Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any hassle to bring a deer trophy abroad ?

• 17-05-2011 8:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭

Hi everyone , shot a nice stag last year and i am now facing a difficult choice. I either hang it in my living-room and starts a divorce procedure :mad: or i give it to my dad who lives in France , i choose option 2 :).
    I was just wondering if they will get any hassle from the Garda or customs when boarding the boat to France ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

Cant imagine there would be any hassle at all, at this stage it's merely a decoration.

It's not like going to Australia or New Zealand where they have tight controls to kep out alien flora and fauna where they'd be worried that there might be fleas or something in the fur, in which case they just fumigate it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

Thanks tfox , i am fairly sure there shouldn't be any problems but prefered to double check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

iwsf wrote: »
    Hi everyone , shot a nice stag last year and i am now facing a difficult choice. I either hang it in my living-room and starts a divorce procedure :mad: or i give it to my dad who leaves in France , i choose option 2 :).
    I was just wondering if they will get any hassle from the Garda or customs when boarding the boat to France ?

They can have hassle with Disease Control in France

http://ec.europa.eu/dgs/health_consumer/mailbox/index_en.htm

E-mail these guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

Two points;

1. You should grow a pair and hang it on your wall.

2. If you take the head to a vet and get a cert from the vet saying it has no disease or fleas or anything like that, you should have no further issues.
    You may want to be really be careful and get an official translation in the French embassy of this vet cert. as the lads in France may insist on that!

I took a trophy to Germany and did this to cover all bases and I was not stopped at all by anyone!

That trophy was subsequently taken from Germany to Finland with no issue either.

This was done during the 'foot & mouth' scare and I thought it best to be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 meath shooter

Should be no hassel. We went shooting stag in scotland and brought deer head home on ferry. They never even looked at it to see what it was.

will give them a copy of the deer license just in case.
    Deerspotter , it is all about compromises so next one goes on the wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

it is all about compromises so next one goes on the wall

Make sure you get that agreed in advance, then shoot an even bigger one. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

will give them a copy of the deer license just in case.
    Deerspotter , it is all about compromises so next one goes on the wall

Compromise is a bad invention of the 1980's and has resulted in more marriage failures than anything else in the history of the world. Put your foot down, hang the trophy on your wall and hang the next one beside it. If you won a medal for running a race you'd be let put that up on the wall, it is the same thing. You had a great sporting achievement and now you are not allowed display it? Dude, I have to say, you need to NOT compromise on this

A moose or Bison would look nice above the fireplace ...
    This is it going home early today to set things straight !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭DJandDeid

Two points;

1. You should grow a pair and hang it on your wall.

Jaysus, I'm not sure he'd like his pair hung on the wall!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Short answer - I have no clue as to the law on this one.

However, in general, customs does not like the idea of anything uncooked crossing borders. Exceptions do occur where they don't want it at all crossing the border.

I travel a lot, too much actually, between the States and Eire. Their main concern is bringing fruits, vegetables, and meats that are uncooked. Rightly so.

I bet there will be no problem, but do your homework.