Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unrealistic Expectations for a high handicapper

• 17-05-2011 10:27am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Silly Question Time:

I’m playing golf about 2.5 years now and up to last year was playing a minimum once a week and sometimes twice, this year with work its every second week. When I started I struggled to break 100 strokes for a round but as the year went on I was managing around the 90’s mark and have been there since. Best so far last year was an 87. I have it in my head that I should be shooting in the mid 80’s consistently and this is my target for this year so have been doing a lot of practicing.

However – I know I’ll never be a low handicapper so am I being unrealistic thinking of shooting below to this score? Are high handicappers dreaming of getting low scores and putting too much pressure to try?

My target handicap would be around 15 (currently 23) so lots of work to do. Can I ask a 15 handicapper what’s the average strokes they have in a round, playing to your handicap, so I have something to aim for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Average strokes for me a round would be 82/83 ish thats on a par 72.

theres also no reason why u cant get to a low handicap. practice short game and putting and you'll see ur scores improve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I know I’ll never be a low handicapper

Why not ? Barring physical limitations all that is stopping you is time and commitment surely ?

I recently read Talent is Overrated and the basic theme is that world class talents are made and not born. Quite motivating really. Deliberate practice is the key. Worth a read

http://www.amazon.com/Talent-Overrated-Separates-World-Class-Performers/dp/1591842247

Outliers is a similar concept

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outliers_%28book%29

And this guy took it serious

http://www.thedanplan.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I was 18 last year and now 14.7. My rounds of 2011 were something like +20, 39, 36, 31, 29 points...

Not sure what use that is. Just go out and try to execute each shot as planned. That's my motto, I don't worry about handicaps.

Of course you can improve. Try to listen to only 1 or 2 people when it comes to advice, don't read magazines and don't set goals, except to hit each shot as planned. Laugh at your bad shots and remember the good ones ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

slingerz wrote: »

theres also no reason why u cant get to a low handicap. practice short game and putting and you'll see ur scores improve

i've been practicing my short game for a good while now - my achilles heel was from about 10 - 20 yards from the edge of the green. Am getting there slowly but surely - have nearly perfected my bump n run & flop shots. Putting is the strongest part of my game, i never counted my putts on saturday (in mullingar) but i reckon it was amongst the lowest i had.

@alxmorgan - time!! i get to practice about half hour every second evening and sometimes get an hour or more but with 2 kids, homework takes priority!!

@Whyner, if i could shoot +15 consistently i'd be very happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭dolally

There is no reason whatsoever that you can't become low handicap player.
    My believe is to set your self targets and devise a plan in order to reach these targets. I know a couple of players who took up golf in their late 30's, 1 1s off 7 and the other off 10 now.
    I would advise taking lesson off your local Pro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

Silly Question Time:

However – I know I’ll never be a low handicapper so am I being unrealistic thinking of shooting below to this score? Are high handicappers dreaming of getting low scores and putting too much pressure to try?

And here's my 2 cents worth....

I think you could be putting a bit of pressure on yourself. If the practice is good solid practice, ie quality not quantity, then there is no reason why you can't get down lower.

For me, I used to put wicked pressure on myself. I'd nearly have the calculator out plotting and planning. I was heading out to 17 from 15 and then I just stopped caring about scores. I stopped thinking about scoring and thought about the type of shots I was playing. I played the percentages, I practiced more pitching. I went to 14, then 12, then 11 and then 10, and thats in less than 12 months. I would have laughed at you if you had told me that any of that would happen.

In a bad round I could tell you ever bloody shot I played, with my good rounds I would not be as sure, too busy playing to notice. Don't get me wrong, I still have goals but I don't let them get in the way.

Stop trying and start playing and the very best of luck to ya.:)

Maybe I'm talking muck.....worked for me though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭TheRiddler

Really depends on how much time you are willing to put into the game. Play a round once every few weeks you won't really get anywhere. Play 36 holes a day, concentrate on every aspect of your game physical and mental, and there's not much reason why you couldn't go really low. Golf is a strange sport that unless you are trying for elite levels, it doesn't really matter what your skill levels/physique are like now, everything can be worked on with practice, example old guys shooting their age. We all start somewhere.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

OP I'm sort of thinking the same along the same lines as you. I'm only playing proper for a few months and still shooting over 100's. I come off the course and while I enjoy it I get annoyed at the silly mistakes I make.

However, I have to tell myself I'm only a beginner. I've had no lessons yet and only today bought my own set of Iron's after borrowing from others. It's a long road!

Has anyone watched the Dan plan guy ?
    The ultimate in deliberate practice. I think when it comes to practice you have to have a minimum of 50% split long game - short game.
    I read somewhere that ideal split is 70 - 30 in favour of short game.
    Guess it makes sense - you can hit a terrible drive and still come out with a good score for the hole but almost never can you hit a terrible putt and do the same.

But it sounds like your short game is strong so let me ask you this - where do you think you lose strokes ?

FIR ? GIR ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

I'd definitely recommend Dave Pelz's "Short Game Bible" if you're looking to reduce your handicap.

