Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag Parties

• 11-05-2011 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi I'm in a secure relationship and I really trust my man. However he is going on a stag to Prague in August. I'm just wondering do all men cheat? I mean I heard about stags in Prague etc. My male workmates say he definitely will cheat on me and this is making me uneasy. I think, so what if he does but I know it would kill me if I knew. We have a great relationship and he hates cheaters himself.
    What I wanted to know is, do all men cheat? Is a stags really an excuse to cheat? Why do they pick Prague when it is such a huge sex nation? Do they cheat knowing they can get away with it over there? And then if they do, do they not feel guilty?
    I know I am going to get a lot of negative replies to this but it'd be great to hear what other people think. I plan on keeping myself busy when he goes so I don't drive myself mad with silly thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've never been on a stag where anyone has gone off and cheated.

No, all men do not cheat. Most men do not cheat. Your male workmates are either trying to wind you up or break you up.

You will find that cheating in men tends to run in groups. That is, it tends to work out that all or most of the men on the stag go with the intention to cheat, or they don't. It's not something that happens by accident. And it's definitely not something which happens on most stags.

You know your boyfriend well enough at this stage and you say you're secure. So if you don't think he'd cheat on a normal night out, then he won't cheat on a weekend away.

They picked Prague because it's a popular place with stags to go away - cheap accomodation and plenty of booze. The vast, vast majority of stags involve eating, drinking and sometimes sleeping, and not much else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭zxcvbnm1

I've been on loads of stags and not one single person has ever cheated.

I'm really not sure where you're getting this notion that men on stags cheat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP back- Thanks guys, you have both made me feel so much better.
    As I said I completely trust him, just I work with mostly men and they were the ones putting the idea in my head. That if my boyfriend comes back with flowers or a present he has cheated...whereas if he did I would have thought it was because he missed me. Then workmates said if he came back with nothing it means he cheated and didn't care.
    I have brothers and they have cheated on their partners etc so I guess my mind was running away with itself.
    Thank you for your posts, I appreciate it and can relax now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If you consider getting a lapdance in a strip club as cheating, yes, then it's highly likely he'll do so in Prague on a stag. If this is the case, then you need to discuss it with him in advance.

Otherwise, it's pretty doubtful tbh. A drunken group of Irish lads can hardly hold much attraction to Czech girls at this stage!

As the lads have said, it's pretty rare for cheating to happen at all on stags in my experience. To be honest, whilst working as a night-porter during my college years, I saw far more Hens playing away than Stags.

Ah god no sleepy I don't consider a lapdance cheating at all. He can get one all he wants as long as that's it!! I'd prefer that than anything else to happen!!
    I know hens are bad considering my brothers wife cheated on him at her hens infront of my mother and myself!!
    It's actually really nice to know there are other decent men out there considering you hear so many negatives in my job from the guys all cheating on their partners and then boasting about it!
    You have all just put me at ease now, thanks so much :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

What I wanted to know is, do all men cheat? Is a stags really an excuse to cheat?

NO and NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

how did your brothers wife cheat in front of you and your mother???? :eek:

Ive been on a stag to prague and in a group of 14 there was the whole range - one guy didnt even enter a strip club, most went and did nothing, some got a dance, a few got a 'private dance'

Its all about the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Been to a few stag's myself (including my own) and nobody ever cheated. Your workmate is winding you up, the most that I have seen done is a lapdance and if your not bothered by that then I really really wouldn't give it a second thought.

The wife kissed this guy infront of us and then we pulled her away to a night club, she left straight away leaving all her mates waiting like a plank for her to find out she went back to the pub to were the guy was and never came back to the hotel til 6 in the morning...So she kissed him and god knows whatever else!

Ah I know guys get the lapdances and all, I'm really easy going and laid back. I'm not naive enough to think that they don't get them. Ahhh I suppose I'm a woman we're all a little bit mad!! ;) But it doesn't help when other men are so blatant about cheating and saying my boyfriend definitely will. :)

