Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone own a Ruger 10/22 ?

• 12-05-2011 1:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭

Hey I currently own a Henry .22 s/l/lr and its accurate to about 40 yards , Ive no idea what the problem is , Ive tried different ammo yet I cant get good groups at all with it best I can get when its on the benchrest and with a scope is about a 4 inch group @ 50 yards :( . Im thinkin of buying a 10/22 and am just wondering what its like accuracy wise? like what kinda groups can you get with one at 60 or 70 yards ? the reason Im looking for a 10/22 is because its so customizable . Its just a gun I want for vermin and target shooting. Can anyone tell me what its like to shoot ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭DJandDeid

Jaysus that rifle of yours must have a rubber barrel!!! It's fair to say you'd be MUCH better off with a 10/22.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

As far as your current gun that is terrible accuracy.
    I would start by giving the barrel a real good clean.
    Then I would inspect the crown (google this).
    Then I would re-crown/clean up the crown, this can be done yourself. (google Midway crown) to get a Larry Porterfield video on how to do it.

I would be surprised if one of these 2 things didnt solve your issue.
    I would also try free-floating the barrel, again google is you friend...

In answer to your actual question. I have a Ruger 10/22. You can Expect 1"-2" groups at 70yards. Some will do better... Some wont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Hey I currently own a Henry .22 s/l/lr and its accurate to about 40 yards , Ive no idea what the problem is , Ive tried different ammo yet I cant get good groups at all with it best I can get when its on the benchrest and with a scope is about a 4 inch group @ 50 yards :( . Im thinkin of buying a 10/22 and am just wondering what its like accuracy wise? like what kinda groups can you get with one at 60 or 70 yards ? the reason Im looking for a 10/22 is because its so customizable . Its just a gun I want for vermin and target shooting. Can anyone tell me what its like to shoot ?
    1. How old is your S.L.LR I'm guessing 60's 70's
    2. Did you inspect your barrek for wear? (I have seen many rifles of that vintage worn out for neglect)
    3. Is your scope moving, or barrel moving in the stock?

If you have an old rifle that is a shotgun @100 yards, well time to get a new one.
    Factory 10/22's are not that accurate, but if you get one with a heavy barrel they can be very accurate.

Remmy semi auto .22lr as supposed to be more accurate than Ruger 10/22
    I only owned a 10/22 so I can't comment on remmy.

The 10/22 cycles well. Pre restricted list I had 2x25 shot mags and a speed loader. I'd go through 100 rounds a day no prob.

the best I could do was 1.5"-2" @100 with CCI minmags
    She was around 1" at 50, no better. I had a very short skinny factory barrel and not the best stock in the world for accuracy.
    1.jpg

The most accurate .22you will get is a bolt action, and if you want a bit of range I'd go .17hmr (no target clubs really have any comps for .17hmr's though)
    20091016145258-17_hmr_ammo_ms.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

It depends on what $$$$$$ you have to spend on a 10/22. A new Ruger tacticle will cost €650 ish and I have heard they will shoot 1 1/2" ish @50y. From then your money is all that is stopping you from getting clover leaf groups @50y or better.

I've just spent out on a second hand Ruger 10/22 in the UK with a lot of customising spent on it and it will be used for Gallery target competitions. I will expect it to shoot 1/2" or better @50. Hope to get it over here in about 4/5 weeks.

Shown here with a NV scope thats not with it.
    Ruger2010_2220a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

clivej wrote: »
    It depends on what $$$$$$ you have to spend on a 10/22. A new Ruger tacticle will cost €650 ish and I have heard they will shoot 1 1/2" ish @50y. From then your money is all that is stopping you from getting clover leaf groups @50y or better.

I've just spent out on a second hand Ruger 10/22 in the UK with a lot of customising spent on it and it will be used for Gallery target competitions. I will expect it to shoot 1/2" or better @50. Hope to get it over here in about 4/5 weeks.