One of his key assertions is that practise makes permanent not perfect, therefore practising with bad technique can have you going backwards rather than improving - you have to be practising the correct things in order to improve.

I'd also recommend "The Elements of Scoring" by Ray Floyd - brilliant little book on how to improve your scoring irrespective of how you're hitting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

I'd definitely recommend Dave Pelz's "Sort Game Bible" if you're looking to reduce your handicap.

One of his key assertions is that practise makes permanant not perfect, therefore practising with bad technique can have you going backwards rather than improving - you have to be practising the correct things in order to improve.

I'd also recommend "The Elements of Scoring" by Ray Floyd - brilliant little book on how to improve your scoring irrespective of how you're hitting it.

"Practice makes permanent" is one of the most downright evil things about golf. I'm having terrible problems shake all my bad habits from the last two years of golf. I have identified 90% of my major swing problems. Bad posture, taking the club back on the inside , cupping my wrist, bad shoulder pitch etc.. But incorporating changes to fix these problems is a nightmare. At the range I get going after a few balls and following a little check list, great all going brilliant but as soon as I hit the course. "woops" straight back to the old manky swing.

I really recommend making sure you know what your working on when you decide to work. If this comes from just using video and analyzing yourself or from a coach it will pay dividends.

I would also like to say that reading and watching instruction dose not count. I would call myself a certified swing expert taking into consideration all the books and videos I have read and researched. When I look at someone swing now I can spot the faults instantly, sometimes I even dare to give a little advice. But the thing is I could never see my own swing and I certainly did not look like it felt.

I have wasted two years learning how to play golf with bad technique. All my range time down the pan. Not only have a I wasted my time I have made it extreemly hard to correct my faults as I have ingrained my bad habits so deep it's amazing.

I was actually giving this advice myself numerous times in the beginning and I chose to ignore it. I'm really kicking myself now.

Practice and practice the right stuff.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Redriddick

Silly Question Time:

I’m playing golf about 2.5 years now and up to last year was playing a minimum once a week and sometimes twice, this year with work its every second week. When I started I struggled to break 100 strokes for a round but as the year went on I was managing around the 90’s mark and have been there since. Best so far last year was an 87. I have it in my head that I should be shooting in the mid 80’s consistently and this is my target for this year so have been doing a lot of practicing.

My target handicap would be around 15 (currently 23) so lots of work to do. Can I ask a 15 handicapper what’s the average strokes they have in a round, playing to your handicap, so I have something to aim for?

Hi Charlie,
    I play off 16 at the mo but am working at getting it down.I shot one round of 77 gross this year already and am hoping to get it down some more.My typical rounds would range from 82 to 87 or 88.I understand where you are coming from with the 20 to 30 yard shot,these are the ones that cost the most.I see alot of older guys in my club steady as she goes down the middle all the time.Not hitting it long,not getting a chance at birdie too often but always nearly get their par.Im only up the road from ya so if ya want to head out in roscommon some day give me a shout.
    Redriddick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

k.p.h wrote: »
    "Practice makes permanent" is one of the most downright evil things about golf. I'm having terrible problems shake all my bad habits from the last two years of golf. I have identified 90% of my major swing problems. Bad posture, taking the club back on the inside , cupping my wrist, bad shoulder pitch etc.. But incorporating changes to fix these problems is a nightmare. At the range I get going after a few balls and following a little check list, great all going brilliant but as soon as I hit the course. "woops" straight back to the old manky swing.
    I would strongly recommend only working on 1 item from that list at a time. I reckon you will get more comfortable with it much easier and have a much more enjoyable time playing also.

GreeBo wrote: »
    I would strongly recommend only working on 1 item from that list at a time. I reckon you will get more comfortable with it much easier and have a much more enjoyable time playing also.

+1 on this. I nearly gave up the game my head was so wrecked with swing thoughts. Got into Shawn Clements stuff then and he simplified things for me and gave me back my enthusiasm for it.

And a perfect swing is not necessarily what you want. I played with a guy recently who almost fell backwards after every drive but they all went 260-280 and dead straight. Who cares if his technique is "bad" - its not a beauty contest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭hades

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Who cares if his technique is "bad" - its not a beauty contest

As the saying goes, there's no pictures on the scorecard, only numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

slingerz wrote: »

That's great scoring if you're off a 15/16 handicap. Is that what you're off ?

Golf is a challenging game no doubt - but I agree with most on here. Keep it simple, focus on a small number of things, practice your short game and try to mix it up so that you can get out 2-3 time per week.

I have been down to 5 handicap at one time of my life, however due to commitments, family, other sports, lack of playing, practice, age etc. etc. I have slid steadily upwards - currently at 11 and still moving in wrong direction - ouch !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

k.p.h wrote: »

I really recommend making sure you know what your working on when you decide to work. If this comes from just using video and analyzing yourself or from a coach it will pay dividends.

I would also like to say that reading and watching instruction dose not count. I would call myself a certified swing expert taking into consideration all the books and videos I have read and researched. When I look at someone swing now I can spot the faults instantly, sometimes I even dare to give a little advice. But the thing is I could never see my own swing and I certainly did not look like it felt.

