Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cctv

• 09-05-2011 11:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭

I was having this conversation with some friends the other day...

I always feel uneasy in cities like London were you are being constantly monitored.

Dublin has its share of CCTV too, so I am wondering if people feel these devices are invading their privacy or protecting people.

I get the impression sometimes that we are beginning to suspect everyone just to catch the criminals and I find it worrying.

How do you feel about being watched? 17 votes

DOWN WITH BIG BROTHER!
    0% 0 votes
    A necessary tool for fighting crime
    100% 17 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

i hate being monitered too it makes it really hard to rob people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭maddogcollins

If you do nothing wrong you wont feel uneasy.

Protecting people in general I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Way I see it, If you are doing nothing wrong, you have nothing to be worried about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

doesn't bother me, i am a ninja.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

smokedeels wrote: »
    I get the impression sometimes that we are beginning to suspect everyone just to catch the criminals and I find it worrying.

There's plenty of evidence to suggest CCTV does little to reduce crime
    at all, so one wonders why they continue to throw lots of money at such schemes.

And for those who say it helps identify criminals...http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/news/article-23412867-tens-of-thousands-of-cctv-cameras-yet-80-of-crime-unsolved.do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

irish-stew wrote: »
    Way I see it, If you are doing nothing wrong, you have nothing to be worried about.

Unless of course the money being spent on ineffective CCTV systems that are neither helping to reduce crime or lead to stronger convictions would be better spent in other area's.

In which case you should probably worry about that.

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

I actually heard that there are security cameras pointing on the larger intersection at Abbey St that feeds directly onto the web! That's quite scary that you are being filmed without your permission!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Watching crimeline even some of the banks have terrible quality black and white recordings, it's pretty unwatchable

You'd think by now, high quality recordings could be made with no time lapse at affordable prices

A market there possibly for someone who wants to sell and install them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

What exactly are they going to do if they watch me? I don't do anything particulary exciting.

Unless I wind up in a situation like Will Smith in Enemy Of The State and get chased by shady looking characters :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

it should not be used as a first resort. i hated the constant feeling of being watched in the UK, and yes i had nothing to hide. but on my street there have been several burglaries, arsons and thefts so i would like some cctv installed.

the UKs over use of it is rediculous but i wouldnt rule it out completely

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Unless of course the money being spent on ineffective CCTV systems that are neither helping to reduce crime or lead to stronger convictions would be better spent in other area's.

In which case you should probably worry about that.
    We have spent maybe hundreds of millions of Punts/Euros so far over the years and crime is still rife and increasing in some areas, so the argument that we are possibly only wasting money (for maybe trying out CCTV cameras in order to make headway against crime) fails with me!
    We have to try new ways are they appear on our horizon and if your doing nothing wrong in a shop or walking down a street, watching bodies will adopt an attitude and practice of "carrying on ...there's nothing here to see".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I always worry that they're constantly filming my bad side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Having seen the inside of the cctv display room the guy might as well be standing on top of a building watching the crowd. They're looking at thousands of people, the computers pick up convicted criminals, they just keep an eye out for trouble and tell police in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

No, I don't feel they're invading my privacy as no one has installed any in my home but I also don't think they are all that good at preventing crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Wheelie King

I don't see the problem tbh once it's used to catch real crooks like the top ranking bankers and those working in leinster house and not just the average shoplifter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

CCTV is a con by politicans into making people think they are actually doing something about crime.

The money would be far better spent on policing on the ground.

Stats prove it merely pushes crime from one area to another.

If people are not bothered about it, would they like the state to install CCTV in their house to ensure their kids are ok? After all, there's nothing to hide....

Zebra3 wrote: »
    CCTV is a con by politicans into making people think they are actually doing something about crime.
    First of all the politicians are not actually controlling the cameras on a day to day basis. They are controlled hands-on by trained Gardi staff and trained and tested staff at that. I know this because I have met the people, been in the CCTV rooms and have seen them in use at various times from the control rooms.

