Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Sector Wages Cap

• 11-05-2011 6:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭

What would the impact on the public finances be of capping all public sector wages at €100,000 and capping all pensions at €50,000.

Wouldn't this give the government the moral authority to impose cuts all the way down the line in the Public Sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

What would the impact on the public finances be of capping all public sector wages at €100,000 and capping all pensions at €50,000.

Wouldn't this give the government the moral authority to impose cuts all the way down the line in the Public Sector.

For some unknown reason the governement won't touch PS pay, to hell with the CPA the country is up the swany.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

What are the chances of a politician (pick party affiliation of choice) would ever noticeably cut their own benefits/salary? The answer is snowball chance in hell and that is also the answer to your statement.

It sits up there with finding oil to pay for the debt or selling islands to China in likelihood of happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭waster81

Maybe the same as a banker or private sector executive not taking a ludicrous bonus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

waster81 wrote: »
    Maybe the same as a banker or private sector executive not taking a ludicrous bonus

The bankers are virtually state employees now.

Private sector executives can take all the lucrative bonuses they can , because they pay tax on it + keep me in a job. The private sector executive is not paid by taxes. Not that many people in the private sector are getting lidicrous bonuses now anyway ; almost 500,000 of them are unemployed + the average pay of the rest of them is way less than average public sector wage.

The govt is bust, our public sector wages should be capped @ 100 grand, thats still 3 times average industrial salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

gigino wrote: »

Private sector executives can take all the lucrative bonuses they can , because they pay tax on it + keep me in a job. The private sector executive is not paid by taxes. Not that many people in the private sector are getting lidicrous bonuses now anyway ; almost 500,000 of them are unemployed + the average pay of the rest of them is way less than average public sector wage.

The govt is bust, our public sector wages should be capped @ 100 grand, thats still 3 times average industrial salary.

Would you, as an individual not make some sort of step to help the situation then? Inform the Department of Finance that you want you wages slashed by 30% because you don't deserve it and you no longer require your Pension because the country can't afford it or better still if you're feeling so guilty about taking the Public purse, why don't you join the Private Sector?????

You can the lead the country into economic salvation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Yes yes thank god another PS bashing thread, havent had one of them in a long while

As long as the country is fecked and public service workers are overpaid there will be PS threads.

Whether someone perceives them to be "bashing" threads or not normally depends on whether they work for the PS or have someone close to them working for the PS.

Those high earners pay an effective tax rate of 37%, so hardly contibuting much to society, they could afford to contribute a lot more.

500,000 these havent all appeared since the crisis, there were a few on the dole during the good times

Banks are bust and they still are on lavish salaries

As long as the country is fecked and public service workers are overpaid there will be PS threads.

Whether someone perceives them to be "bashing" threads or not normally depends on whether they work for the PS or have someone close to them working for the PS.

So long as there are people who are angry at those people who chose to go into the public service, yes there will always be the typical whinging, petty minded private sector worker

They made the choice not to go into the public service but now rant and rave about their conditions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

They made the choice not to go into the public service but now rant and rave about their conditions

Not everyone can or should work in the public sector. For competition etc, and to pay the public sector, we need a private sector.
    Considering the country is bust / the IMF are here, I for one think all p.s. salaries should be capped @ 100,000
    Also pensions need to be looked at, its ridiculour that some retired public servants have pension pots worth millions.

You mean not everyone wants to work in the public sector because they couldnt put up with the abuse and nonsence they receive from the public.

Why not put a cap on every ones wages for a period of 5 years, we can then reduce the cost of living for everyone, and it gives the government 5 years to implement changes they need to

We could always increase the effective tax rate of high earners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

If any public servants are unhappy with their lot after upcoming inevitable big cuts they are free to leave the irish public sector and work in irish private sector or a foreign public service. The Irish state is broke and massive cuts and new taxes(property,water,taxes on lower paid) are inevitable and essential. My family will personnally suffer from public sector and welfare cuts but i know its essential to do this and the much higher paid and pensioned public servants have felt little real impact on their lives yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭n900guy

Keep you in a job:

Net income for the whole country is minus 100 billion a year due to these executives! They should be imprisoned! Next time 100 people get let go - it's the bank sector that screwed everything, not your f ucking garda or doctor!

If any public servants are unhappy with their lot after upcoming inevitable big cuts they are free to leave the irish public sector and work in irish private sector or a foreign public service. The Irish state is broke and massive cuts and new taxes(property,water,taxes on lower paid) are inevitable and essential. My family will personnally suffer from public sector and welfare cuts but i know its essential to do this and the much higher paid and pensioned public servants have felt little real impact on their lives yet.

And if private sector worker is unhappy they can do the exact same thing

n900guy wrote: »
    Keep you in a job:

Net income for the whole country is minus 100 billion a year due to these executives! They should be imprisoned! Next time 100 people get let go - it's the bank sector that screwed everything, not your f ucking garda or doctor!