I have wasted two years learning how to play golf with bad technique. All my range time down the pan. Not only have a I wasted my time I have made it extreemly hard to correct my faults as I have ingrained my bad habits so deep it's amazing.

I was actually giving this advice myself numerous times in the beginning and I chose to ignore it. I'm really kicking myself now.

Practice and practice the right stuff.;)

I feel your pain. I am coming thru a period of terrible short game problems, specifically boned, yippy and duffed chips, develerating, you name it. I'd practise for hours, get a really good feeling for it, have a few (very few) things to think about, all positive ones. Feel great when I go to play, then BAM, back to square one.

I realised myself that this could go on for a while to I have accepted it. I try to look forward to opportunities to chip when I have a card in my had. That's still a work in progress. Having accepted I will hit bad chips, it has reduced the number of bad chips I hit. I won a singles matchplay the other evening against a 4 handicap, was one down with three to play, no shots left, with index 11, 3, and 1 left. I got amazing up and downs on each for three pars to win on 18. I now know that I can pull it out, but equally accept I will hit bad ones once in a while. Not sure if this might be helpful to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Thanks lads some helpful comments here. Kinda hijacked the thread though.

I think maybe the one thing at a time advice may be the way to go. If I'm honest I am making a lot of changes in a short period of time. :rolleyes:

Wish I had a bit more cop on when I was starting out. So that would probably be the bast advice I would give to someone starting or trying to improve. I would say find out how to do it right and be sure.

I know what ye are saying about who cares what someones swing looks like once it works but to be honest all the best players have brilliantly technical swings that look very good. Occasionally you do see the one mental swing thats effective but if you look deep enough they are usually always doing some of the fundamentals right.

Same here kph, some excellent tips & comments.

Cheers all.

Just a quick update, am still practicing the short game and have my first lesson booked for Thursday so will see how we go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

I took up the game in my mid 30's and got down to mid-teens in a couple of years playing once a week or so and going to the range a couple of times a week. I did virtually no practice on my short game, bar on the course. If you want to get good, I think this is the best way to go - although it means sacrificing scoring at first. Developing a decent technique on the full swing is the hardest thing to do and it takes lots of patience and work. I worked systematically on one thing at a time (posture, spine angle, plane, wrists, etc) and videoed many of my practice sessions to see what I was actually doing.

To a large extent, chipping and pitching will improve by themselves as your full swing improves simply because your arms, shoulders, wrists, etc will naturally do what they're supposed to and it's a good bit easier than the full swing because it's a good bit slower. Funnily enough, my short game has always been the best part of my game without any work - the most important things, imho, are to keep the weight forward and to accelarate through the ball - once you do that, then it's just a matter of getting some feel which of course takes practice, but I think that it's probably best to have a reasonably stable swing before you focus on that practice, or else you are just practicing something that changes all the time.

This is probably heresy, as it contradicts everything that everybody tells me, but it worked for me at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭mr.mickels

I know I’ll never be a low handicapper so am I being unrealistic QUOTE]

You will never be a low handicapper with that attitude. With a positive attitude there is nothing to stop anyone getting down to single figures. I have played golf with lots of low handicappers who don't hit the ball well at all, and I have played with lots of mid-handicappers who hit the ball very well but can't put a score together, the difference is all in the mind. I can be certain that to shoot mid-80s regularly is not unrealistic for you at all and I haven't even seen your swing. But a positive attitude is also a realistic attitude. Not realistic as in thinking you can't do it, but realistic in knowing what you need to improve, are your methods working, if not then you can admit defeat or take a positive attitude that you will learn a more efficient method, if any one of us can do it we all can do it. Just identify what you need to do to improve your ball-striking, improve your accuracy off the tee and improve your chipping. Scoring in golf is all about regulation golf, not distance, how many fairways and greens can you hit in regulation, the more you hit the better your scores.

I will say it is vital every golfer understands that more practice does not mean improvement at all, it just means doing the same thing more often, getting the same results more often. Practice is all about quality, not quantity, are you actually working on improving your technique or are you merely hitting balls rather aimlessly. If you are shooting 90's I would have to guess your practice time is rather aimless, think about that.

But have no doubts that shooting 80s and better is well within your reach if you want to, you just have to want to. If you really want to learn a new swing that makes solid contact more often, then your muscles can learn that swing if you give them a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭GetInTheHole!

Charlie - I really enjoy your posts because they always come across as being 100% brutally honest no matter how good or bad your game has been.

Correct me if I'm wrong now but I do get the impression that you might put yourself under a lot of pressure on the course and if things go bad early, they tend to snowball out of control altogether?

All of the above is really sound advice re practice etc - but the one thing I can say to you is try to enjoy the game at all times.

No matter how bad a hole you may have just had, just remember that you're out on a golf course playing a game you love, and make the most of your 4 odd hours there.
    I find it's amazing if how quickly the good shoots lead to a string of good holes when you're in good form yourself out on the course.

Anyways I may be going off on a tangent here but try not to put pressure on yourself by getting caught up in "having to get better".

Instead - try to enjoy your time on the course and your overall game should work out a lot better as a result.

And obviousy practice!!