Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blackwater 10k, Monaghan 15/5/2011

• 10-05-2011 7:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭

Last years thread
    Race website

Anybody doing the Blackwater 10k on Sunday in Rossmore Park in Monaghan?

This is the 4th year of the event which is mostly run in Rossmore Forest Park on trails. We had about 1000 participants last year, and hope for even more this year. Entries will be taken either on Satuday from 10-4 in Monaghan Shopping Centre, or on Sunday morning at Monaghan United Football Grounds from 9am onwards.

Chip timing, accurate course, water stations, pre and post event massage with Goodie bag and Souvenir Mug to all participants. There is also a 4k fun run for juveniles.

Post race tea, coffee and cake (couldn't complete with Le Cheile!).

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 1 vote

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    100%
    ThePiedPiper 1 vote
    3 stars (average)
    0%
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

4 stars (good)
    Yep Domer, I'll be there. I haven't ran this event since 2008 which I think was the first year of it. It was a very well organised and fun event that day so I'm sure we can expect more of the same again. Looking forward to it. Hopefully the rain won't make the off road section in Rossmore too mucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭aficionado

I'll be there Domer, First time doing it so looking forward to it,
    Is there a route map available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I did it in 2009, it's a good race, very well run and I'm sure now that they've had more time to run the event and added the chip timing that it will be even better.

I won't be doing it this year though as I've sined up for one in Sligo on the same day.

Just back from this,
    Really enjoyed it, Nice course plenty of variety and a new PB for me :)
    Well done to the organizers

4 stars (good)
    Very good event yesterday. The wet and windy conditions didn't put a dampener on the atmosphere in Monaghan. I don't know how many people were there but I'd say well over 1,000. The mid section of the course is challenging through Rossmore park but is very scenic and well sheletered. There were loads of volunteers, 4 drinks stations I think, and endless amounts of cake, brown bread and bananas with the tea and coffee in Gortakeegan afterwards.

Overall, a vey enjoyable day out and a really good, challenging race.

4 stars (good)
    Are the results online yet Domer?

Just seen this on the site
    "Unfortunately, the results did not record correctly onto the timing box USB Memory system. After discussing the issue with the manufacturers of the equipment it appears some dirt may gave gotten between the connections on the USB stick preventing a correct recording at the finish.

There was no way to know this at the time, as the equipment appeared to be operating correctly.

Very disappointed to hear this, Was there any hard copy taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Domer

The organising committee are also very disappointed by the inability of the chip company to provide the results to us. In previous years we have used a manual system which we ran ourselves in order to keep cost down. This resulted in a small amount of human errors relating to data entry and typos, so this year we agreed to move to what we considered a more reliable and accurate method of recording results. The company did not have any backup or any system of recovery, they basically told us after the event that they were having difficulty reading the data and would need to talk to the manufacturers on Monday. On Monday they informed us that the system had failed to record ANY chip data, and that they could not provide any results.

This development has left the committee embarrassed and stunned, but unfurtunately there is nothing we can do. We are obviously not paying for the service, so it is a positive for the associated charities who will get the money instead.

On behalf of the committee, we appologies for the unfortunate outcome. When you contract a company to delivery a service, you expect them to do just that. We will know better for next year and will either revert to our manual system, or if using a chip system to ensure that there is a paper backup, or even a video camera running at the finish line.

I hope that this does tarnish you opinion of the event or the great efforts put in by the committe, and that we will see you there next year.

Brian (Domer)

We are obviously not paying for the service, so it is a positive for the associated charities who will get the money instead.

that's good to hear anyway!
    Will deft be back next year for it, exciting race and course, Are any photos up yet?

4 stars (good)
    Domer,

Fair play to you for coming on here to explain the situation and issue the apology, and also for the speed with which it was also issued on the website. It is a bit disappointing not to see the official placings but at the end of the day, most runners are only racing against themselves and know their own times. Every other aspect of the event was very well organised.

I'd imagine there'll not be a huge number of people that will ignore the event in future because of this issue. I, for one, am sure I'll be back again.

Well done again on a good event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

Hi Dormer,

I ran in your event last Sunday to support two of my friends who ran their first ever 10k and I have to say that we were all very happy with the event. It was a really nice track to run.

The lads were delighted with their new 10k pb's and I'd have to say, the whole event right from registration to finish couldn't have been run any better. There were so many smiles to be seen at the finish line too - I think thats a fitting tribute to all of your hard efforts.

It's a shame that the results cannot be recovered and its totally unprofessional of the timing company - they should have had this covered, thats their responsibility.

To be honest I think people will understand its completely out of your control and I'm sure you will have lost no genuine running enthusiasts for next years event.

We three will be back for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

By the way - there were leaflets handed out at the end of the race advertising a 10 mile race on 24th July in Monaghan. No other info whatsoever on the page.

Would you have any more info on this?

Cheers.

The 10 miler is still in the planning phase. It will be organised by Monaghan Phoenix and will take place in and around Monaghan Town. When we have more information, I will post it on boards.

Thanks for you comments earlier... Much appreciated, and looking forward to 2012 already.

Photos have been posted on the Monaghan Sports Partnership face book page. I think this link should take you there, but if not, just search for them on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/media/set/?set=a.162528517144042.42462.100001606834264

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Would love to see a 10 miler organised in Monaghan, there is not many of them in the north east area.