Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Housemate and his girlfriend.

• 11-05-2011 4:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭

My friend, he lives in a house and is sick of looking at his housemates bird who seems to have moved in.

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Is she hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Same thing happened in the house I used to live in. Bit annoying alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Pics or GTFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Sounds like two and a half men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Had this happen to me, they were told to hit the road, problem solved!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Any thoughts?

Yes...

Are they helpful?

maybe not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭no nails niall

smokedeels wrote: »
    Is she hot?

He dosen't find her hot, first thing i asked! Not really the point thought!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Sadly not.

I think you know the answer then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

If she cleans up her act as in cleans up after herself and they keep the bedroom antics quiet I don't see a problem.

Be nice to her and she'll introduce you to her mates!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

She needs a love pump.

kfallon wrote: »
    Had this happen to me, they were told to hit the road, problem solved!

They were happy enough to up sticks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Snappy the Moose

Most definitely the point, hunt her out!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

... staying at least 4-5 nights a week, ...and camping out all weekend...

That's about the same as me in my house.

I pay rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Jizz in her chardonnay.

Gillington wrote: »
    If she cleans up her act as in cleans up after herself and they keep the bedroom antics quiet I don't see a problem.

Be nice to her and she'll introduce you to her mates!

Its more the dvd's late at night and endless chattering into early hours that drove the mate nuts!

Any hot friends may cool things alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

Poo in her ear when shes asleep = result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

Having the same problem with my housemate and his boyfriend. Might be better if we liked the guy, but he's a patronising little git...
    Stays in our house 6 out of 7 nights a week and can sometimes be found there when housemate isn't there - which I think we're right in saying is not on. Myself and another housemate sometimes have other halfs stay over, but for a majority of 2 nights at a time and are doing LDRs - this guy lives with his parent around the corner.
    :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

A couple of dirty glasses?

Awwwww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I had this happen when a guy I shared a flat with moved his non-rent paying skank into his single bedroom and we had her joss-stick burning, milk-stealing, hippy nonsense for six months before I made up a story about moving out and giving the place up. They found a place in Rathmines, I helped them move and then moved someone else into his room. LOL

'cptr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 jackie1983

did he say anything to his mate like ehhhh dude this is our house not your own... surely the mate knows that this isnt cool all the time.. tell him to just say something subtly like "its very cramped in here lately" if he doesnt get the hint just come out and say it...
    give him a snickers and send him on his way:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Sit the pair of them down and explain the way you feel. Then go apartment hunting with them in a ghost estate. Put down plastic sheeting then shoot them and cover the bodies in lime. Board up the doors and windows. Repeat as necessary. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

jackie1983 wrote: »
    tell him to just say something subtly like "its very cramped in here lately" if he doesnt get the hint just come out and say it...

"There's a serious case of rotten minge in here". She'll figure it out by process of elimination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Rent or GTFO?:pac:

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Rent or GTFO?:pac:

He said its not about they rent. They just don't want a loved up pair taking over the place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

I'd just say it to the fella. Keep it simple, i always find in these situations that people are riling themselves up about something before the person in question even knows they're doing anything wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

dr gonzo wrote: »
    I'd just say it to the fella. Keep it simple, i always find in these situations that people are riling themselves up about something before the person in question even knows they're doing anything wrong.

Exactly,just go right on ahead and say "I'm afraid I think your girlfriend is a bit of a munter".

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Tell him to casually say to his mate 'isnt it great that our rents and bills are going to be split 3 ways now your missus is starting to move in'. Whatever your man says tell your friend to say that he is not paying for your mans gf staying there, eating the food, taking showers etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

I shared an apartment with 4 other girls one year in college. Two of them had boyfriends who effectively lived in their rooms. The other two had boyfriends who stayed over occasionally. I couldn't criticize the latter two - it wasn't excessive and they were very nice guys. But the situation meant that occasionally there were 9 people sleeping in the apartment. I had to queue to do basic things like cook, watch TV etc.

