Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiger Woods Injury

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Tom Fiat

As a fellow American (or 'yank' as ye comedians refer to us by!) I would be really sorry to see Woods drop out of pro golf.
    We must remember that legends like Armour, Kite, Jack, Watson - all of them actually, suffered bad spells during their career. Tiger is no different.
    I must say there is a little Michael Jackson to this story which is troubling me - that bothers me and puts a fraction of risk into my consideration of the whole picture. However I honestly do feel if he lets himself get fit this year (physically and mentally, the latter being the important component here) well then he'll rage back next season.
    Golf needs Tiger - man I'm tired of watching the likes of Kaymer, mahan, Westwood etc trudge through 4 days of golf without even a glimmer.
    Its depressing watching those guys most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

Tom Fiat wrote: »
    As a fellow American (or 'yank' as ye comedians refer to us by!) I would be really sorry to see Woods drop out of pro golf.
    We must remember that legends like Armour, Kite, Jack, Watson - all of them actually, suffered bad spells during their career. Tiger is no different.
    I must say there is a little Michael Jackson to this story which is troubling me - that bothers me and puts a fraction of risk into my consideration of the whole picture. However I honestly do feel if he lets himself get fit this year (physically and mentally, the latter being the important component here) well then he'll rage back next season.
    Golf needs Tiger - man I'm tired of watching the likes of Kaymer, mahan, Westwood etc trudge through 4 days of golf without even a glimmer.

Sorry but golf doesn't need Tiger or any other golfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Curly7

Why does it look serious this time??? It says nothing in the article about it being career threatning or even season ending???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭G1032

He's exciting. He's controversial. He's human. But will we ever see him playing competitive golf again?
    I hope so but it looks serious this time.
    http://web.tigerwoods.com/news/article/2011051218975706/news/

So you took this quote:

"Give me a few days to see what the docs say, and we'll take a look at it,"

and wonder if we'll ever see him play competitive golf again?

What on earth in that article gives you an indication that he won't return to competitive golf?

And if he doesn't return, for wahtever reason, he'll be no great loss at this stage. His attitude on the golf course these days is appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 micky radigan

R u any relation of johnny miller cause u talk the same ****

Aint got a clue who Jonny Miller is bud..
    Lost on me.

I think golf is definitely the loser if Tiger throws it in.
    Sure the game will survive but it'll have lost its one and only true global superstar. Thats a fact, the marketeers will back me up 10 times outa 10 on that.

Once Thursday was over do you know what the ratings were like for TPC - suggest you look into that. I've got contacts in the networks and they were spelling out DOOM on Friday, let me tell you that for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

what does that mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Lost on me

Tom.... your opinions might hold some merit if you actually knew some of the games history and who played it. Not only dont you know who he is you cant even be arsed to spell his name correctly: its Johnny Miller, one of the finest players to play the game.

Two majors don't make him "one of the finest players of all time" in my book.
    It would be a pretty long list if thats the case!

Miller is a clown, and an NBC clown at that.
    Attempts to be controversial don't float my boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Two majors don't make him "one of the finest players of all time" in my book.
    It would be a pretty long list if thats the case!

Miller is a clown, and an NBC clown at that.
    Attempts to be controversial don't float my boat.

At 15.38 today, in your book, you didn't know who he was. Now your informed enough to call him a clown. Miller isn't the clown, you however appear to have that tag all to yourself today.

Ah man I'm not gonna go down this route with you.
    You're a fan, thats ok.
    I dont think Johnny Miller is too relevant these days, thats all.
    In fact, I dont think Johnny Miller ever was relevant really.
    I aint got no problem with Miller by the way - I just dont rely on him for my opinion on golf, golf apparel, golf players, golf shots, etc etc.

Can we please get back to the Tiger Woods discussion now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Martin567

Ah man I'm not gonna go down this route with you.
    You're a fan, thats ok.
    I dont think Johnny Miller is too relevant these days, thats all.
    In fact, I dont think Johnny Miller ever was relevant really.
    I aint got no problem with Miller by the way - I just dont rely on him for my opinion on golf, golf apparel, golf players, golf shots, etc etc.