Thanks to all of you for your comments. I really do appreciate them thanks for being so forthcoming with them. I may aswell finish this thread as any insecurities I had are well and truely gone. Mind yourselves :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Stop listening to your workmates...seriously. I can't believe they're telling you all this. Of course not all men cheat. Yes he'll go to Prague and probably spend the whole weekend pissed, possibly go to a stripclub or two, maybe get a lapdance, but you said yourself you completely trust him, and that he himself hates cheaters so PLEASE ignore your workmates. They're full of crap. I'd actually just stop talking to them about the whole thing completely because they're just winding you up. If it comes up in conversation again, politely say that you don't want to discuss it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Ah god no sleepy I don't consider a lapdance cheating at all. He can get one all he wants as long as that's it!! I'd prefer that than anything else to happen!!
    I know hens are bad considering my brothers wife cheated on him at her hens infront of my mother and myself!!
    It's actually really nice to know there are other decent men out there considering you hear so many negatives in my job from the guys all cheating on their partners and then boasting about it!
    You have all just put me at ease now, thanks so much :)

You have nothing to worry about, 99% of men will not cheat on their partners whether it be a nbight out, holiday, stag etc....

Going slightly off topic, having read this bit and your next post, about her returning to pub to where this man was and not coming back to the hotel untill 6 o clock in the morning.

Are you telling me you and your mother let your brother marry this woman without informing him of this:eek:
    Thank God your not related to me

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I have heard of guys cheating on stags, but these guys cheated left, right and centre on their girlfriends at home anyway so it was no surprise - it was their form.

Getting on a plane does not make a non-cheater into a philandering ass. :) If he is the type to cheat, then he is going to have his flings at home, going on a stag is not going to make him cheat. If he is his own man, any attempt by others to drag him into cheating on you will be shot down.

Are the guys you work with very young? They sound very immature and seem to be talking about what they think goes on as opposed to actual experience.

dundalkfc10 we told my brother. But the wife got in there first crying down the phone to him saying we had sent mean texts to her! He got onto me going mad asking what was going on I explained everything. And said how he should reconsider who he is marrying as she had done this before and I had war with her. He is so insecure and has no confidence that he married her. Also they have a baby together, he didn't want to become a weekend dad etc. So he went ahead and married her, my mam pleaded with him the night before the wedding not to...he still did! Now we don't see him or the baby anymore when we saw them almost every day! Bit of a coincidence :)
    I'm not that bad a person to not say it to my brother but I knew I was wasting my time :) We'll just have to wait to pick up the pieces!

As for the stags, I won't be listening to the lads at work anymore. My opinion of men has gone up after you guys:)

No! These are fully grown men!! In their 30's & 40's! One guy talks about how great his wife is but yet he cheats on her all the time. He said he doesn't go looking for it but if it happens it happens! Sure his wife is at home and he went out to town last night on the pull while supposed to be working!

I thought if his mates were trying to get him to cheat and egging him on that maybe he might but I really don't think so. My boyfriends ex cheated on him and that's why he can't stand cheaters. He goes mad when his friends do it(not close mates). I know he will stand up to them, he's his own person and I know by him he'd be happy to walk away from a situation.

As I already said, I'm feeling a million times better now I feel like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders:) I must join this site so I can help others like you have helped me.

I could be wrong about your situation, but as nobody else has touched on it i figured i'd mention it: i've seen this "tactic" used fairly often; they're trying to sow doubt in your mind about the strength of your relationship, creating the possibility of getting into your pants. They might do it in an overt way, with a sympathetic tone, or under the guise of just taking the piss, winding you up, as someone above said.

They're obviously not simply winding you up, evidenced by the fact that they've been laying it on so strong that you felt the need to make a Personal Issues post despite being in a "secure relationship" with a man you say you really trust. This is more obvious when you consider that cheating, and boasting about it, seems to be a theme in your office (or whatever type of work environment it is).

What sort of secure, reasonable man would tell a girl that her partner will "definitely cheat", even as a joke? Again, i could be wrong, but the whole thing strikes me as obvious...they're just buttering you up, and they'll go on about it more and more until the trip if you show any signs that it's working, or that it's getting to you.

It's a predatory weasel tactic (and it does work), so maybe be mindful of it.

Also another thing, i know you say they're always boasting about cheating etc, but often times you'll find that the people that talk the most, are mostly talk.

And lastly, don't start second guessing your boyfriend's motivations with regard to buying flowers, not buying flowers, making you dinner, tidying up, etc etc, it makes for a tough life being a boyfriend. And it also just shows how insecure your workmate's way of thinking is, that they thought of it in the first place.

BTW OP your male workmates sound like complete morons, most the office knows one lad cheats what a tool!!

As for your BF mates egging him on to cheat on the stag, I've never seen that happen.
    Been on loads of stags no cheating happened on any of them not even the closest remotest type of cheating. Lads dont go on stags to pull, and women (single) that have half a brain wouldnt want to be near a group of lads on a stag cos 99000% of time they are talking total and utter drunk BS.

