Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IS IT TIME FOR IRELAND TO WITHDRAW FROM EUROVISION????

• 14-05-2011 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭creaghadoos

exactly as the title asks. is it time that RTE stopped wasting money sending people to the eurovision?

should we withdraw from next years eurovision 44 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 44 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

why? People like watching it and it's a bit of a laugh. I'd prefer my money going on this than some knob paying for his tacky wedding.

time for ireland not withdraw?
    Yes, they shouldnt withdraw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Your Title and Question Contradict each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Are you that French guy with no English??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

Why? We just got our best result in years. Well done Jedward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

exactly as the title asks. is it time that RTE stopped wasting money sending people to the eurovision?

Well not people, but maybe stop sending tacky novelty acts like Dustin and Jedward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Split the Eurovision in half, those who will vote for the best song/act ("The west") and those who will vote for the country they have had a war with and are trying to patch things up with ("The east")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

Ya unless the voting changes :( It's a waste of time otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

bad grammer in your title, change it please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

mtb_kng wrote: »
    Split the Eurovision in half, those who will vote for the best song/act ("The west") and those who will vote for the country they have had a war with and are trying to patch things up with ("The east")
    As far as I could see the west was just as guilty with voting for their neighbours as the east was.

Ireland should split and start our own song contest, we could call it the lovely song competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Yes, but I suspect for reasons different to what you intended.

My reason is because we haven't sent a decent song or singer in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,205 ✭✭✭✭looksee

mtb_kng wrote: »

And Scandinavia didn't vote for each other, and Britain didn't give us 12 points! (ok it was all the Irish living in Britain, but still...) And Portugal voting for Spain, and Malta for Greece and... Agree though, the eastern bloc stuff is a bit tedious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

looksee wrote: »
    And Scandinavia didn't vote for each other, and Britain didn't give us 12 points! (ok it was all the Irish living in Britain, but still...) And Portugal voting for Spain, and Malta for Greece and... Agree though, the eastern bloc stuff is a bit tedious.

You never know, Scotland might devolve and get its own vote in a couple of years time - there's another 12 points for Ireland.

looksee wrote: »
    And Scandinavia didn't vote for each other, and Britain didn't give us 12 points! (ok it was all the Irish living in Britain, but still...)

nah, i reckon alot of brits would have voted cause they like jedward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Yes. The voting is gone past farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

What a stupid thread. RTE should pull out of course! Would you pull out when you're getting 1 million people tuning in for a semi final!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

No. Why? because we didnt win? Jesus no we should continue to send novelty acts there . U2 next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

It's a joke. time to go

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRnWAkh9jeoUewsIYRaEtVPYItpYel1XTzsw1RvlZ8qKbLf9eEe

Withdraw !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,169 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The poll implies that everyone in Ireland takes it all seriously. Most of us don't - those that do need to get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

The eurovision voting has been a joke for years. Eastern countries have made a mess of it.

Ireland hasn't sent a good artist or song to the eurovision in years. Maybe its time for someone like Enya to compose and perform a song. With a good song, I believe she has got what is needed for us to win us the eurovision contest once and for all.

teednab-el wrote: »
    The eurovision voting has been a joke for years. Eastern countries have made a mess of it.

Ireland hasn't sent a good artist or song to the eurovision in years. Maybe its time for someone like Enya to compose and perform a song. With a good song, I believe she has got what is needed for us to win us the eurovision contest once and for all.

totally agree about the eastern-bloc countries...but Enya? no 20yrs too late for her methinks and anyway she's got the personality of an ironing board:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭creaghadoos

eurovision in my opinion is car crash tv.
    my lovely horse could have won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

SkidMark wrote: »
    It's a joke. time to go

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRnWAkh9jeoUewsIYRaEtVPYItpYel1XTzsw1RvlZ8qKbLf9eEe

Withdraw !!

Damn you SkidMark!
    star-trek-KHAN.jpg
    I was going to post that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭SuperDude87

The only country not asking this question is Azer.

Every year it's the same :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

Damn you SkidMark!
    star-trek-KHAN.jpg

Apologies in advance

ryan-tubridy.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

No It's a bit of fun. people take it to seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

We should certainly send them a strongly worded letter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Damn you SkidMark!
    star-trek-KHAN.jpg
    Colmo52 wrote: »
    Apologies in advance

ryan-tubridy.jpg

Ah, it's good to see the classics coming back!

I will continue to thank that picture every time you post it, Colmo - feck the begrudgers!

And I was surprised we got so far into a 'withdraw from eurovision' thread without Jim Corr's Buddy getting a mention.