Can we please get back to the Tiger Woods discussion now?

A lot of people were interested in professional golf ever before Tiger came on the scene. The game survived for over 130 years without him. I don't dispute that he brought a far wider following to golf than was there before he emerged. However, a lot of these people were never really golf fans at all, just Tiger fans. The sport may be irrelevant for a lot of these people without Tiger but the genuine golf fans don't feel like that.

As for Tiger himself, he's in a difficult position now. The injury problems are unlikely to ever go away completely. When he was dominating, a lot of people attributed a big portion of his dominance to how hard he worked, gym work, etc. The irony is that the manner in which he pushed his body is almost certainly the reason he is having these problems now. I hope he can manage to overcome the problems and play regularly again.

As things stand, I find it very hard to see him overtaking Jack's record. As his very best, he was probably unbeatable by any player in history but he will still go down as the 2nd best player ever unless he makes it to 18 Majors which is a big ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Trampas wrote: »
    Sorry but golf doesn't need Tiger or any other golfer

That was not a well though out response I must say. Golf doesn't need its biggest commercial star. Tv rating and attendance drops about 50% when he is not in the field. The profile of golf has sky rocketed in modern times since he came on the scene. Thats the same as saying golf never needs any of it's biggest stars. Golf dose not need the only player that just about everyone in the western world knows his name?

And in my opinion it's like saying golf never needed the greatest player of all time. Golf doesn't need a player that has a major for every year he has been a pro. Golf dose not need a player with 97 pro wins.

PGA Player of the Year 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009
    PGA Tour
    Player of the Year 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009
    PGA Tour leading money winner 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009
    Vardon Trophy 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009
    Byron Nelson Award 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009

Masters Tournament Won: 1997, 2001, 2002, 2005
    U.S. Open Won: 2000, 2002, 2008
    The Open Championship Won: 2000, 2005, 2006
    PGA Championship Won: 1999, 2000, 2006, 2007

I obviously disagree with you.

R u any relation of johnny miller cause u talk the same ****

That was a bit harsh also. If it was meant to be humorous you should have thrown a smiley in or something. Because in it's current state that comment pretty much looks like you just decided to offend the OP and not actually entertain or refute his opinions. At least he took the time to properly type his post.

It was a funny comment though Miller is a good reference for the OP's expressive language. But his opinion is valid and dose actually make sense. Maybe you lack the interpretive ability needed to decipher it ;)

k.p.h wrote: »
    That was not a well though out response I must say. Golf doesn't need its biggest commercial star. Tv rating and attendance drops about 50% when he is not in the field. The profile of golf has sky rocketed in modern times since he came on the scene. Thats the same as saying golf never needs any of it's biggest stars. Golf dose not need the only player that just about everyone in the western world knows his name?

Of course golf needs him but his career can't go on forever. At some point it will end but golf will carry on without him. Sure TV ratings may drop by 50% but that's life. The 50% who will stop watching golf were never really interested in it anyway, just Tiger. Those genuinely interested don't enjoy being told that the whole thing is rubbish without Tiger.

Someone posted a link on here last Summer to an article written by an American journalist. In it, he criticised the fact that "no-names" like Oosthuizen & McDowell were winning Majors. He believed that the golf authorities should ask themselves how such players were allowed into the field in the first place. He actually suggested that Tiger should start each tournament on a score of say -10 with Phil maybe 2 shots back right down to the 10th ranked player. All the "no-names" would start from Par. In this way, the TV companies could guarantee Tiger would be there on Sunday. This would be the fastest way to kill the game in my opinion.

Martin567 wrote: »
    Of course golf needs him but his career can't go on forever. At some point it will end but golf will carry on without him. Sure TV ratings may drop by 50% but that's life. The 50% who will stop watching golf were never really interested in it anyway, just Tiger. Those genuinely interested don't enjoy being told that the whole thing is rubbish without Tiger.

