Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it only me....

• 12-05-2011 1:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

Or is Ireland a terribly boring place to live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Ah it's grand. But, if you don't drink, I'm not really sure if there's much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

You and you're friends may be the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 QwertyFinger

Ah it's grand. But, if you don't drink, I'm not really sure if there's much?

Thats the boring part. Everything revolves around drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Only boring people get bored.

Thats the boring part. Everything revolves around drink.

When was the last time you went go Karting, paintballing, played snooker, had a game of footie with some mates, or even just went and had a few games of pool or something simple?

Boring people get bored.

Not at all, I wish I did, all of my friends are 'poor' due to them drinking 3 times a week and either too hungover or not arsed to anything of use. Think imma travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Maybe you could move to North Korea - I hear that's a very interesting place to live - no boredom at all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

There are things to do - what would you like to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭QuinnC88

I jumped ship at Christmas...great decision!

There are things to do - what would you like to do?

Start a business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'd love to start a business. Be my own boss. I have major issues when it comes to working for other people.
    Also I imagine working for yourself is quite rewarding.

I do a bit of freelance web design amongst selling product I get from wholesalers. I'm aiming to upscale it this summer, I'm employing two people on commission rates where they sell products and will make about 40 euro per sale. I'm thinking I've failed 2nd year of college so I've got 9 months free time until I've to repeat a module, potentially a positive from a negative in the fact it will give me time to see if I can cut it in business and hopefully open a cheap electronics shop were I'll sell consumer electronics for a cut of the price most places would do. Right now adverts and gumtree do the trick though.

I've also started a dropshipping website whereby I've found some very reputable sellers and make $15 a sale, not big bucks but it adds up. That is essentially what I want to do, I want to be my own boss, I'm sick of working 16 hours a week in a box lifting crap and learning how to write C when I can outsource that to India.

Abi wrote: »
    People with disposable income call bored people boring.

Apparently €9.90 would get one ticket into see Insidioius. Imagine the bills flying in and the weekly shop to do if you were on the dole through no fault of your own. walk into your nearest tesco and see what you come out with for that money.

Or maybe thats too fucking boring for the bowling paintballers.

Well then, that's not a case of Ireland being boring, that's a case of not having money is boring.

Some of the best nights i've had have been free, bunch of lads together having a bit of craic and watching/playing some movies/games.

Abi wrote: »
    People with disposable income call bored people boring.

Apparently €9.90 would get one ticket into see Insidioius. Imagine the bills flying in and the weekly shop to do if you were on the dole through no fault of your own. walk into your nearest tesco and see what you come out with for that money.

Or maybe thats too fucking boring for the bowling paintballers.

Rent allowance, 200 quid a week, god you've got it so difficult.