I will now post the customary "Eurovision is a joke - next year we should send 'My Lovely Horse' as our entry picture

mylovely-horse2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭acequion

Italy went off in a sulk for 14 years,came back with a ****e song and came second! So yes I think we should give it a miss for a few years!

We're all posting here with a typical Irish- cynical/pessimistic/inferior attitude, totally forgetting that we are the most successful Eurovision country with 7 wins!

Europe has become too big,too cuturally and musically divergent,with massive neighbourly cliques emerging.

Time to get the F.out! We're no darling of anyone there. And ironically,it's the same story for us politically and financially!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭GobBass

Split it into regions and then as some Swedish people said once,the winner takes it all....:D

So disguisted with all the goings on and the bloc voting, I set up a group on FB boycotting the use of political voting. Its like watching a mixture of the X Factor and the FIFA presidential election. They all vote for their friends haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Cris Jones

why would we stop being represented at eurovision! ireland did really well so a big no to your poll and I dont know why you are asking it. it is a european contest and i think the show from dusseldorf was fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭forzacalcio

Its not block voting, more like cultural voting, think about it. We listen to songs from UK and visa versa, Im sure Serbia have Bosnian songs in their top 20, same with Russia/Lithuania/Latvia, Sweden/Denmark/Norway, Portugal/Spain. Germany/Holland/Poland. Its only natural you vote for songs that you can affiliate with. We wouldnt ever give Serbia 12 points because we think that music is ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

Its not block voting, more like cultural voting, think about it. We listen to songs from UK and visa versa, Im sure Serbia have Bosnian songs in their top 20, same with Russia/Lithuania/Latvia, Sweden/Denmark/Norway, Portugal/Spain. Germany/Holland/Poland. Its only natural you vote for songs that you can affiliate with. We wouldnt ever give Serbia 12 points because we think that music is ****.

I wrote a post http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72224940&postcount=5230
    that made loads of sense but was bably explained. Anyone want to convert it into something relevant?

All these complaints and yet when acts are in the "reality" TV shows people have no problem using their location as a "reason" to vote for them?

Pretty hypocritical guys!

Russia vote Latvia = Block voting
    People comment negatively on Jedward = "begrudgery" (supposedly)
    The UK (who were responsible for foisting Jedward on us) vote for them again = "Go UK - yaay!" etc

You either want people to vote for the best song/act or you don't, so quit shifting goalposts to suit yourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

My mum told me there today that she was looking at TV last night about 60 mins from when Azerbaijan won and they had adds on for come to Azerbaijan the home of eurovision 2012 at 12.30 at night

So how the hell do they have a add made up in 60 mins then put onto TV !!!

I was looking at the voteing last night on my laptop and it is all block voteing come on we where like 5 points from 1st at one stage then did not get anypoints for like 15 places and italy came 2nd is funny as hell

Also how did italy give Romania 12 points when italy hate peaple from Romania. My dad told me that on Italian TV last night they where going on about how did we give them our 12 points

Also ireland give are points to east euro who where voted by the east euros liveing in ireland because that the only way england only got 6 points from us

I think what needs to be done is to see what the jodges give each singer so we no its not fixed

The eurovison is Fixed like it or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭carrotcake

Also how did italy give Romania 12 points when italy hate peaple from Romania. My dad told me that on Italian TV last night they where going on about how did we give them our 12 points
    Probably the tens of thousands of Romanians living in Italy voting for their home country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

Spot on.

But even despite the cultural/bloc voting, the best songs or close to the best songs are still winning e.g. Germany last year. I didn't think Azerbaijan had the best song this year but I can understand how the majority of European people did.

Simple fact is, if we sent the best song we would win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The fall of communism screwed us, and now all of those tin-pot corrupt dictatorships are all voting for each other - end of story.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭voter1983

Maybe if we just kept it to countries actually in europe. I mean Isreal FFS! It's supposed to be the EUROvision

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

They should force everyone to sing in Danish. That way it'd be nøde pøde all across the board and we'd tie for first.

My mum told me there today that she was looking at TV last night about 60 mins from when Azerbaijan won and they had adds on for come to Azerbaijan the home of eurovision 2012 at 12.30 at night

So how the hell do they have a add made up in 60 mins then put onto TV !!!

The eurovison is Fixed like it or not

Er.....England had an ad ready to run re winning the Grand Slam until Ireland made sure it was a waste of money, so conspiracy theory fail right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

But its the gay world cup!

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The fall of communism screwed us, and now all of those tin-pot corrupt dictatorships are all voting for each other - end of story.:(

I think it was the rise of rampant capitalism that screwed us, but that's a story for another thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

So we give out that voting takes place in blocks with neighbours vote for each other because culturally they get each others music and yet we cheer when Uk give us douze points!!! we are a confused people.