Someone posted a link on here last Summer to an article written by an American journalist. In it, he criticised the fact that "no-names" like Oosthuizen & McDowell were winning Majors. He believed that the golf authorities should ask themselves how such players were allowed into the field in the first place. He actually suggested that Tiger should start each tournament on a score of say -10 with Phil maybe 2 shots back right down to the 10th ranked player. All the "no-names" would start from Par. In this way, the TV companies could guarantee Tiger would be there on Sunday. This would be the fastest way to kill the game in my opinion.

Fair enough point and that article was obviously extreme bull**** :rolleyes: But as soon as Tiger retires someone else will take his place and golf will retain the people who were brought to the game by him. He introduced the game to a generation and I'm sure they will be players to bring the game to generations to come. But currently he is very important the same was as McIlroy and GMac and Harrington are to the Irish golf scene.

Those genuinely interested don't enjoy being told that the whole thing is rubbish without Tiger.

It's a negative side effect of him being so good not of him being so famous. When he is not playing people question whether the winning performance would have won if tiger was involved. It's the same in any sport when a bench mark player is not involved it is always questioned "what if". It is quite annoying but I don't think its an irrelevant thing to say.

I sound like an extreme Tiger fan here now. But I do feel people get negative opinions of him especially this side of the Atlantic.We are sick of listening to the crap talked about him and their-fore we think we are sick of him. I'm not sick of him but some of the **** talked is ludicrous. Touche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

And in my opinion it's like saying golf never needed the greatest player of all time. Golf doesn't need a player that has a major for every year he has been a pro. Golf dose not need a player with 97 pro wins.

PGA Player of the Year 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009
    PGA Tour
    PGA Tour leading money winner 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009

Golf won't end when Woods gives the game away. The game will go on just like it always has. Would it be good to see him play well for a few more years? Of course. Just like it would have been more exciting if Ben Hogan hadn't had his car accident, if Peter Thomson had played more often in America, if Bobby Jones hadn't retired aged 28 etc.

Lost on me.

Please tell me you're not serious. Golf began long before Tiger arrived on the scene you know. Have you ever heard of Jack Nicklaus or Tom Watson?

Edit...**Sorry MArtin567. Hadn't read your post #13 before I posted the above

Fair enough point and that article was obviously extreme bull**** :rolleyes: But as soon as Tiger retires someone else will take his place and golf will retain the people who were brought to the game by him. He introduced the game to a generation and I'm sure they will be players to bring the game to generations to come. But currently he is very important the same was as McIlroy and GMac and Harrington are to the Irish golf scene.

Those genuinely interested don't enjoy being told that the whole thing is rubbish without Tiger.

It's a negative side effect of him being so good not of him being so famous. When he is not playing people question whether the winning performance would have won if tiger was involved. It's the same in any sport when a bench mark player is not involved it is always questioned "what if". It is quite annoying but I don't think its an irrelevant thing to say.

I sound like an extreme Tiger fan here now. But I do feel people get negative opinions of him especially this side of the Atlantic.We are sick of listening to the crap talked about him and their-fore we think we are sick of him. I'm not sick of him but some of the **** talked is ludicrous. Touche

I would agree with most of the above. I highlighted the only thing I would take issue with. The way Tiger dominated the game at his best is almost unprecedented. When you say someone will take his place, I think it is very unlikely that anyone will take over the game like he did for many years to come, if ever.

I would imagine that the next decade will see a lot of good players but no single player dominant. It will probably be more like when I first became interested in the game. There were several top players like Seve, Faldo, Langer, Norman & Price. All brilliant but nobody dominant. I have to say I preferred it that way as it was more unpredictable. It's not Tiger's fault but I always found the tournaments he won by 10 shots or more really boring. Undeniably brilliant but still boring as the events lacked any drama or twists.

I think a lot of the fans Tiger has brought to golf don't fully appreciate what he has achieved. I've heard people praising him to the clouds while ridiculing everyone else because they're so inferior. If some of these people choose to give up on golf after Tiger then the game will just have to manage. I referred to the article above because there are marketing people who would like to "fix" the competitions to ensure Tiger wins just to get bigger viewing figures. If such a tactic would be sufficient to keep the newer fans watching, it would surely drive away the older fans just as quick.

