Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Montessori teacher smoking hash

• 10-05-2011 10:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I'm in a bit of a predicament.

I know a girl who is a Montessori teacher who is constantly smoking hash. She obviously doesn't do it during working hours but I would assume it would still be in her system when she is in work.

(This isn't back hand evidence. I've seen her with my own eyes, on more than one occasion. I also picked up the butts to make sure it was hash and it is.)

I'm worried for the kids she's teaching.

My friends kids are in this Montessori. I'm worried for my friends kids and the other kids she teaches.

Should I tell my friend? Should I tell the school?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

She obviously doesn't do it during working hours but I would assume it would still be in her system when she is in work.

You mean, the way alcohol would be in your system if you've had a few glasses of wine the night before....?
    Is she a good teacher? Has there ever been a complaint about her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm worried for the kids she's teaching.
    Why? If she does it outside of business hours and it doesn't affect her teaching quality, then why is it an issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Johnny Favourite

This is a non issue. Mind your own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I know a girl who is a Montessori teacher who is constantly smoking hash.

I've seen her with my own eyes, on more than one occasion.

'Constantly' does not mean 'more than one time'.

When did you see her smoke it? At a party? On a weekend perhaps?

You don't know for a fact that she even smokes every evening, do you?

Unless she's stoned at work I don't see how it affects her job at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    'Constantly' does not mean 'more than one time'.

When did you see her smoke it? At a party? On a weekend perhaps?

You don't know for a fact that she even smokes every evening, do you?

Unless she's stoned at work I don't see how it affects her job at all.

She is my next door neighbour. She smokes it out the back EVERY night.

That's fine though. I don't smoke hash so I don't know how it would effect her during work. I was just concerned.

I will mind my own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't smoke hash so I don't know how it would effect her during work. I was just concerned.
    It would about as detrimental to her work as having a glass of wine with her dinner :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

She is my next door neighbour. She smokes it out the back EVERY night.

There was a period of time, maybe 10 years ago, when I used to have a couple of smokes on a nightly basis.
    It did not effect my home or work life.
    In fact, were I to have a few drinks a night, that would effect me an awful lot more the next day.
    IMO, the effects of alcohol strongly out weigh the effects of grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

None issue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Holy Jaysus...do people who think like that still exist? I would have taught they died out a few generations ago.

Smoking a spliff at night time will have zero effect on working the next day.
    As has been said before, a few glasses of wine would be way more harmful.

OP you need to:

1) Cop on
    2) Grow up
    3) Mind your own business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

Don't be a busy-body. Many people smoke hash, especially teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

If she smoked less than 2 hours before work or something I'd be concerned. Otherwise it's her life, let her do what she wants. Some are happy to waste their evenings getting high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭emilyjmc

Unless she is stoned in work or it is affecting her concentration at work then I would advise you to stay well out of it. If she is stoned in work or not doing her job properly then I would expect her employer to deal with it. If you get involved the chances are you will only bring trouble on yourself as it would probably get back to the girl that you were talking about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

If she drank a bottle of wine or a few cans every night nobody would bat an eyelid. She's smoking hash after work, not in the mornings before she goes in or at work. I don't see it as a problem. However, if she were getting plastered drunk every night and engaged in anti-social behaviour as result she'd be a problem.

In my opinion alcohol can be a far worse drug than hash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

The only problem I see is that working in any environment with children requires garda vetting so as long as she can keep her record clean it shouldn't be a problem. I worked in social care for a number of years and smoked occasionally and eventually just put it to one side as the stress of getting busted would have ended my career. (the stress of the job took over and I quit that too eventually)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭paddy0090

Drugs affect people differently, I gave up the weed because over a period of time I found the stoneover from a few spliffs left me worse off in the morning than 6 cans. But then I wouyldn't drink six cans every night. It really depends on who you are. Statistically people who smoke weed are more likely to me middle to upper middle class people with stable jobs. It's no more a ghetto drug than alcohol.