We don't just have a bank debt crisis, we also have a sovereign debt crisis, I really wish the ps would wise up and acknowledge this but I suppose its like asking turkeys to vote for christmas. The garda or doctor being overpaid HAS contributed to the sovereign debt crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

We don't just have a bank debt crisis, we also have a sovereign debt crisis, I really wish the ps would wise up and acknowledge this but I suppose its like asking turkeys to vote for christmas. The garda or doctor being overpaid HAS contributed to the sovereign debt crisis.

The PS bill per year is twice the cost of the interest on the bank debt. Easy to see which is the bigger problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

20Cent wrote: »
    The PS bill per year is twice the cost of the interest on the bank debt. Easy to see which is the bigger problem.

Currently the soverign debt is growing, the banking debt is not. Thats the bigger problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 UNI4MER

It seems as if so many feel that the private sector is not paying its fair share and there is a bottomless pit of cash that needs to be taken to fund the stupid and unsustainable promises made to public employee unions. What they are now finding out is that their own policies that restrict free enterprise lowers tax revenue and the unsustainable pension promises forces them to borrow more than can be afforded. So the gov't either takes all of your income or defaults. Like in the US our last hope is to elect more conservatives and less Marxists/Democrats who understand the basics of how free economies recover and prosper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭motherriley

Public Sector getting 100k a year no wonder the country is going bankruptcy that is a lot more than an MP is getting in the UK:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭rumour

Good point. I have a slightly different take on why they consider it 'bashing'
    1. They have no comphrehension of the relationship between Public Sector pay and our current predicament
    2. They do have comphrehension but don't give a ****
    3. They feel entitled to demand that the private sector support their lifestyle
    4. They feel entitled to confiscate anything that prevents them having this lifestyle.
    Given the direction of our government currently it appears we are not a country, with a government acting for its citizens rather an authority with the powers of a state that exists for one purpose to protect the public sector at the expense of all else.

For these people any and every argument will justify begging lying cheating and stealing to maintain this position. Don't forget we face the apocalypse if anything happens to the public sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

Public Sector getting 100k a year no wonder the country is going bankruptcy that is a lot more than an MP is getting in the UK:o

You don't have to go abroad, Its also more than a TD is getting in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Then there are the bashers
    1. They have no comprehension of the relationship between Public Sector pay and our current predicament
    2. They do have comprehension but don't give a ****
    3. They feel entitled to demand that the public sector provides them with services without paying for it.
    4. They refuse to pay taxes or anything that prevents them having the lifestyle they want.

For these people any and every argument will justify their refusal to engage with the detail of the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Yes yes thank god another PS bashing thread, havent had one of them in a long while

Hardly a public bashing thread - the vast majority of PS workers are on nowhere near this amount of money.
    In fact, making the higher earners contribute more would help to protect the low and mid ranking public servants and is sometihng that the PS unions have been calling for.

Having said that capping all public sector wages at €100,000 would be mad. There would be a flight of senior public servants.

ardmacha wrote: »
    1. They have no comprehension of the relationship between Public Sector pay and our current predicament
    3. They feel entitled to demand that the public sector provides them with services without paying for it.
    4. They refuse to pay taxes or anything that prevents them having the lifestyle they want.
    For these people any and every argument will justify their refusal to engage with the detail of the problem.

Is that the definition of a public sector basher?
    Rare species?

Its the taxes on the private sector that pays for the Public sector. Until PS workers get that into their heads then the country is going to remain fecked.

dvpower wrote: »
    Having said that capping all public sector wages at €100,000 would be mad. There would be a flight of senior public servants.

Let them fly. There would be more behind them who wouldn't mind being promoted and getting 100k per year. It also might rejuvenate the senior levels of the PS and bring in some new blood.

There would be more behind them who wouldn't mind being promoted and getting 100k per year.

Rather there would plenty of able people behind them who are getting 80K and who wouldn't bother with the promotion as the hassle would not be worth it. So you;d have to cut them too and while there may not be too many at the very top you'd have more as you moved down and these could easily walk.
    It also might rejuvenate the senior levels of the PS and bring in some new blood.

Cheap blood, presumably.

Rather there would plenty of able people behind them who are getting 80K and who wouldn't bother with the promotion as the hassle would not be worth it. So you;d have to cut them too and while there may not be too many at the very top you'd have more as you moved down and these could easily walk.

So your saying that Civil servants at the middle level prefer to coast along at the taxpayers expense while doing as little as possible?

Thanks for confirming what most of us already know. I had thought that there might be some mid-level PS workers with enough integrity to step forward....but I guess not, thanks for letting us know for sure though.

So your saying that Civil servants at the middle level prefer to coast along at the taxpayers expense while doing as little as possible?

I didn't say that, please do not put words in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

femur61 wrote: »
    For some unknown reason the governement won't touch PS pay,

Have you been under a stone for the last 2 years ? They did.....twice.

Rather there would plenty of able people behind them who are getting 80K and who wouldn't bother with the promotion as the hassle would not be worth it. So you;d have to cut them too and while there may not be too many at the very top you'd have more as you moved down and these could easily walk
    Ah c'mon.
    If there are people earning 80k who won't step up to the mark, they need to be gotten rid of.