Been out of my brain with straight 24hr drinking on my own stag, again not the remote thought of cheating
    Stags are 99.9% of the time just lads drinking like nutters, slagging each other, slaggin the groom ( standard ball and chain remarks - mainly by husbands ) and simply having a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Hi I'm in a secure relationship and I really trust my man.
    What more is there to worry about?

You're work mates have overstepped the line.
    It's just not on to pass comment on a colleague's private life.
    Would they find it funny if;
    -you pointed out how good-looking their new postman is?
    - questioned if their wive's ever found it lonely at home during the day?
    - told them that most of the women were talking about the hot new gym instructor who is meant to have a "bit of a way" with clients?
    - said you had seen their wive's flirting with school teachers?

it's a sick sense of humour.
    How would they react to you pointing out the above?

Some guys cheat on stags.

If they're going to Prague, they'll more than likely end up in a sex club / strip show.

I'm not saying that your fella will but it does happen.

I avoid going on stags to European cities because I couldn't be arsed paying all that money for a weekend away and also because I don't want to end up in a seedy strip club.

And yes, friends of mine have strayed on these trips.

Spoke to my brother recently and he said the same thing, lads heading off for an hour or so on the sly to get their end away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Johnny Favourite

I went to a stag do in Prauge with 14 lads and 9 of them slept with prostitutes. They were all married.

Most men don't cheat but lots do.

On my stag in hamburg I'd say 10 of 18 lads including me shagged prostitutes. Some were married and some weren't. Stags are an excuse for a lotta guys to let off steam. Prague is notorious for seedy strip clubs that are little more than brothels. If your husband is going abroad then there is a chance he is going on a stag like mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Prague is a lovely city, I feel sorry for the denizens having to deal with packs of drunken stags.

Your OH can certainly cheat if he wants, but he doesn't have to, and probably won't if he's not the type. Plenty of guys on stags just get ****-faced and pass out (possibly after singing songs for many hours first).

Your co-workers are trying to rile you up and/or possibly convince you to sleep with one of them as a 'revenge' fling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

No! These are fully grown men!! In their 30's & 40's! One guy talks about how great his wife is but yet he cheats on her all the time. He said he doesn't go looking for it but if it happens it happens! Sure his wife is at home and he went out to town last night on the pull while supposed to be working! I thought if his mates were trying to get him to cheat and egging him on that maybe he might but I really don't think so. My boyfriends ex cheated on him and that's why he can't stand cheaters. He goes mad when his friends do it(not close mates). I know he will stand up to them, he's his own person and I know by him he'd be happy to walk away from a situation..

He can't stand cheaters but is mates with someone who cheats all the time and openly brags about it? He doesn't go mad when his close mates cheat? :confused:

TBH whatever about your fella cheating or not cheating I'd be concerned about his choice of friends accompanying him on the trip. On my stag we ate well, drank a lot, danced badly and didn't sleep much. Not all men cheat but then again personally I don't associate with cowards and dirtbags. Apparently others do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭S23

Wow. Just wow. There is so much sh*t in this thread it beggars belief.

First off you trust your OH fully but you need to come on here and ask if he'll cheat if he goes on a stag????? That's a bit contradictory isn't it?

Then there is the issue of you asking as ridiculous a question, and sorry OP it is completely f**king ridiculous, as 'do all men cheat?. I wouldn't even expect a 16 year old to come out with that. It then transpires he (and you presumably but perhaps not) is in the 30s-40s age range. I find the fact any adult could come out with a question like yours mind boggling.

Simple. No. There is nothing that 'all' men do. There is also nothing that 'all' women do. Individuals make their own choices. Being a man or a woman does not equal any default setting. Every adult with their full mental capacity knows that.

Then you have people telling you going to Prague means they will definitely go to a strip club. Again this is complete bollocks. I've been twice and haven't been into a strip club. I've also been on plenty of stags and haven't been into strip clubs.

Then you have people coming on here telling you how half their stag went to brothels and had sex with prostitutes. I've been all over eastern europe and all over central europe without my OH and amazingly myself and the lads I went with managed to not end up in any brothels.

There are no definitive answers one way or another on these issues. Being in Prague does not immediately = strip clubs or prostitutes. It's all about the individuals and how they will behave. As was pointed out to you the simple act of getting on a plane will not turn a mild mannered person into a maniac.

