Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs closed in Wexford Town in last 10 years

• 13-05-2011 12:46PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭

Does anyone know where I can find a list of all the pubs that have closed down in Wexford town in the last 10 years?

I'm trying to license a premises I own in Wexford town and the guards have told me that they will object on the grounds that there are too many pubs in Wexford already and the existing ones are "struggling".

Should the guards really be taking the fact that many publicans are struggling into account when seeking grounds for objection? It seems like a business/personal issue that they should not be concerning themselves with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Southsider1

It's a routine/procedural thing. In most Garda areas they now routinely object to new licence applications and late licence applications. I wouldn't take too much heed of that. It's up to the Judge. What has your Solicitor advised you? He/she'll have a good idea as to your chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Tangled

If you post in the Wexford forum you should be able to get the details of what pubs have closed from locals.

Agree it's ridiculous that the gardaí could object on those grounds, since when are they resposible for protecting other businesses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭00011000

Exactly; They aren't responsible for looking after the interests of any particular businesses in this town. I admit, I may have interpreted what he said pretty strongly, but at the end of day, I only interpreted straightly and fairly what he expressed, and it didn't seem fair to me whatsoever. If open to this kind of unfair interpretation, a person in his position should practice more tact and he should not leave himself open to interpretation in such a way, and learn to express himself in a more professional manner.

In all fairness, the superintendent called me today, and said that just because they were going to object (as expected, as a matter of policy), does not mean we would be refused and also said that the end decision came down to him and not the sergeant I was chatting to; that they would only follow procedure, and that he doesn't see any reason why we can't be in business in the town. I really appreciated the call and it really allayed my fears of unreasonable objections based on personal opinions and experiences.

I have been in business in this town for over 30 years, and I would hope that any investment in this town, and any other town in this country for that matter, be open to investment, and to progress and enhance the idea of an open economy, instead of letting personal prejudices handicap any attempt at genuinely expressing true entrepreneurial spirit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

00011000 wrote: »
    I have been in business in this town for over 30 years, and I would hope that any investment in this town, and any other town in this country for that matter, be open to investment, and to progress and enhance the idea of an open economy, instead of letting personal prejudices handicap any attempt at genuinely expressing true entrepreneurial spirit.

Mate,

If you have been in business in Wexford for 30 years, you really should know what pubs have closed down yourself!!! Are you a member of the business association or anything?