Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

travellers shot in France

• 09-05-2011 11:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭

Cant see a thread on this anywhere else here.
    I saw the papers earlier for sale at the traffic lights saying two Irish people murdered in France.

Before I got too far I began to suspect they were travellers and the article did reveal they were.

Looks like they crossed the wrong people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Padraig Nally holidays in France?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

nah it was johnny connors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Blackie Connors was quite a character is has to be said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

French police believe two men who were shot dead and dumped near the southern town of Perpignan last November may have been an Irish father and son.

Gardaí have been asked to assist in identifying the bodies which were found on November 25th, when a local farmer and a hunter separately found the corpses wrapped in oriental rugs, 3km apart, near the villages of Millas and Corneilla-la-Rivière.

Both had been shot in the head, but local police say the murder scene has not been identified.

DNA tests confirmed the men were father and son, but despite an extensive investigation involving Interpol and a dedicated unit based in Montpellier, police have been unable to confirm the victims' identities.

The father is described as between 50 and 60 years old, balding and about 1.71m in height, while the son was 35-40 years, 1.79m tall, with red hair that appeared to have been dyed chestnut brown.

French officers contacted Gardaí in recent days after a staff member at a local camp site suggested the two men may have stayed there last summer.

"An individual who works on a camp site believes that in June 2010, she received 50 Irish people who belonged to a group of bitumeurs irlandais," the officer leading the investigation told The Irish Times .

"She thinks she recognises the father and son as having been part of that group of 50 people."

Bitumeurs is a term given to groups of travelling scammers who offer to re-lay the tarmac on private driveways but produce a mix so thin that it quickly deteriorates.

Police initially believed the father and son - known to police as X and Y for the past five months - may have been French, but no matches could be found in the national missing persons database.

The men's clothes appear to have originated in Germany, but inquiries there yielded no leads, while a link to the case of two men who disappeared in Sicily in 2007 was quickly ruled out.

Investigating officers believe the bodies were brought to the patch of wasteland and the field where they were found near Millas, but have not yet identified the scene of the killings. Millas is a small town of almost 4,000 inhabitants not far from the Spanish border.

Asked if police suspect the men may have been based around Millas for some time, the officer said: "No. I think they were simply dumped [there]… We're not even in a position to say whether they were killed in France or abroad."

"We have been working constantly with Interpol and Europol but so far the DNA and fingerprint searches have not turned up anything."

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0509/breaking56.html

Shot in the head, wrapped up and dumped, sounds almost gangland or a feud.
    Travelers in a feud?? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Seems the French police are aware of their scamming ways, I kinda doubt it was a local Patrick Nally, they released photos (unless they are some kind of photo fit based on the remains) but they said they were shot in the head, I dont really think a local would shoot someone in the head, so sounds like a criminal element (or a more criminal element)
    Edit Bitumeurs Irlandais

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

Merch wrote: »
    saying two Irish people murdered in France.

Before I got too far I began to suspect they were travellers and the article did reveal they were.

Of course they were travelling, they were Irish people in France.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Irish Wolf wrote: »

laying tarmac and living in caravans..

The article specified they MAY be from the Irish traveller community

edit

The article specified they were from the Irish traveller community

The artcile you quoted in your first post, or fact that you detailed in your thread title?

Nope, didn't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

He probably mistook them for a couple of Frogs.

The artcile you quoted in your first post, or fact that you detailed in your thread title?

Nope, didn't think so.

I started this thread as i didnt see it elsewhere on boards, what do you mean by
    "Nope dont think so" sounds snarky
    I was just getting a late snack as studying and read it while waiting on my order, it was in the Herald, I'm waiting to see developments as it did say they were Irish, maybe travellers, seems unlikely they'd go that route (the french police) unless they were at least suspicious they were, so why the snarkyness?

http://www.herald.ie/world-news/murdered-father-and-son-may-have-been-in-scam-gang-2641337.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

If they were travellers and they were shot dead then let's just say I'm not sad.

MOD NOTE
    jive is banned for this and other comments in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

bitumeurs irlandais
    "boys from the black stuff"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭blackalicious

jive wrote: »
    If they were travellers and they were shot dead then let's just say I'm not sad.
    ur a dick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

You are really sad?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0509/breaking56.html

Shot in the head, wrapped up and dumped, sounds almost gangland or a feud.
    Travelers in a feud?? :eek:

Sounds a bit one sided for a feud, oriental rugs? a traveller Triad feud??

ur a dick

no in my experience travellers are dicks.
    You are really sad?

I'm Ron Burgundy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Well, its pretty sad, that you hate travelers so much, that you felt the need to post that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

im having a good day :)

From what I've read over the last year, I'm suprised travellers havent come a cropper with European gangs before this

wes wrote: »
    Well, its pretty sad, that you hate travelers so much, that you felt the need to post that.

I am of the opinion that the less travellers the better. Many would agree with me.

Good citizen - no job, recession, struggling to survive

Traveller - no job, recession, brb new car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

RIP Who ever they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭haydar

Ah come on, nobody deserves to be shot in the head and dumped.

