Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How in the name of ...

• 16-05-2011 4:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭

feck - did someone ever approve this for commercial use/tax? :eek:

Full?id=6232193

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2119679

I've heard of estates getting it, and at least in those cases there's a decent load space - but a Supra?! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

You can see who he's aiming the sale at when he included 's2000' and 'skyline' in the search words - no sign of any genuine van models like Caddy or Partner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

No glass behind the drivers window.

= Van.

Old rules.

Simple.

I always wanted to do this with a Ferrari, but couldn't afford the Ferrari!

Meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

No glass behind the drivers window.

= Van.

Old rules.
    If its old rules - then why are these 2 adverts suggesting that its still easy to do? :confused:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2043200

Full?id=5909890

And another GTO (no pics)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2098387

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

If it matches the spec required for commercial tax it can get it, no back seats, no back windows, no seat belts in the back, flat base that is large enough for the requirements, cars like the Supra, GTO and 350z can meet these requirements.

The issue is that you then cant drive them as normal, only for business purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

Mr Supras is a tax dodger whos going to get caught out soon, Hes also dreaming at 10,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I think the ITR can be commercialized also. Its all to do with load space measurements from the boot to the back of the drivers seat.
    I suppose if i was tradesman and only carried a small amount of tools around, it wouldn't be a bad purchase (not at 10k for that supra).
    But i'm guessing a supra would be stopped regularly by the guards and it would be too much hassel, but the tax of the supra was the only thing stopping me from buying one a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

Surely the new owner will have to produce a VAT number when they go to tax the car again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

no requirement to register for vat to run a business.

Only if the turnover exceeds certain limits.

You can use a PPSN as a VAT number, as that's the number the revenue give sole traders when registering.

And there is no reason why you can't have as a business a trade that a supra would be suitable for, eg motoring journalist, motor sport reviewer, etc.

Anything to deny the politicians and bankers as much tax as is legally possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

no requirement to register for vat to run a business.

Only if the turnover exceeds certain limits.

You can use a PPSN as a VAT number, as that's the number the revenue give sole traders when registering.

And there is no reason why you can't have as a business a trade that a supra would be suitable for, eg motoring journalist, motor sport reviewer, etc.

Anything to deny the politicians and bankers as much tax as is legally possible.

Yes but, its the rest of us that have to pay more to make up for the shortfall.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

What about if the owner of the supra was a mobile valeter/detailer? They need the vehicle to carry around their tools/supplies and also want a vehicle that will advertise the work that they do. The supra fits the bill perfectly.

As draffodx said as long as the vehicle meets the requirements its perfectly legal.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

hi_im_fil wrote: »
    What about if the owner of the supra was a mobile valeter/detailer? They need the vehicle to carry around their tools/supplies and also want a vehicle that will advertise the work that they do. The supra fits the bill perfectly.

As draffodx said as long as the vehicle meets the requirements its perfectly legal.

legally right doesnt make it morally right.

the chances of an actual trades person buying the supra are slim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

godtabh wrote: »

the chances of an actual trades person buying the supra are slim.

The car legally meets the requirements so if its only used for business purposes whats morally wrong about it?

A Supra with commercial tax will ensure a lot of Garda interest and if its used for personal use only I'd imagine they wont be long in stopping them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Twin-go wrote: »
    Yes but, its the rest of us that have to pay more to make up for the shortfall.:mad:
    That's an illogical circular argument.
    Its not a shortfall as his tax is not a guaranteed income or an established goods or a lean/loan that you have to cover.
    Is it a "shortfall" vs this guy deciding to buy a traditional van and sell the car? Same net result is it not?

Is anyone not owning a car a "shortfall"?
    Is the guy with a Crewcab V8, with 5 seats, paying the established "Crewcab" tax rate a shortfall too?
    Is the person that scraps a 3.0litre petrol car and buys a 3.0TDI and pays 1/4 of the tax a shortfall you are making up also?

By your logic from my perspective with 2x EUR1500 tax a year cars 99% of the posters on Boards.ie are grossly underpaying tax and Im making up their (and presumably your) shortfall. :rolleyes: Its very convenient for you to berate someone else's tax contribution when you are paying more, but remember there is always someone bigger. One can legally register a business then register some cars as commercial. Our dumbass Tax system doesnt make these guys the bad guys.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

godtabh wrote: »
    In general that's a valid argument. But in this case I think it's very hard to argue that someone should pay more tax than they're legally obliged to.

Assuming that you're currently employed, I presume you don't offer to pay extra income tax, or when you're shopping I presume you don't offer to pay any extra VAT.

The commercial rates are available for a reason, to help people who need to use a vehicle as part of their work, which helps with employment. If someone is using this Supra in complete compliance of the rules for commercial tax, then I can't see any reason why they shouldn't have it commercially taxed.

Though of course if it is used for personal/private reasons then it should be taxed accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

It's a friend of mine owns this . He originally converted it about 1/2-years ago some crowd in kerry done conversion for him.

He had hassle this year when he went back to doe as he had no axle weights or something. Had to get onto Toyota Europe as Toyota Ireland had no interest in helping him out. Got everything he needed and went back to doe and it passed with flying colours. As long as it's in doe condition it's **** all to do with them how it's used. He's never had an ounce of bother from any cop , dunno has it to do with Kerry traffic corps being easier to deal with than cork/dublin etc .

He works as a rep so always has brochures in the boot and always seems to be going to a meeting. It's handy I guess if he does happen to bump into cops :)

288 motor tax for the year is a lot better than 365 every 3 months that I pay when Supra is on the road :(