Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crow and/or pigeon shooting...

• 10-05-2011 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭

Been out with my new (and first) gun, a Bettinsoli Nexus, at both traps and trying to shoot crows on my brother-in-law's land.

Now the traps I will get the hang of, but the crows thing is proving difficult, most probably because I am a city kid who occasionally lands himself in a big field of growing grass with a camo net, three crow decoys and 250 cartridges. Invariably I end up frustrated at the end of several hours, maybe having shot 3 or 4 crows. I do enjoy it a lot, sitting behind my net in the corner of the field, but I reckon I could do much better. So...

is there anybody out there who would think of bringing me along some time they're going shooting some crows so I can perhaps learn what to do. I am in Dublin, but could travel most anywhere within reason (I generally gravitate between Tipperary and Dublin). I have insurance and licence and all that. Happy to buy lunch, pints whatever in return for a bit of wisdom and knowledge.

Thanks in advance...

FdP.
    208700_10150559644790074_811955073_18516025_2263145_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

First off- sweet gun :cool:

Crows are funny creatures, dont really have flight patterns and dont usually stay around one or a couple of fields like pigeons.
    Ive noticed even with decoys or a caller crows dont come in hugh numbers unless they have a good reason to be there.

In spring and even still at start of the Summer they congregate around newly seeded fields. Your best bet is spin around (if you drive) look for crows in fields and call into farmers yards and ask him for permissions and do vermin control for him, more so greycrows and magpies then actual normal; crows..

Give it a few weeks and barley will be up, then you'll have some sport and wont want to know what a crow is.. lol

Happy shooting with the lovely gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭fulladapipes

Hunter21,

Funny that - I went looking for flight paths, but although they were definitely crossing left to right and right to left, where they crossed the field was pretty random. So I reckon your theory holds true in the big fields of Tipperary.

"...(if you drive)..." - when I said I was a 'city kid', I meant I was a 39 year-old city kid...driving not a problem! So, I'll take your advice and see what the neighbouring farmers want done in a few weeks.

Thanks for a very helpful reply. I'll post pics of my results in due course.

FdP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Make sure you're well camo'd cos crows,especially greys,are crafty,cagey and will leg it if they get any notion that you're there. If you want to really nail them good,get into position well before dusk and keep your shells handy,and plentiful! Good luck and Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

is there anybody out there who would think of bringing me along some time they're going shooting some crows so I can perhaps learn what to do. I am in Dublin, but could travel most anywhere within reason

PM sent

Longranger,

Yep, noticed that as soon as they see a hint of white face, they turn a head a different direction. Have a mishmash of camo gear which I wear and if I keep still it seems to work a bit.

When you say get into position, I tend to build a three-sided bit of a hide with a field gate and a couple of poles and a camo net in the corner of the field. What do you do? Build a hide? Hide in a ditch (I've done that too), or build a hide in the middle of the field?

Thanks for the reply. In spite of the lack of results, I am enjoying it !

FdP.
    226854_10150585438850074_811955073_18857074_5794354_n.jpg

205678_10150559645175074_811955073_18516029_5121044_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Longranger,

Yep, noticed that as soon as they see a hint of white face, they turn a head a different direction. Have a mishmash of camo gear which I wear and if I keep still it seems to work a bit.

When you say get into position, I tend to build a three-sided bit of a hide with a field gate and a couple of poles and a camo net in the corner of the field. What do you do? Build a hide? Hide in a ditch (I've done that too), or build a hide in the middle of the field?

Thanks for the reply. In spite of the lack of results, I am enjoying it !

FdP.

205678_10150559645175074_811955073_18516029_5121044_n.jpg

Sorry I'm havin pooter trouble so I can't see the images but anyway,I've tried hides and shelters but the best I've found is a ghillie suit with a mesh face mask(I know it sounds stupid) and it works perfectly. I got it from armysurplusorg in the UK. I've had dozens of crows at a time while wearing it,a third of that without it! I know you're a on the east side of the country but if you're ever around Westport give me a PM and we'll have a bit of craic. Happy hunting:)

You know I was in Westport last week on my way back from a bit of shooting in Belmullet of all places. Anyway, I will do. Thanks for the offer.

I have a facemask which I wear, but not the suit. But I know what you mean: last time out I didn't bother with the camo net, but tried to blend into the ditch and trees behind it with my camo clothes and facemask and that worked as well as anything so far.

Will talk to you when I'm down your way again.

