY US!!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

J. Marston wrote: »

Hey I did that too! Worked really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Most of my teachers were too dozy to notice me leaving. I'd be waiting for the bus at lunch waiting to go home and some would offer me a lift.

lol, greenhorns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 papajohn12

went on holiday break 2 days earlier than the rest. My excuse was I was going on a trip and I already booked my ticket and hotel. Used this a couple more times in university.