I'm under no illusion there are plenty of knuckle dragging bottom feeders who go on stags seeing it as a handy chance to cheat or pick up hookers but in the vast majority of cases they get up to the same craic at home.

The fact your co-workers are trying to sow the seeds of doubt in your mind is really pretty sickening IMO. It's a really low and scummy thing to do they sound like a right bunch of c**ts to be honest. However the fact you entertained their notions so easily added to the questions you ask makes me wonder if you have any life experience at all.

Long story short if your boyfriend is a cheater then he'll cheat on you at some stage. Be it home or abroad it won't matter. Cheaters cheat.

A faithful person won't cheat just because they are in Prague, Hamburg, Timbuktu or on Mars. It doesn't work like that. Nobody who doesn't cheat or have any inclination to cheat will be goaded into it by 'mates' either.

Also not all people on stags behave like animals or have to go and leer and women.

I seriously hope you're very, very, very young OP because it's not right for anyone in their 30s or 40s to be so gullible or naive in their approach to their life and relationships.

prinz wrote: »
    He can't stand cheaters but is mates with someone who cheats all the time and openly brags about it? He doesn't go mad when his close mates cheat? :confused:

TBH whatever about your fella cheating or not cheating I'd be concerned about his choice of friends accompanying him on the trip. On my stag we ate well, drank a lot, danced badly and didn't sleep much. Not all men cheat but then again personally I don't associate with cowards and dirtbags. Apparently others do.

My OH doesn't hang around with the guys who cheat and brag about it, they are guys that I work with. He does go mad when his own friends cheat.

My problem is that I work in a 90% male environment and no matter how much you may trust your OH when you have as someone else called them "morons" that I work with trying to sow seeds of doubt, it's very hard to ignore it when they constantly bring it up.

To be fair though I think everyone has doubts at sometime in their life. My own boyfriend was worried I'd cheat on him on a hens I went on recently. Yes I flirted and had fun but I wouldn't dream of cheating. So I know he'll be up to the same craic away.

I'm looking at most of the replies I got in here and that was that the majority of men don't cheat. There are just the one's who do that make it harder for people to trust.

S23 wrote: »
    Wow. Just wow. There is so much sh*t in this thread it beggars belief.

First off you trust your OH fully but you need to come on here and ask if he'll cheat if he goes on a stag????? That's a bit contradictory isn't it? -

-Yes I do trust him, however when you work with 90% male environment and the majority of them cheat and boast about it, it's very hard not to take in some of what they are saying. Have you never had a slight doubt or feeling in a relationship?

Then there is the issue of you asking as ridiculous a question, and sorry OP it is completely f**king ridiculous, as 'do all men cheat?. I wouldn't even expect a 16 year old to come out with that. It then transpires he (and you presumably but perhaps not) is in the 30s-40s age range. I find the fact any adult could come out with a question like yours mind boggling.

-Why are you attacking the poster? It's a personal issues section I have the right to ask a question without being attacked. I'm sure you have questions that maybe ridiculous in other peoples eyes but not in yours. There is always a 1% chance that your OH may cheat. I was just looking for some feedback, which I received and was happy about.

Then you have people telling you going to Prague means they will definitely go to a strip club. Again this is complete bollocks. I've been twice and haven't been into a strip club. I've also been on plenty of stags and haven't been into strip clubs.

-I know they will go to a strip club who cares they are having fun, you obviously didn't read my posts correctly.

Then you have people coming on here telling you how half their stag went to brothels and had sex with prostitutes. I've been all over eastern europe and all over central europe without my OH and amazingly myself and the lads I went with managed to not end up in any brothels.

-Well done you are just brilliant and I really hope my OH is like you but I don't mind the strip clubs

I'm under no illusion there are plenty of knuckle dragging bottom feeders who go on stags seeing it as a handy chance to cheat or pick up hookers but in the vast majority of cases they get up to the same craic at home.

-Well he doesn't do it at home so I'd like to think he'll behave the same over there

The fact your co-workers are trying to sow the seeds of doubt in your mind is really pretty sickening IMO. It's a really low and scummy thing to do they sound like a right bunch of c**ts to be honest. However the fact you entertained their notions so easily added to the questions you ask makes me wonder if you have any life experience at all.

-Yes they are c**ts that I have to put up with every day. It's not a case that I entertained their notions so easily, it has been an ongoing thing. Anything they normally say goes over my head but when they overheard me talking to a female coworker about the stags thats when they started. And yes I have life experience but seriously that is none of your business again attack the post not the poster.

