Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

colour profile

Options
  • 12-05-2011 8:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

hey there. i'm new to boards and fairy new to my mac laptop and digital photography(when i studied it was all analogue).

i've heard i need to get my screen calibrated as i process alot of photography work using lightroom. i'm trying to source a cheap way of doing this. in the meantime can anyone tell me what colour profile i should have set from my settings menu??

cheers :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Heebie

There is a lot to color profiling, and if you don't understand it.. you could make a big mess when you go to print things.

if you leave programs like Photoshop at the default settings, (I believe it defaults to using an sRGB color profile) and save the color profile into the images, you shouldn't have too much trouble printing. If you use an Adobe 1998 or Kodak Pro Photo color profile as your working space.. you'll end up with printing problems if you don't convert them to something else before they hit the printer.