Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi Regulator and Aircoach Cooperative venture.

• 11-05-2011 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭

Subsequent to the startup of the new Aircoach Balinteer - Airport route I notice they and the Office of Taxi Regulation have teamed up to include a Customer Advice addendum to the bottom of the Bus Stop Timetable panel.

Under the Taxi Regulator's logo there is a comprehensive advisory concerning the illegality of Taxi Drivers touting for business at Aircoach Stops.

There is further advice on noting the Taxi Roof Sign Number and contact numbers for the Taxi Regulator to report same.

Is this evidence of the new broom of the NTA taking Taxi Regulation under it's remit ?

It will be interesting to see if this is a precursor to further efforts by Aircoach to protect it's customer base from the predatory raids of the Taxi Driving fraternity ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭dowlingm

Good for Aircoach. If that sticker was on the Westmoreland St stop I would have called it in January.

That said, a number for "where TF is my bus" would be useful too, especially when it is a replacement dispatched because the original DUB bus filled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

while its a good move it seems to me to simply be a light step touch rather than actually dealing with the problem at source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

while its a good move it seems to me to simply be a light step touch rather than actually dealing with the problem at source

True Cookie,but as I watched one beligerent badge wearing lout attempting to lure some foreign ladies into his VW Caravelle at Leeson Street Bridge It struck me that if these Aircoach customers could at least point to the Taxi Regulator logo and it' s warning it might soften the cough of some of these geezers ?

I agree it's light-touch,but it's merely an indication of just how bad value this Taxi Regulator gig has proven to be......Bring Back The Carriage Office I say !!! :D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

its amazing how the taxi regulator [now incorperated into the NTA ]can work with air coach in protecting the income of said company .while they let the illegal touting to go rampant on every street outside every chipper ,pub ,club, in the city . within ten yards of most legal taxi ranks .

how many times have people been just walking out of a venue to have a "shoulder licker " ask if they wanted a taxi .
    they should be protecting the taxi drivers who try and play by the rules by using the proper ranks. and intending passengers should do likewise .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭dirtynosebeps

its amazing how the taxi regulator [now incorperated into the NTA ]can work with air coach in protecting the income of said company .while they let the illegal touting to go rampant on every street outside every chipper ,pub ,club, in the city . within ten yards of most legal taxi ranks .

how many times have people been just walking out of a venue to have a "shoulder licker " ask if they wanted a taxi .
    they should be protecting the taxi drivers who try and play by the rules by using the proper ranks. and intending passengers should do likewise .
    no offence losty, but if it's that rampant whats to stop you or your colleagues from taking down a number and reporting them to the regulator yourselves. i'm sure aircoach had their figures and numbers to go to the regulator and they must've added up for the regulator to intervene.

believe me it has been reported to the regulator with roof sign numbers ,video .the lot . guards have been approached and the illegal "touting" pointed out . some are moved on only to be replaced by others a few minutes later .
    this is why im amazed at the way air coach can get action when the people who pay the regulators wages [because the office of the taxi regulator is the only one atm thats self financing ] cant .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

believe me it has been reported to the regulator with roof sign numbers ,video .the lot . guards have been approached and the illegal "touting" pointed out . some are moved on only to be replaced by others a few minutes later .
    this is why im amazed at the way air coach can get action when the people who pay the regulators wages [because the office of the taxi regulator is the only one atm thats self financing ] cant .

I bet you though that during the next 2 weeks there'll be no illegal queueing allowed with HM the Queen and President Obama visiting

Spook_ie wrote: »
    I bet you though that during the next 2 weeks there'll be no illegal queueing allowed with HM the Queen and President Obama visiting
    i think the garda "dog squad " are too interested in leaving their yellow mark on every man hole and shore . the road closures for their visit should be interesting .two big matches aswell :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭etchyed

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Under the Taxi Regulator's logo...

Is evidence of the new broom of the NTA taking Taxi Regulation under it's remit?
    Maybe this is overly simplistic of me but that would seem unlikely to me given that the Taxi Regulator isn't supposed to have its own logo any more.

Taxi Regulation Directorate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Wouldn't it just be easier to require each taxi to have signage on both sides of the car that says "If you don't like what this taxi just did, call the Taxi Regulator at 1890 XXX XXX. Please ensure you quote the Taxi plate number when you call."

I wonder what kind of calls they'd receive and whether it would have any effect on the behaviour of the "loose cannon" taxi drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

-Chris- wrote: »

I wonder what kind of calls they'd receive and whether it would have any effect on the behaviour of the "loose cannon" taxi drivers.

One of the most noticeable by products of the total inability of the Office/Directorate of Taxi Regulation to perform their stated duties has been the metamorphisis of the "Loose Cannons" from being just a few to what now appears to be an entire Artillery Brigade.

The major benefit of the "New,Improved" form of Taxi Regulation has been in facilitating a motley crue of dubious types to take over the SPSV industry following the downgrading of the Garda Carriage Office's role.

If the NTA don't get a grip on their remit in much the same manner as they appear to be doing with the Bus industry then the few "Loose Cannons" will blast them asunder.

From what I witnessed today in the City Centre many of these lads are ready and willing to face down any Garda that dares approach them......

That said,I did notice a distinct scattering of the tribe during the VERY large Multi-Agency checkpoint operation last weekend on Stephens Green East......There was some amount of Radio-Chatter that night I reckon,judging by the amount of rapid U-Turns and swift park-up's all the way back to Donnybrook... :D:D:D

Maybe,just Maybe,the task of regulating the "Loose Cannons" might best be performed by a few lads with "Revenue" writ large across the back of their Hi-Viz's ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭SandyfordGuy

Are these just the stops on the new route? didn't see anything in the city centre?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Subsequent to the startup of the new Aircoach Balinteer - Airport route I notice they and the Office of Taxi Regulation have teamed up to include a Customer Advice addendum to the bottom of the Bus Stop Timetable panel.

Under the Taxi Regulator's logo there is a comprehensive advisory concerning the illegality of Taxi Drivers touting for business at Aircoach Stops.

There is further advice on noting the Taxi Roof Sign Number and contact numbers for the Taxi Regulator to report same.

Is this evidence of the new broom of the NTA taking Taxi Regulation under it's remit ?

It will be interesting to see if this is a precursor to further efforts by Aircoach to protect it's customer base from the predatory raids of the Taxi Driving fraternity ?
    Not to burst any bubble or space hopper people may be happily bouncing around on but this may not be any type of joint venture or active collabration between the Aircoach company and the Taxi regulator/directorate but merely a bus company trying to retain its passenger numbers by informing people that taxis touting for hire at bus stops is illegal and if seen they can ring the regulator.

This would be more akin to ice-cream vans operating in housing estates with "MIND THAT CHILD!" plastered on the rear in very large lettering. they may appear to be promoting safe driving but in fact are promoting their own business as parents will be happier that they are mindful of their childrens safety and may be inclined to purchase some or more ice-cream