I started this thread as i didnt see it elsewhere on boards, what do you mean by
    "Nope dont think so" sounds snarky
    I was just getting a late snack as studying and read it while waiting on my order, it was in the Herald, I'm waiting to see developments as it did say they were Irish, maybe travellers, seems unlikely they'd go that route (the french police) unless they were at least suspicious they were, so why the snarkyness?

http://www.herald.ie/world-news/murdered-father-and-son-may-have-been-in-scam-gang-2641337.html

[snarky]

lol.. OMGOMG IDIDNTSEEITPOSTEDSOIGET2BNO!!!!1111!!!

[/snarky]

Please tell me you're not a journalism student.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I am of the opinion that the less travellers the better. Many would agree with me.

So, the less travelers the better? Really? The fact that there are people in this day and age, who will actually suggest such a horrible thing, is really sad, and the fact your post was actually thanked by another posters, who seems to think that 2 dead people, is the appropriate time to say how good a day there having. Attitudes like that have caused a lot of death and destruction, and its so sad, that you and other posters feel that way.

Unfortunately, there will always be those with irrational hatred, and there hatred always leads to the same place sadly.
    Good citizen - no job, recession, struggling to survive

Traveller - no job, recession, brb new car

So, 2 people are murdered, and you have decided to go off on a nonsensical Daily Mail style rant.

wes wrote: »
    So, the less travelers the better? Really? There are people in this day and age, who will actually suggest such a horrible thing. Attitudes like that have caused a lot of death and destruction, and its so sad, that you feel that way.

So, 2 people are murdered, and you have decided to go off on a nonsensical Daily Mail style rant.

It's not nonsensical it's true. Guards won't even go into halting sites so let's not pretend that traveller's are model citizens, the large majority of them are scumbags and just because they're dead doesn't make them angles - it makes them dead scumbags. Whether those 2 were scumbags are not I don't know, but given that they're travellers it's safe to assume that they were especially given the nature of their death. It's very rare that you are shot in the head and disposed of without actually doing anything - possible, but unlikely. Especially unlikely in the case of travellers because they are known, for the most part, to be scumbags.

Yes as far as I'm concerned the less travellers the better. Given my experiences with local travellers ('local travellers' - bit of an oxymoron but not in this day and age because they don't even ****ing travel) they are the scum of the earth. The only thing I've seen travellers do is rob, fight and annoy. I've seen it first hand and I've read worse in the local papers.

You can sing travellers praises but I won't. They hunt in packs and do no good, so as far as I'm concerned every halting site in the country should be burnt to the ground. If they start abiding by the law and actually working then fair play to them and I'll change my tune - but that won't happen. For the most part they are under educated and any of them who were in my school were absolute gob****es and left after junior cert anyway. Off to live the life of crime but never to serve any punishment because they are above the law in this country.

That is my opinion, feel free to scrutinize it. I'm afraid I won't be able to respond or Mickey Dolenz will ban me because I'm not allowed to defend my position. Work away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭haydar

Lets free up the prisons and just shoot all the thieves and scumbags. We'll start a selective society and kill the crap babys at birth as well. Get a grip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The only thing I've seen travellers do is rob, fight and annoy.

Yes but that hardly deserves a bullet in the head and get dumped somewhere in rural France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

It's not nonsensical it's true. Guards won't even go into halting sites so let's not pretend that traveller's are model citizens, the large majority of them are scumbags and just because they're dead doesn't make them angles - it makes them dead scumbags. Whether those 2 were scumbags are not I don't know, but given that they're travellers it's safe to assume that they were especially given the nature of their death. It's very rare that you are shot in the head and disposed of without actually doing anything - possible, but unlikely. Especially unlikely in the case of travellers because they are known, for the most part, to be scumbags.

Yes as far as I'm concerned the less travellers the better. Given my experiences with local travellers ('local travellers' - bit of an oxymoron but not in this day and age because they don't even ****ing travel) they are the scum of the earth. The only thing I've seen travellers do is rob, fight and annoy. I've seen it first hand and I've read worse in the local papers.

You can sing travellers praises but I won't. They hunt in packs and do no good, so as far as I'm concerned every halting site in the country should be burnt to the ground. If they start abiding by the law and actually working then fair play to them and I'll change my tune - but that won't happen. For the most part they are under educated and any of them who were in my school were absolute gob****es and left after junior cert anyway. Off to live the life of crime but never to serve any punishment because they are above the law in this country.

That is my opinion, feel free to scrutinize it. I'm afraid I won't be able to respond or Mickey Dolenz will ban me because I'm not allowed to defend my position. Work away.

Why not walk into your local halting site and express your views like a man face to face? 'Cause you will get the bollocks kicked off you that's why. Bring fat ass with you. I'm sure all of the other boards traveller haters will back ye in spirit from behind the safety of their monitors. Best of luck my valiant friends and bring your weapons (keyboards) with you just in case.

Two Irish people dead ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Cant see a thread on this anywhere else here.
    I saw the papers earlier for sale at the traffic lights saying two Irish people murdered in France.

Looks like they crossed the wrong people

Another traveller bashing thread!
    The article specified they MAY be from the Irish traveller community

edit

MAY, ok.

They hunt in packs and do no good, so as far as I'm concerned every halting site in the country should be burnt to the ground.

jive banned for racism and inciting violence.

Taken from the AHs Charter.
    Zero tolerance will be shown to posts containing racism or discrimination. This includes the travelling community. Please do not use this forum to incite hatred.