Unfortunately, you have to assess which would be worse - the frostiness after telling somebody their partner isn't welcome, or the irritation of having them around. There's no perfect answer. I never said anything, as I would have had to say the same to all of them to be fair and then presumably none of my housemates would have been speaking to me, so I just smiled my way through those few months. It wasn't for long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Tell him to casually say to his mate 'isnt it great that our rents and bills are going to be split 3 ways now your missus is starting to move in'. Whatever your man says tell your friend to say that he is not paying for your mans gf staying there, eating the food, taking showers etc.
    This.

If he's ok with her being there for free, but wants them out of his space he could try:
    Trimming his toenails, with his teeth
    Rummaging around in his pants then presenting her with his finger and asking "Does this smell weird to you?"
    Yelling "GET A ROOM" whenever they come within 10 feet of each other
    Getting home before them and falling asleep on the couch
    Spending some time in his own room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Cool story bro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Back in the day, my house mates gave the spare key to their dealer for keeps. It was just in case they were asleep and he had a 'delivery'. I actually got used to getting up in the morning, getting my sh1t ready for college and he would be there watching DVDs till the lads got up. He was pretty sound now that I think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

This is why i've moved house a few times. Its a couple versus everyone else in the house no matter what.
    the couch is theirs. They'll have picked what they're watching on telly and have dinner together. Telling someone to calm it, no matter how well they have taken it has always ended up frosty.
    As much as we don;t want to believe it, most people when in relationships think of no one but themselves. especially at the start.
    iId say try and wait it out a bit. sounds like a cop out but i haven't found any other way to work :) sorry mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

They were happy enough to up sticks?

When the room was advertised it specifically said 'no couples', when he tried to move her in he got the spanish archer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Jizz on her chardonnay face.

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds1

Not a pleasant situation, big no-no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Apparently this is why the Beatles split up!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Piss....

Blast her with some.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Does she peep in your keyhole when your masturbate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

He needs to walk around in the y-fronts. the site of a lad winking out the window at her will either get him a bonus to her staying, or start making her think of staying elsewhere.

Also - when doing the 'I have a few DVD's rented',he should quickly put on a German porno (has to be German - that way its bound to contain something she'll bolt from).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I might be moving in with a couple soon. Is it really a problem? FFFFUUUUUUUUUUU!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I only opened this thread thinking it would be a lovely, heart-warming, life affirming story of how you and your housemate went twos-up on her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

My friend, he lives in a house and is sick of looking at his housemates bird who seems to have moved in.

Any thoughts?

He should hang a brick from his cock and wander around like that when she is in situ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Shryke wrote: »
    I might be moving in with a couple soon. Is it really a problem? FFFFUUUUUUUUUUU!

depends, im living with a couple at the mo and their grand, i can still have the lads round and we all get on well

but i was there before she was (as in the ops case), you however are going into a house where theyve been digging themselves into a routine so id expect less couch space and not a lot of tv time if i was you

depends, im living with a couple at the mo and their grand, i can still have the lads round and we all get on well

but i was there before she was (as in the ops case), you however are going into a house where theyve been digging themselves into a routine so id expect less couch space and not a lot of tv time if i was you

We'll be moving in together. I know them both a bit... I imagine it would be alright though couples can really sicken me sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Shryke wrote: »
    We'll be moving in together. I know them both a bit... I imagine it would be alright though couples can really sicken me sometimes!

ahh well then your grand, just remember if you have an argument to treat them as 1 entity , they will both be angry at you , so best avoided

Gotcha. Like some hormonally imbalanced freak octopoid that wants to play Xbox constantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

He should hang a brick from his cock and wander around like that when she is in situ.

Not sure, but I don't think that phrase means what you think it means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I only opened this thread thinking it would be a lovely, heart-warming, life affirming story of how you and your housemate went twos-up on her.

...a celebration of both love and the human spirit, like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

i had the very same problem a couple of years ago until one night, when i arrived back to the house with about 10 people for a party.
    Didnt know that my housemates gf and her sister were there (without telling or asking me), they came downstairs asking to turn down the music etc
    I was drunk and absolutely lost it and called her a fat C U Next Tuesday and told her to get the fcuk out of my house.
    She ran back up the stairs and left about an hour later and never darkened our door again, my mate dumped her soon after = WIN for ME
    I normally would NEVER call someone that but hey it worked!! (and she was):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Been there, not much you can do.