Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I tell him I like him?/Does he like me?

• 15-05-2011 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I'm afraid this dilemma may sound fairly superficial given the more serious nature of other problems on here..but nevertheless..

I've had a work colleague for a couple of years and have always gotten on very well with him. Our work place is very young and vibrant and starting up a relationship/randomly scoring a colleague would be fairly commonplace and not viewed as detrimental to work (so long as the pair are on equal enough footing, which we are).

Anyway this guy had been in a relationship that started almost as soon as I met him. I had a passing friendship with the girl through him but nothing I'd have any great affliations too. We started on a work placement away together after Christmas with himself quite newly single and that's when the problems as such began..

I was attracted to this man absolutely from day one. He's very handsome and would be known for being very charming and good looking. On our work placement, I was sure I was imagining his interest in me, mainly because the ex-girlfriend would go out of her way to assure me I wasn't his type. She said it so often I believed her. (I'm very different to her in looks). He began offering me lifts everywhere, ringing me for no reason but to say hello, suggesting nights out/drinks together, automatically buying my drinks if we were in a bigger group, holding my hand in nightclubs..

I put this behaviour down to a number of possible things; himself and the ex-gf were still at loggerheads and paying me attention would get back to her and leave her royally pee'd off. Secondly, I'd be perceived as one of the prettiest girls in the company. I'm aware of that and nice and all as it is, I know it doesn't automatically mean a guy fancies me. It DID however mean that he got kudos from the other lads and even though he's a good guy, he's the kind who'd love that.

I heard back from a mutual friend that he was discussing whether or not I'd score him..Rightly or wrongly, I was a bit annoyed. It wasn't "would she go on a date with me?", more "would she ride me?!"and that cooled my interest in him somewhat, and embarrassed me.

A couple of months after the work placement, and a good bit of flirting that hadn't progressed to anything solid, we found ourselves working really closely on a project together. That's when I started to fall for him. I'd come in in the morning and he'd be there with a gorgeous smile telling me I looked beautiful or stunning. I'd sit down at my desk and he'd start texting me jokes or texting that he loved my dress. Like I said, he's a good looking guy and I was starting to get a bit giddy with the attention. I said one day that I was a bit cold and he was over in a flash with his jumper for me (and I secretly LOVED wearing it round the office!). He'd be chatting away to me then he'd tell me what angles my face looked prettiest at. The project got very intense and we started working late. He'd always give me a lift home and then a couple of times we'd meet before work to go over stuff, and be like two giggly schoolkids. It looked to everyone else like we were with each other, but the work was so intense that I kept thinking that as soon as the project was done, something would happen. It seemed inevitable to me.

Anyway we finished the project about ten days ago and things changed. We weren't in such close proximity and had a couple of days off. The texting dwindled rapidly and there was no suggestion of meeting up or drinks. I saw him a couple of days later on a night out. He told me I looked stunning and was all chat at the start of the night,but I convinced myself he was avoiding me towards the end and he left early. He'd have absolutely no shortage of female attention and I'm starting to wonder if I've just been the pretty substitute for this attention at times when he was either too busy to be meeting girls (the project) or out of his normal habitat/bored (work placement). He's gone away for a few days now and he did text me beforehand a few times but no mention of meeting up when he's back. I asked what he was up to when he was back and he said he wasn't sure and would let me know.

My friends are all convinced he's mad about me, but given that they see me as very pretty, they always think that and don't tend to take individual situations at face value, but are just like "oh of COURSE he's mad into you". I like him so much at this point. He's been so considerate and kind to me. It confuses me that he's switched it off. He's leaving for London next month (has been on the cards with work for a long time) and we've a massive formal event before he leaves, which is the only time I know for definite I'll see him. I don't want to do any dramatic or silly, but I've never just come out and told someone I like them before. I've been thinking of telling him. Does it sound like anything good can come of it or is he just an aimless flirt??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭I am a friend

It sounds like an episode of The Hills - do ye do any work in there???? His behaviour sounds v inappropriate.

How long is he going to London for? What do you want out of this? It sounds like harmless flirting to me. If he wanted to ask you out he would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Going by this...he likes you,just because a guy is good looking and good with women doesnt mean hes confident asking girls out,he might be dying to ask you out...or for you to ask him out(girls can do this too you know!?;))

You obviously need to make the first move here as he seems incapable of it....as a guy who's wasted countless opportunities with women over the years please ask him out.....how old are you both? i was in my late 20s before i was able to ask girls out or get their numbers and all that(i cringe when i think of my younger self:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭John400

I'm wary of the fact that you've mentioned how good-looking he is, more than once.

I hope i'm not dissapointing you here but i think the guy is leading you on, also if he had a really 100% definite interest in you he would have already asked you out.

The fact that he is so handsome could mean that you're one of a number of girls who he gives this volume of attention to.

I think he quite clearly is boosting his ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

John400 wrote: »
    if he had a really 100% definite interest in you he would have already asked you out.

I have to strongly disagree with this,some guys are hopeless at it(i know because im one of them:D....well,ive gotten better tbf)

The OP may be so guarded she could be coming across as not being interested in him.......i know plenty of good looking people(of both sexes)who couldnt pull in a brothel,OP is just going to have to bite the bullet here and ask him out or tell him how she feels,this guy isnt going to make a move anytime soon id imagine