As long as her work is sound you aint got no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭iheartthailand

Holy Jaysus...do people who think like that still exist? I would have taught they died out a few generations ago.

Smoking a spliff at night time will have zero effect on working the next day.
    As has been said before, a few glasses of wine would be way more harmful.

OP you need to:

1) Cop on
    2) Grow up
    3) Mind your own business

just because you are aware of the effects (or non effects) of weed, doesnt mean everyone is. just because the OP has probably never smoked weed and is concerned for the children because, what she sees is a teacher smoking an illegal drug, does NOT mean he/she has to "cop on" or "grow up". i would say to anyone telling the OP that to grow up themselves. she is just here looking for advice, not to hear about what an expert on weed you think everyone should be.

OP, as long as the teacher is not stoned whilst teaching i see no problem. i would keep my nose out of this one, it could mean a lot of trouble for you and what is probably a well capable teacher.

OP, the stigma associated with Cannabis/Marijuana/hash is completely false. It has been medically proven that smoking tobacco or drinking alcohol is actually a lot worse for one's system than cannabis (seriously look into it). The amount of deaths due to smoking cannabis each year is near (if not) zero in Ireland and in most other countries in the world including places like Holland (where it is legal) or British Columbia (where there's very light enforcement).

Also, the use of cannabis is as much a gateway drug to harder drugs as having sex is a gateway to rape or playing violent video games is gateway to murder. To be honest, I'd be more worried if the individual was a casual tobacco smoker or drinker.

You might ask, why is it illegal then? There are many reasons, the least being that it in anyway harmful. I advise watching the following documentary, entitled "The Union" to find out exactly why it is illegal. It's mainly due to the vested interests between governments and big businesses.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-9077214414651731007#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

Non issue. If it was alcohol would you still be so "worried"? Its her business and will not effect the kids unless she is smoking on the job. Mind your own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

The OP has already come back and said they are going to mind their own business. Fair play, OP, for being concerned about the welfare of these children, and fair play just as much for taking on board everyone's advice and acknowledging that the smoking isn't a problem for her or the kids.

Fair play Op, legitimate concerns and a mature response after hearing what people had to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Op is being over the top, why don't you complain about every single teacher in all of ireland for drinking in their down time too. OP needs to cop on.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,917 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Hiya OP, are you sure it's hash?!

I only ask because I haven't a clue.. I really really haven't a clue. People talk about the "smell" of it.. I couldn't tell you. And I woudn't know the difference between a "rolly" and a joint!

I used to think anyone rolling a cigarette in their Rizla paper was making a joint!

Now maybe you know more about it than I do, so fair enough. But honestly.. I wouldn't have a clue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

I also picked up the butts to make sure it was hash and it is.

I wouldnt go into your neighbour's garden and pick up her smoke butts again either, if she spots you she might start thinking you're weird.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

just because you are aware of the effects (or non effects) of weed, doesnt mean everyone is. just because the OP has probably never smoked weed and is concerned for the children because, what she sees is a teacher smoking an illegal drug, does NOT mean he/she has to "cop on" or "grow up". i would say to anyone telling the OP that to grow up themselves. she is just here looking for advice, not to hear about what an expert on weed you think everyone should be.

OP, as long as the teacher is not stoned whilst teaching i see no problem. i would keep my nose out of this one, it could mean a lot of trouble for you and what is probably a well capable teacher.

OK, maybe not grow up, instead perhaps educate herself. Research into how cannabis and alcohol affect the human body and the ill effects they have, which one does more harm than the other.

Also maybe learn about respecting the private lives of others and the importance of allowing people to live their own lives the way they want without fear of others attempting to interfere for no reason whatsoever.

At least the OP came here for advice and took it on board, which is more than I could say for many Irish people who think smoking Cannabis is a 'disgrace'.

There's a difference between weed and hash though.