FdP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭thekevin4540

find out were thay are roosting and sit in under some trees and you should have some good shooting or when i go pigeon shooting we use a old well in the middle of a feild and pigeons and crows come in to pigeon decoys if you stay still and the only camo we were wearing was a camo jackit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

silage will be cut down here in the next two or three weeks,great action then with the crows,had the young lad with me one day last year and we bagged just over the 50 mark and even though he was like a jack in the box up and down constant,im in the thurles area if ya want pm me

Hunterpajero,

The field I am shooting in is growing grass as is the one next to it, should they should be cut in due course. I'll be ready...

Will pm you as soon as I find out how to do it.

FdP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭J.R.

Hunterpajero,

The field I am shooting in is growing grass as is the one next to it, should they should be cut in due course. I'll be ready...

Will pm you as soon as I find out how to do it.

FdP.

fulladapipes,

just a word of advice:

you can only shoot crows (rooks, jackdaws, magpie & greycrow) if they are causing damage or likely to cause damage........rooks & jackdaws landing in a cut silage field would not be considered causing damage to crops.

When the crops mature in early/mid July & crows attack the crops ripening then you can shoot away to your hearts content.

Early morning is the best time to decoy crows.

Actually, I had read something about that. Good point. The brother-in-law just said go and shoot the lot of them. He also has cattle and sheep so he might have been thinking of that too.

Thanks for the heads up.

FdP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

Actually, I had read something about that. Good point. The brother-in-law just said go and shoot the lot of them. He also has cattle and sheep so he might have been thinking of that too.

Thanks for the heads up.

FdP.

in that case you could be shooting them to stop them eating the livestocks food:D

beautiful gun BTW.

johnner1 wrote: »
    in that case you could be shooting them to stop them eating the livestocks food:D

beautiful gun BTW.

Thanks - the gun is actually not too bad at all for a budget job. Nice timber on it.

FdP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

J.R. wrote: »
    fulladapipes,

just a word of advice:

you can only shoot crows (rooks, jackdaws, magpie & greycrow) if they are causing damage or likely to cause damage........rooks & jackdaws landing in a cut silage field would not be considered causing damage to crops.

When the crops mature in early/mid July & crows attack the crops ripening then you can shoot away to your hearts content.

Early morning is the best time to decoy crows.

what about the grass thats left around the edges of the field once its cut i could say that we are shooting the crows to protect that;),crows feed all day if you ask me anytime of day they can be shot,once its not a scorcher outside,anyone shooting stubbles will agree on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭J.R.

what about the grass thats left around the edges of the field once its cut i could say that we are shooting the crows to protect that;),crows feed all day if you ask me anytime of day they can be shot,once its not a scorcher outside,anyone shooting stubbles will agree on that.

Hunterpajero,

Even if the grass around the edge of the field (headland) is still standing beside the hedge and crows were feeding there I wouldn't like to try and argue the point that grass was a crop and you were protecting the grass from the crows.

When feeding on the headland or indeed a cut silage field the crows are not eating the grass...they are searching for worms, slugs, insects, frogs, etc.....they do not harm or interfer with the grass......therefore no case there in claiming you're protecting the crop. (this is only my personal opinion!)

If there were tillage crops nearby being attacked then the cut silage field could be used to decoy the crows in from the tillage crops being attacked & you'd be within your rights shooting them then.

If there is livestock nearby & the landowner feeds them nuts etc. which are being robbed by crows, or crows droppings are destroying the nuts, then they can be shot, with landowners permission, as they are causing damage.

Don't get me wrong.......I think it's a crazy law......as far as I'm concerned crows are vermin that should be shot the whole year round.....city here in Dublin is infested with magpies & jackdaws which has to affect songbird numbers......but saying that 'ignorance of the law' is no excuse if challenged by a member of the Gardaí or a N.P.W.S. ranger.

You're right...crows do feed all day.......but the best time for decoying is first thing in the morning when hungry. They don't seem to be as wary then. They continue to feed throughout the day, but as they day goes on I find they become more cautious & wary......makes them that much harder to decoy then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Slightly off topic but has anyone ever come across a N.P.W.S ranger in the field? And what was the experience like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Barrett12

Fulladapipes,
    Where did you go shooting in belmullet

Barrett12, I couldn't really tell you as I went with a friend who lives near Ballyglass and he just brought me all sorts of mad places. Super place, great pubs. Great lifeboat.