Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New 1.6 Greenline Superb

• 15-05-2011 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,367 ✭✭✭✭

Am I mad to be looking at this? I Worried that 105bhp isnt going to move this "large" car and I wont be able to overtake anything bar lamposts.. :(

I'm waiting on a test drive this week, but wondering does anyone here have one or driven one?

I drove a 1.9 older molder superb over the weekend and it had no issues at lights or overtaking etc. Also drove a 2.0 S60 estate and it went like a hot snot...
    The Greenline is a great spec and costs nothing a year to run but if it doesnt go when you want it to....is there any point?

Looking at ~26k after scrappage for pretty much full spec elegance (such a lot of car for that money)

Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

GreeBo wrote: »
    Am I mad to be looking at this? I Worried that 105bhp isnt going to move this "large" car and I wont be able to overtake anything bar lamposts.. :(

I'm waiting on a test drive this week, but wondering does anyone here have one or driven one?

I drove a 1.9 older molder superb over the weekend and it had no issues at lights or overtaking etc. Also drove a 2.0 S60 estate and it went like a hot snot...
    The Greenline is a great spec and costs nothing a year to run but if it doesnt go when you want it to....is there any point?

Looking at ~26k after scrappage for pretty much full spec elegance (such a lot of car for that money)

Cheers!

Its the same HP as the 1.9 only its a common rail engine so its more refined and quiet. Great car btw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Same engine as bluemotion passat I think, very easy on juice. And the superb is a really good car for the money once you can overlook badge snobbery. Cannot understand peoples fear of skoda in 2011. Better spec than equivalent VW, and cheaper, and made from the same bits..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

shame about the 5 speed gearbox, however a Superb Elegance spec with €100 a year tax is very appealing.

5 speed box is a turn off. Hasnt the 1.6 TDI Passat a 6 speed box???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

^^ It does indeed.

TrailerBob wrote: »
    ^^ It does indeed.

I thought that allright. In saying that you would have minimal torque in 6th gear if you wanted to make a fast overtaking manouvere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,367 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Thanks lads.
    I have no issues with badge snobbery, always liked the Skodas and personally think the Superb looks like a fantastic car from the front :o
    offer-superb.jpg

Was also looking at Insignias and it was the Opel dealer who started off the 105 Bhp fear in me (Insignia is 2.0 at 135 bhp)
    (nice looking car on the outside but very cheap looking on the inside and quite low spec for the price)

Im a (potential) first-time dieseler, what am I loosing out on by it being 5gear? My mother has a 6speed TIIDA (Tardis!) and it cruises nicely on the motorway in 6th, though I understand that the Greenline was totally regeared for efficiency so should it still be a worry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭frank gooding

The old 1.9 and new 1.6 is a shame to put in a car this size.

The 170 2.0 with manual 6 speed or DSG would bring way more smiles per gallon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The old 1.9 and new 1.6 is a shame to put in a car this size.

The 170 2.0 with manual 6 speed or DSG would bring way more smiles per gallon.

It has a 1.4 litre petrol option too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Let us know how the test drive goes, I'm thinking of getting one myself.

Judging by the roadtests it's a bit of a wafter anyway; you only need "enough" power. The 170 is another 4k which is more signficant than the extra €200 a year.

I think the Combi (Estate) is the nicer looking car. Don't like the back of the saloon. Couldn't find a used combi for sale in Ireland. There are plenty of nearly new examples the UK around €25k, but the €6k VRT puts a dampener on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bf

Driving a 1.6 Elegance for a month now & have to say I am very happy with it. Had the same fears changing from a 170bhp Audi, but they were unfounded based on the type of driving I do.

The 1.6 is more than adequate, although it wont set the world on fire! The lack of 6th gear may be an issue if you do a lot of motorway driving, but the car does sit happily at about 2,200rpm @ 120km/h

Apparently the lead time for the Elegance is quite bad now, 6/7 months unless the dealer has a stock car available :eek:

bf wrote: »
    Driving a 1.6 Elegance for a month now & have to say I am very happy with it. Had the same fears changing from a 170bhp Audi, but they were unfounded based on the type of driving I do.

The 1.6 is more than adequate, although it wont set the world on fire! The lack of 6th gear may be an issue if you do a lot of motorway driving, but the car does sit happily at about 2,200rpm @ 120km/h

Apparently the lead time for the Elegance is quite bad now, 6/7 months unless the dealer has a stock car available :eek:

Thats intresting! What sort of MPG or L/km are you getting???.

bf wrote: »

Shoite really? The dealer didnt mention that, was talking more like a couple of weeks... months put you outside of the scrappage deal...(in fact anything more than 6 weeks does that) Though once you have the VIN it can be registered i guess...

/edit
    Found this on another forum dated 24th March :(
    I ordered new superb combi greenline elegance. Great looking car. Was advised of lead time of 12 weeks which would have me driving away from the forecourt mid May 2011. Now advised that problems with production of greenline models will push delivery out to July 2011.