Martin567 wrote: »

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704164904575421461750256060.html?KEYWORDS=golf

That article is pretty much bull. The opinion is pretty much rig it so the people we like win. Spastic journalist trying to get some attention or maybe just a lack of intelligence.

The R&A would never even think about this or anything like it. Not too sure about the USGA though money talks and has big influence in the US.

I think I understand now why ye and other people are so opinionated when it comes to some of the stuff said about the big stars. It is obviously important to keep the game fair and varied and give all players an equal chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Hacker111

PGA Tour

+111111

some rubbish being talked about Tiger on here by people who obviously have no clue about golf (or Johnny Miller:rolleyes:)..... Tiger as the yanks say is pure "box office" but that is because his game is unreal... his ability, shot making, mental strength, will to win and focus are just way ahead of his competitors.., I know he comes across as a pr1ck most of the time but thats his personality...but you have to love his game..... I hope he comes back from injury, finds his A game (B might do) and wins a bucket load of majors over next 10 years... he is the best I have ever seen (in every department).....

Hacker111 wrote: »
    +111111

some rubbish being talked about Tiger on here by people who obviously have no clue about golf (or Johnny Miller:rolleyes:)..... Tiger as the yanks say is pure "box office" but that is because his game is unreal... his ability, shot making, mental strength, will to win and focus are just way ahead of his competitors.., I know he comes across as a pr1ck most of the time but thats his personality...but you have to love his game..... I hope he comes back from injury, finds his A game (B might do) and wins a bucket load of majors over next 10 years... he is the best I have ever seen (in every department).....

I'm not sure who you're referring to here. Nobody has denied how incredibly good Tiger has been for so long. We've simply pointed out that the game was here before him and will still be here after him. That is just simple fact.

Holy smokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

+111111

his game WAS unreal. He has shown nothing over the past 2 years to suggest that he still has it. (Bar 9 holes at Augusta on Sunday). His OWGR is dropping like a stone for a reason. He may still be "box office" but golf is surviving fine without him at the top of leaderboards. Even when he got to the top at Augusta nobody feared him anymore, they just breezed past him on the back 9 without a care in the world - a "Tiger Who" kind of attitude. The players know he is beatable now. Tv audiences might drop off a little but it may only make the difference of the winner playing for $1m instead of $1.4m - I think they'll survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

he is the best I have ever seen (in every department).....

Well you obviously look at golf with blinkers on. There is no doubt he probably is/was the best finished article the game has seen but to say he is the best at everything is laughable.

Best driver of a golf ball of all time?
    Best bunker player of all time?
    Best scrambler of all time?

....to name just three

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭the anser

Any objective view of this would agree that Woods, in his prime, was untouchable. He brought the game to a completely new level. He clearly has 'flaws' but whatever way you look at it it is sad to see someone like him limping off the golf course with his playing future in doubt. There is no doubt that the game is poorer without him............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭SARZY

Holy smokes.

Bud, not smokes at all, just a dodgy doctor and a disappearing act as mandatory drug testing was imminent.

Johnnie Miller calls it right all the time, and you need to start listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

Posting yesterday from Tiger's website:
    "Tiger Woods announced Monday that he irritated his left knee and Achilles tendon at THE PLAYERS Championship last week, but suffered no new damage".

I'm sure most people would like to see him back in the game and wish him well.
    For latest news on Tiger's site: http://web.tigerwoods.com/news/article/2011051619133594/news/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭AldilaMan

He's exciting. He's controversial. He's human. But will we ever see him playing competitive golf again?
    I hope so but it looks serious this time.
    http://web.tigerwoods.com/news/article/2011051218975706/news/

Call the doctor. A post by David Rafferty that doesn't promote Balcarrick Golf Club !! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭davidrafferty

AldilaMan wrote: »
    Call the doctor. A post by David Rafferty that doesn't promote Balcarrick Golf Club !! :D

Don't need to ....... you're the man now!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

Whatever his faults, McDowell says that "Golf needs Tiger":

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/mcdowell-golf-needs-tiger-2668851.html