Shown here with a NV scope thats not with it.
    Ruger2010_2220a.jpg

You didnt did ya!!!!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek:

dwighet wrote: »
    You didnt did ya!!!!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Deal is done and money sent off :)
    You know me I can't sit still for long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

This is the one I have and i find it very good

http://www.ruger.com/products/1022Sporter/models.html

I have put in a bolt buffer, put in an auto bolt release.

I cant fault it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

I've a 10/22 target tack, did bugger all with it except <snip> threaded and recrowned it, getting clover leafs at 50yrds with Lapua subs., have a drop chart out to 250yrds, best cheap fun besides pulling your own ass out through the front or your jeans!

I've a 10/22 target tack, did bugger all with it except John Greene threaded and recrowned it, getting clover leafs at 50yrds with Lapua subs., have a drop chart out to 250yrds, best cheap fun besides pulling your own ass out through the front or your jeans!

I do like yours...Nice bit of kit..
    But that one of Clives looks like a lollipop with a black stick.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Didn't want to be the one to say it .....but his finely manicured nails will look lovely wrapped around the stock :D

What can I say only it's a lady-mans rifle and I'm getting a nice little camo man-bag to put it in so there. :p

All in good fun lads...

Well ware Old mate...:D

All in good fun lads...

Well ware Old mate...:D

And D welcome back to the dark side you were away for a while

that fecking 4x4 has pulled you in, break free I say - it's the devils work.

And D welcome back to the dark side you were away for a while

that fecking 4x4 has pulled you in, break free I say - it's the devils work.

Ive always been here.....
    Just lurking in the back ground....

Gotta get the 4x4 finished before deer season...
    "I have a plan"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

1. How old is your S.L.LR I'm guessing 60's 70's
    2. Did you inspect your barrek for wear? (I have seen many rifles of that vintage worn out for neglect)
    3. Is your scope moving, or barrel moving in the stock?

If you have an old rifle that is a shotgun @100 yards, well time to get a new one.
    Factory 10/22's are not that accurate, but if you get one with a heavy barrel they can be very accurate.

Remmy semi auto .22lr as supposed to be more accurate than Ruger 10/22
    I only owned a 10/22 so I can't comment on remmy.

The 10/22 cycles well. Pre restricted list I had 2x25 shot mags and a speed loader. I'd go through 100 rounds a day no prob.

the best I could do was 1.5"-2" @100 with CCI minmags
    She was around 1" at 50, no better. I had a very short skinny factory barrel and not the best stock in the world for accuracy.
    1.jpg

The most accurate .22you will get is a bolt action, and if you want a bit of range I'd go .17hmr (no target clubs really have any comps for .17hmr's though)
    20091016145258-17_hmr_ammo_ms.jpg

Its only a year old , I used to use it just to plink with open sights but when I put a scope on it I noticed how terrible the groups were. I have a cz 452 in .17hmr and its nothing less than a tack driver as Im sure you know. Even when I have cleaned the barrel , inspected the crown maybe the first 3 shots touch eachother on paper then it becomes Highly Inaccurate and spits them out all over the page. I thought it was the ammo but its not , Ive tried nearly every type on the shelf in the gun shop. I was also thinkin of a cz 455 the new thumbhole heavy barrel on the market looks like some machine !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Handled a lovely new "Golden Boy" in .22lr a few years ago :cool:

http://www.henryrepeating.com/

Tac, there are more gun makers in America than Remington :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Its only a year old , I used to use it just to plink with open sights but when I put a scope on it I noticed how terrible the groups were. I have a cz 452 in .17hmr and its nothing less than a tack driver as Im sure you know. Even when I have cleaned the barrel , inspected the crown maybe the first 3 shots touch eachother on paper then it becomes Highly Inaccurate and spits them out all over the page. I thought it was the ammo but its not , Ive tried nearly every type on the shelf in the gun shop. I was also thinkin of a cz 455 the new thumbhole heavy barrel on the market looks like some machine !

Then its nearly surely an issue with the barrel touching the stock. When the first few rounds go through and heat the barrel then it changes the way its making contact with the stock and messes up the harmonics of the barrel.

(I think) :rolleyes: