Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Want to play Oxegen? Guitarist wanted!

• 11-05-2011 7:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭

Band confirmed for Irelands major festival dates including Oxegen in serious need of a 2nd guitarist.

Indie style only - not at all looking for a blues virtuoso or slash wannabee. This is about making music as a band along the lines of Pulp, The Smiths, The Cure.
    We need a clever guitarist who can fill the sound without ripping into finger tapping triplets.

Album recorded and being released this summer - loads of dates confirmed and needs to be available at weekends to travel to shows.

No issue if you have a weekday job as long as you don't mind taking a day off here and there through the summer (4 days max).

Must be able to enjoy playing on a big stage and small stage alike.

Requirements -
    A guitar
    Some pedals
    A tuner with bypass switch.
    transport
    responsible
    Generally nice to chat to
    Love of music
    No ego's to the point of annoyance. Confidence would be nice though.
    Anyone who appreciates clever Indie Guitar playing
    Can rip it up on the fret board if necessary. I stress - IF NECESSARY! :)

Certain no no's -
    Anyone who's greatest influences are Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Slash and anyone with a similar style.

PLease feel free to PM me and I can send you over details of the band etc.

Thanks,
    Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

Hey mate,
    Anywhere I can listen to some tunes?
    I'm interested, been playing the last 10 years - hate guitar solos and love interesting sounds (Bellamy / Greenwood style).
    I use a lot of pedals, a couple of amps and a number of different guitars.
    Cheers,
    Chris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 ogormansimon

Hey, I'm Simon, 22yrs old. playin guitar for 5/6 years now, been in a few semi successful bands but ppl weren't as dedicated as me an still aren't. have a few guitars an love writing my own music, from fingerstyle to rock to indie, all rounder really. never once miss a practice cause i love jammin too much. be cool to hear back from you, peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Paul S wrote: »
    Band confirmed for Irelands major festival dates including Oxegen in serious need of a 2nd guitarist.

Indie style only - not at all looking for a blues virtuoso or slash wannabee. This is about making music as a band along the lines of Pulp, The Smiths, The Cure.
    We need a clever guitarist who can fill the sound without ripping into finger tapping triplets.

Album recorded and being released this summer - loads of dates confirmed and needs to be available at weekends to travel to shows.

No issue if you have a weekday job as long as you don't mind taking a day off here and there through the summer (4 days max).

Must be able to enjoy playing on a big stage and small stage alike.

Requirements -
    A guitar
    Some pedals
    A tuner with bypass switch.
    transport
    responsible
    Generally nice to chat to
    Love of music
    No ego's to the point of annoyance. Confidence would be nice though.
    Anyone who appreciates clever Indie Guitar playing
    Can rip it up on the fret board if necessary. I stress - IF NECESSARY! :)

Certain no no's -
    Anyone who's greatest influences are Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Slash and anyone with a similar style.

PLease feel free to PM me and I can send you over details of the band etc.

Thanks,
    Paul

And what makes you think your band is any good? You think a slot on a small stage at Oxegen means you can list off demands without actually giving any info on what YOU do? Any self respecting musician would ask themselves "but are these guys good enough to play with ME?" Post some samples and walk the walk, bigshot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭TheoBoone

Whats you band called?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Pawsome54

And what makes you think your band is any good? You think a slot on a small stage at Oxegen means you can list off demands without actually giving any info on what YOU do? Any self respecting musician would ask themselves "but are these guys good enough to play with ME?" Post some samples and walk the walk, bigshot.

Haha, love that post. I played Oxegen with my band 2 years ago and still nobodys ever heard of us haha, it really means feck all except ya got lucky one day with a talent scout who needed to find someone quick to fill a gap. Sorry to break ur balls Paul S, maybe ye lads will have better luck than us ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 robmcdonnell

Hey.

Don't Know if you are sorted yet.
    I've been playing for around 15 years reckon I have corresponding tastes.

I'm bloody intrigued too!

I'll Send you a PM with links and stuff.

Rob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭iamnothim

Who's the band? I'd put money on them being nobodies
    Be proud of your music dude...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Paul S

Cheers for all the responses lads. Have a lot of responses privately - some that will work, some that won't unfortunately. If anyone is interested by all means PM mean.

To ForestMaster, Pawsom54 and Iamnothim -
    Dudes - don;t worry, we're under no illusions as a band to the "level" we're playing at. We played Oxegen last year also and we're still trying to carve a name out for ourselves. So there are no ego's floating around the band. It's just good fun and I knew the opportunity of playing some great festivals this year would grab more attention. Simple as.
    The post was certainly not intended to be demanding, it was simply intened to be clear about the style we were looking for - as we have recently only had blues styled guitarists turn up to auditions which is of no use to us.

Of course I think my band are great :) otherwise I wouldn;t be playing with them. But at the same time lads, we're the one's with the gig and therefore we're the one's auditoning. Not fair enough to set down some ground rules so?

Anyway - if you're interested by all means sign up.

Thanks,
    P

Paul S wrote: »
    To ForestMaster, Pawsom54 and Iamnothim -
    Dudes - don;t worry, we're under no illusions as a band to the "level" we're playing at. We played Oxegen last year also and we're still trying to carve a name out for ourselves. So there are no ego's floating around the band. It's just good fun and I knew the opportunity of playing some great festivals this year would grab more attention. Simple as.
    The post was certainly not intended to be demanding, it was simply intened to be clear about the style we were looking for - as we have recently only had blues styled guitarists turn up to auditions which is of no use to us.

P

I'm saying that you should post some samples of your music, so that people will know if it suits them or not before applying and potentially wasting your time. It works both ways - that's my point.

You want a guitar player to join your band, you lay down all these (mostly stupid) requirements; but you give no info on the actual band itself! The only info was that you're playing Oxegen and that you're "indie"! As if that's enough to have people grovelling for a slot when it actually means SFA - any self-respecting musician should be more concerned with the level of musicianship & song-writing ability in the band he or she is joining, as opposed to some irrelevant achievements & non-specifics. What sort of people are you trying to attract with that ad? Competent musicians, or someone who owns "some pedals" who just wants to play Oxegen so their mates can come along? If I'm joining a band the first thing I think is "what do they sound like?" - not - "oh, I wonder how many pedals I need to own to get in, and how many gigs they got lined up!"

If I was auditioning someone for a band, I'd want to give them equally as much info about ME as I would expect from them - it's a 2-way street and it's about respect. IMO, your advert comes across as arrogant:
    "Hey there - we're playing on a small stage at a festival, we're indie, we're amazing so I don't need to post any of our songs - just take my word for it. Oh, and you must own a tuner and "some" pedals to join - form an orderly queue".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Maybe the OP, for whatever reason, would prefer not to make the audition process for their band public?

It doesn't take that long to send a private message. Two or three of these promptly responded to and both parties will have a better idea of whether they would be a good fit or not. Doesn't seem like time-wasting to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Denalihighway

I'm saying that you should post some samples of your music, so that people will know if it suits them or not before applying and potentially wasting your time. It works both ways - that's my point.

You want a guitar player to join your band, you lay down all these (mostly stupid) requirements; but you give no info on the actual band itself! The only info was that you're playing Oxegen and that you're "indie"! As if that's enough to have people grovelling for a slot when it actually means SFA - any self-respecting musician should be more concerned with the level of musicianship & song-writing ability in the band he or she is joining, as opposed to some irrelevant achievements & non-specifics. What sort of people are you trying to attract with that ad? Competent musicians, or someone who owns "some pedals" who just wants to play Oxegen so their mates can come along? If I'm joining a band the first thing I think is "what do they sound like?" - not - "oh, I wonder how many pedals I need to own to get in, and how many gigs they got lined up!"

If I was auditioning someone for a band, I'd want to give them equally as much info about ME as I would expect from them - it's a 2-way street and it's about respect. IMO, your advert comes across as arrogant:
    "Hey there - we're playing on a small stage at a festival, we're indie, we're amazing so I don't need to post any of our songs - just take my word for it. Oh, and you must own a tuner and "some" pedals to join - form an orderly queue".

way way OTT man. some people prefer to keep the band details private, it can be a distraction and drag the thread off topic - which you've already done a masterful job of single-handedly.

sometimes i wonder why anyone would post up here when this is the kind of tripe they have to put up with. Do everyone a favour, give constructive criticism or else p1ss off with your OTT negativity.

if someone is interested they get in touch with yer man, they listen to the tunes and then they decide if its for them. pretty bloody simple really. he's not dressing anything up and the ad didn't sound overly egotistical like you're making out

these boards are full of this negative sh*t constantly derailing threads. have a cup of tea or a ride or something, and chill out.

Okay guys - I admit I went OTT, and I apologise to the OP.

I do think that people should post samples of their band or music when they post an ad though. It saves everyone time.

Okay guys - I admit I went OTT, and I apologise to the OP.

I do think that people should post samples of their band or music when they post an ad though. It saves everyone time.

fair play.

i agree, when possible, its best to be able to hear music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

way way OTT man. some people prefer to keep the band details private, it can be a distraction and drag the thread off topic - which you've already done a masterful job of single-handedly.

sometimes i wonder why anyone would post up here when this is the kind of tripe they have to put up with. Do everyone a favour, give constructive criticism or else p1ss off with your OTT negativity.

if someone is interested they get in touch with yer man, they listen to the tunes and then they decide if its for them. pretty bloody simple really. he's not dressing anything up and the ad didn't sound overly egotistical like you're making out

these boards are full of this negative sh*t constantly derailing threads. have a cup of tea or a ride or something, and chill out.

+1, couldnt believe the nonsense your man was posting giving the OP grief over nothing.

Such negativity jesus christ. Yer man just wants people to get in touch with him if they are into indie and aren't blues guitarists, simple as that. And he can make all the 'demands' he wants as it is his ad. And he is under no obligation to post up his music. I can only imagine how much it would of a pain in the hole it would be to be in a band with this Forest Master guy.

Anyway good luck with your search OP, I have no interest in it myself as Im another blues guitarist hehe.

yeah in fairness he did apologise too, so we're all in love again here :)