GreeBo wrote: »
    Shoite really? The dealer didnt mention that, was talking more like a couple of weeks... months put you outside of the scrappage deal...(in fact anything more than 6 weeks does that) Though once you have the VIN it can be registered i guess...

/edit
    Found this on another forum dated 24th March :(

What dealer are you going to??. You should try Tarrants in Cork they are a lot cheaper.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    What dealer are you going to??. You should try Tarrants in Cork they are a lot cheaper.

Autostation in Sandyford, Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭richieoflynn

I bought 1 about 5 weeks ago. I'm such a misserable fecker that I'm looking for something to fault so I can moan about it but I genuinely can't. Don't have an issue with the lack of a 6th gear, it just means I've 1 less gear change to make before I turn on the cruise control and sit back in comfort and enjoy the drive. Mind you, I normally have the wife and 2 young kids on-board so I know I won't be acting the gob****e.

Was also considering an Avensis but God love it, twas bog standard at best. Nothing in the line of gadgets and the Superb was cheaper and had more off with the scrappage. As someone already stated, she cruises along nicely at 120kms at 2200rpm. I'm sure my buddy with an ISF Lexus at 400ish bhp or whatever it is might say, hmm... not sure about that 170bhp BMW, wouldn't fancy overtaking in such an under-powered car :D Of course I'm joking but it just means that you need to make the decission based on the type of driving you do and what you want from your car. For me, the Superb was a perfect choice and I love it.

I got the Ambition spec, car is silver and interior is pretty much all black except for the silver trim in place of the not so nice mahogany trim. Looks really well and despite what people may say, it does turn heads in traffic ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

You on about Tarrants in Banteer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Try a 140bhp Mondeo Zetec, sure the tax is more but with a 6 or 7 grand loss in the first year whos counting a couple of hundred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

lomb wrote: »
    Try a 140bhp Mondeo Zetec, sure the tax is more but with a 6 or 7 grand loss in the first year whos counting a couple of hundred.

While losing space, gadgets and quality while being more expensive. I'll take the superb thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

I looked at every possible estate for 40k and under in december and january and the Superb was the clear winner.

When/If I buy a new car depreciation will be the least of my worries as i will be driving it for 10-15 years.
    10 years times an extra €250 a year in road tax is already 2.5k add the fuel economy and it more again.

This is all before considering the ride comfort of the Superb vs the Mondeo.

@ richieoflynn
    is yours the 1.6 Greenline?

Thats intresting! What sort of MPG or L/km are you getting???.

So far averaging 5l/100km based on roughtly 70% city driving 30% dual carriageway & motorway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Ordered mine (combi 1.6) in February and still not got it :mad:- supposed to be next week but I've heard that for the last 3 weeks.

Some dealers though are better (or cleverer!) at sourcing as a friend ordered the EXACT same car and was only waiting a couple of weeks.

Hpping it'll be worth the wait.

@ richieoflynn
    is yours the 1.6 Greenline?[/QUOTE]

Hi GreeBo, yes mine is the 1.6 Greenline.

Funkyzeit : When we went down to collect our car, we were told by the owner that due to the earthquake in Japan his orders were screwed up and would have to give back deposits to people who had orders in. What he was saying is that lots of parts like bumpers for example were being made over there and that they would be producing them for a lot of different car companies. I'm not sure if he was making this up or not but I didn't see any reason for him to tell me a 'far fetched' story when we already had our car. I hope this isn't the reason for your hold up and I hope your car lands on soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Funkyzeit : When we went down to collect our car, we were told by the owner that due to the earthquake in Japan his orders were screwed up and would have to give back deposits to people who had orders in. What he was saying is that lots of parts like bumpers for example were being made over there and that they would be producing them for a lot of different car companies. I'm not sure if he was making this up or not but I didn't see any reason for him to tell me a 'far fetched' story when we already had our car. I hope this isn't the reason for your hold up and I hope your car lands on soon

There are delays on production for most manufacturer's (except BMW who are delivering 3&5 series within 4 weeks!) due to parts shortages. From speaking to various dealers it's probable that it's parts for the Diesel engines that are made in Japan which are causing the delays. Either high pressure injectors, or possibly ECU's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Interesting....

What is the situation in terms of me being able to get my deposit back? I was given a lead time of 10/11 weeks and it's now closer to 16. Am I entitled to get this back or am I snookered?

I would be under the impression that if a dealer wasn't in a position to deliver a car in said time then he should be in a position to give back the deposit. That's just what I think, not sure if it's true or not. I suppose you wouldn't be long finding out if you rang them ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I'm hoping to get a low cost diesel car but probably not till next year.

When did the new shape Superb come out? I'm torn between this and the Insignia but have heard bad things about the inside of the Insignia.

Would be looking to trade in an 05 VW Polo so would hope to be shopping around for something in the €25k bracket and possible €5k trade in (or private sale) and I think a late 2011 elegance might be got for that money

What do you reckon? Any chance?

Here is a nice one, upgraded alloys as well. About €3.5k off list so good value considering the waiting list...

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201121202602668