Long story short if your boyfriend is a cheater then he'll cheat on you at some stage. Be it home or abroad it won't matter. Cheaters cheat.

- I agree

Also not all people on stags behave like animals or have to go and leer and women.

-Thank you for clarifying this

I seriously hope you're very, very, very young OP because it's not right for anyone in their 30s or 40s to be so gullible or naive in their approach to their life and relationships.
    -I'm in my mid 20's but I'm sure to you I'm very very very young!!! I'm not gullible or naive. I know exactly what goes on in life. I had a little doubt about men and stags that I came on here to ask for some advice/opinions and I got some very helpful ones and some that I also expected. However you have no right to be so judgemental and degrade me and how I feel. Maybe you should read the charter forum again. I would report you to the mods if I was registered so I'm sorry mods. I just hope that some day you may need advice that you don't get a reply like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

S23 infracted. The purpose of this forum is to offer constructive advice in a civil manner - if you are unable to post without breaching one or even both those tenets then kindly refrain from posting.

Please keep replies on topic and helpful to the OP and be aware that off-topic and unhelpful posting can earn you a ban from this forum.

If you haven't already done so, please take the time to read the [URL=" http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056181484"]forum rules[/URL] in the charter.

S23 infracted. The purpose of this forum is to offer constructive advice in a civil manner - if you are unable to post without breaching one or even both those tenets then kindly refrain from posting.

Please keep replies on topic and helpful to the OP and be aware that off-topic and unhelpful posting can earn you a ban from this forum.

If you haven't already done so, please take the time to read the [URL=" http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056181484"]forum rules[/URL] in the charter.

Thank you Ickle Magoo :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Why do they pick Prague when it is such a huge sex nation?

I have been on Stag parties in Dublin, Tipperary and Prague, and I have partied in Prague numerous times, so I think I can tell you why they pick Prague.

Tipperary:

Return train to Tip - 50 euro
    Hotel - 60 euro
    Pints - about 4 euro a pint - 10 pints(ish) 40 euro
    Numerous chasers - 40 euro
    Entrance to club - 10 euro - Despite all of us hating clubs, we had to go to keep on drinking
    Dinner - 20 euro

All told, about 200 euro, although I seem to remember it being closer to 300.

Dublin

Pints 5-6 euro so 60 euro
    chasers 6-7 euro so 40 euro
    Club 15 euro
    kebab 15 euro(and half hour wait)
    Taxi home in the wee hours 30 euro
    Decent chance of rain.

So without leaving the city, the night cost about 160 euro, and again I some how managed to spend more like 300.

Prague

Return flight with Ryanair 200.

Pints 1.20 - 10 pints is 12 euro
    Chasers .80 to 2 euro so 10 euro
    Hotel 40 euro or really good hostel for 12.
    Entrance to most clubs is free though a lot of pubs open 24-hours or very late, so you dont have to go to a club if you dont want to.
    Wide assortment of topless clubs where its free to look at boobs(men like doing that)
    24 hour licensing.
    Good Weather

Your co-workers are wrong. its not about the sex, its mainly that you can drink without interruption, and without feeling like you have been mugged the next day. Also, as someone else pointed out: a czech girl wont look twice at a group of drunken irish men.

Tell him to have a great time, and not to buy beer in the airport. its a rip off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Don't worry OP, if you know he's a good fella then just trust him and let him go without any hassle. He'll have innocent fun and nothing more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I would question this and surprised no one mentioned it .you are getting married to this guy but you are so sure hed cheat you come here ? Are you sure you want to marry him.
    In my experience i was cheated on by every man I ever went out with .Dont know why this is .I also know men who are married who will shag someone even though they love their wife.I met guys on stag nights ,I had married guys come onto me .I took no notice.
    In my honest opinion and no ones going to like this ,the majority of men do cheat.I would never cheat myself but I dont know a man that is married that hasnt cheated.
    Its just in their nature and doesnt mean they dont love their wives.I have had friends husbands try and have sex with me .Obviously I told them no ,didnt stop the women hating me when they found out.They will always blame the woman who did nothing to encourage anyone ,not the sleezey husband.
    usually men on stag dos are out of their minds ,they have to drink to impress each other how great they are.Ever seen a bunch of men trying to outdo each other? they will go to any lenght to be the coolest amd best and be a ledgend that will go down in the history of their story telling of a sat night in the local.
    Im cynical perhaps ,but that is my personal experience.