Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your landlord like??

• 11-05-2011 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭

Just an idea, I was reading the 'Shyte apartment...' thread earlier. I am interested to know what your landlords are like?? My Landlord is a sound fella altogether, any problems and he is straight up to sort it out.

What is you landlord like?? 64 votes

Great!!!
    0% 0 votes
    Meh!
    29% 19 votes
    Dick!
    14% 9 votes
    Rarely see him/her so dont know what they are like
    26% 17 votes
    Never met them, but my money has!!!
    18% 12 votes
    Live in my folks basement, haven't seen sunlight since last Star Wars movie came out.
    10% 7 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

mine is brilliant for the fact that i dont have one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

he's a bollocks

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

He's sorted out problems whenever somethings come up.

Been here almost 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭themandan6611

had loads of landlords, most are grand, they are just happy to get a tenant in who pays on time and doesn't wreck the gaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

My landlady/lord is great not a bother,
    Their lovely to talk to and will fix anything you'll ask them to.
    Couldn't ask for any better, they're saints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭Doop

Mines great! my kind of person.... I never hear from him! get the odd text looking for rent thats about it! If he does ring we just end up chatting..!

He has no interest in being a landlord, probably more so a victim of the celtic tiger. House is very new so rarely any probs. Did take him bout 2 months to replace a washing machine but
    I rarely used it so didnt bother me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

mine is brilliant for the fact that i dont have one

ditto

rest of the tenants kids say she makes a mean shepherds pie for free too! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

ditto

rest of the tenants kids say she makes a mean shepherds pie for free too! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I AM the landlady ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I haven't rented in years, but I never really had good experiences with landlords in this country. A lot of them seem to think they can do whatever the fuck they want (or at least they did when I was renting).

One landlord I had was an alcho & lived in the flat below us. We'd often find him asleep on the stairs, in the hallway & once in our bathroom, asleep on the jacks, trousers around his ankles & puke along the side of the bath.

I caught another landlord trying to change the locks on a place I rented because his daughter told him that I'd had a party in the place which kept her awake until... 1am.

And another landlord sold the house I was living in without telling me. The buyers weren't too happy to find out that their new house had a tenant with 3 months left on his contract.

After years of dealing with shitebag landlords, I decided to buy my own place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

iguy wrote: »
    My landlady/lord is great not a bother,
    Their lovely to talk to and will fix anything you'll ask them to.
    Couldn't ask for any better, they're saints.

Could you ask them to fix my playstation, please?

I can fix it for you.

But first, I'll have to invent a time machine to go back to the 90s to get the spare parts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Havn't seen sunlight since the house caved in last

can't see sunlight anymore if i ever have to leave this basement i'll have to be fairly well blind folded to prevent damage to my eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

She's cool.
    Makes me dinner, cleans my clothes all rent-free.
    And gives birth to me !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Where is the cúnt option, the cow has never ever been in contact me (only hrough a land agent), the place is falling apart and my requests to get the place sorted have not been acknowledged!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

An absolute cunt.

I own my own place.

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    Where is the cúnt option, the cow has never ever been in contact me (only hrough a land agent), the place is falling apart and my requests to get the place sorted have not been acknowledged!

You need to contact Threshold or the PRTB. They're decent at sorting out tenant rights, though they're often snowed under, so they can be a bit slow at getting round to individual cases.

Some of your rights are as follows...

Standards

Your landlord must, by law, ensure that your home complies with certain minimum standards (e.g. free from damp, in good structural repair, hot and cold water, adequate means of heating and ventilation, appliances in good working order, electrical wiring, gas, pipes in good repair). If your home does not comply with these standards, report it to your local authority or the Private Residential Tenancies Board. An inspection will be carried out and the landlord ordered to do any necessary repairs. Contact Threshold, the Private Residential Tenancies Board or your local authority for further advice.

Repairs

The landlord is obliged to carry out repairs except where damage beyond normal wear and tear has been caused by the tenant.

Taken from Threshold website; http://www.threshold.ie/

PRTB link ; http://public.prtb.ie/

DaveDaRave wrote: »
    And gives birth to me !

Something that has to be done on a regular basis?

Daegerty wrote: »
    Something that has to be done on a regular basis?

Some people prefer coming out of a pussy on a regular basis than coming into one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Rds1989

Ours is class, hes a massive culchie and talks to us even after we give the rent over. Topics include GAA, donegal roads and sports. He doesn't even mind the stolen election poster and traffic cone in our sitting room

Rds1989 wrote: »
    He doesn't even mind the stolen election poster

He should come to my place, I have about 40 of them. All FF :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Rds1989

He should come to my place, I have about 40 of them. All FF :)

Ha impressive, not a fan then?

Rds1989 wrote: »
    Ha impressive, not a fan then?

Not really.

I took down some 2 days before the election and they had them replenished the next day. Was thinking o using them to put insulation behind in the roof but worried condensation might gather on them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭QuinnC88

Not really.

I took down some 2 days before the election and they had them replenished the next day. Was thinking o using them to put insulation behind in the roof but worried condensation might gather on them

You'll have no worries with condensation boss...works a charm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭QuinnC88

My landlady is a Legend...no bother with the rent late a few days/weeks...and doesnt seem to mind the waft of Ganja through the house :p

Ive only laid eyes on him 3 or 4 times in nearly two years living in the house. One of the other lads in the house usually meets him with the rent and he calls an odd time for it, he can go 2 or 3 months sometimes with out looking for the rent. The one or two things we have needed to fix he has paid for so overall without knowing him he appears sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

shes grand, have only met her 4-5 times in the year and a bit I've lived here, suits me fine, we keep the house clean and rarely have people over so shes got nothing to worry about, tip to landlords, rent out to nerds with small groups of friends :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Only had one really bad landlord in the past so just ripped them off and screwed them over. Most have been OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Bigtoe107

Mines an absolute legend the Tv broke so he went out and bought a 40" flat screen. Really sound chap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Our Landlord is grand, we never saw him, but his daughter used to come around and collect the rent, she's nice aswell. All is good. :)