Secondly,
    "The money would be far better spent on policing on the ground."
    There is a modicum of truth in that statement but (a) the politicians are playing politicking football with staff and statistics and (b) in the last few years where Gardi are on foot patrols the rates of crime elsewhere I suspect is just as high and also then we get the dirt thrown that "they are not responding quick enough! Well how can they when you bloody wanted some of them on foot and others are busy elsewhere in the very few cars the politicians are allowing them to have!
    The girls and boys can't win with some people who can't see further than an easy target and not aiming for the right one!

Thirdly,
    ...Stats prove it merely pushes crime from one area to another.
    Again there is a modicum of truth here. That don't take away from the crime still existing in one place or another - but what it does do, is maybe also move crime away from higher crime areas into areas where their antics might not be tolerated or make as easy to get away with also?
    ..If people are not bothered about it, would they like the state to install CCTV in their house to ensure their kids are ok? After all, there's nothing to hide....
    The CCTV cameras (the many that I have seen from the Gardi stations) DO NOT look into peoples homes nor have that ability in direction! Every one I have seen has been focused on main streets, roads, junctions and pedestrian public areas where groups tend to congregate - and those points are only particularly picked to focus on because they are usually trouble spots.
    So this stuff above invading peoples homes is hogwash and shows a lack of actual knowledge as to their use, lack of knowledge of those using them and how, where and why exactly they use them.

Long story short: Aim at the politicians first if you want crime lowered - and I don't mean giving out telling them that the Gardi are not doing enough.
    You should be giving out to the politicians that they are not supporting and funding the boys and girls enough!
    ...And in the meanwhile they should back the fcuk off and let them do their ruddy job without political interference and piss poor attempts at management for the sake of trying to win votes in a locals constituency!

O' and I have CCTV cameras all over my home (besides other security measures). Honestly.
    I get to see what they film/record and no one else besides the wife.
    (They are not accessible via an outside network system for the record.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭NomdePlume

I just think it's a shame that I can't ever vanish mysteriously, off into the sunset with a bindle over my shoulder and a tear in my eye.

The guards will be able to tell my family "We've got her on CCTV eating a bag of Monster Munch on the bus to Moate" etc. It's just not the same.

It's like Google Streetview - nobody can ever have a romantic idea of where I might live, now that they can just look me up and see all my auld bins outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

The money would be far better spent on policing on the ground.

Hmm...are you a politician?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I don't see the problem tbh once it's used to catch real crooks like the top ranking bankers and those working in leinster house and not just the average shoplifter.

What about rapists and armed robbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

If you're out in public then you can be filmed. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

The benefits far outweigh the cons. Although I'd say more garda visability on the streets would be a more effective deterrent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

In Ireland it's not too bad and the cameras are not overly invasive and they do help to prosecute criminals.

In the UK they have a much more nanny-ish way of going about it. The sheer amount of cameras in some places is unreal.. and sometimes they're hidden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

If people are not bothered about it, would they like the state to install CCTV in their house to ensure their kids are ok? After all, there's nothing to hide....

Just before Labour got fecked out of it in england that was actually a serious plan. I think it was aimed at certain troublesome parents and kids but feck before you know it we're all troublesome enough to need a camera installed in our houses.

Link: http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2009/08/britain-to-put-cctv-cameras-inside-private-homes/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

the weak, the gullible, the naive, the sheep all love the idea of cctv making them feel 'safe'

weak people, weak country

hatz7 wrote: »
    the weak, the gullible, the naive, the sheep all love the idea of cctv making them feel 'safe'

weak people, weak country

Weak post! Irony!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

CCTV has really helped in my estate,the local shops used to be the mecca for all the gougers in the area,they used to hang around there all night drinking,doing drugs,racing stolen cars and then burning them out,they even rammed a stolen car into the chinese takeaway one night after the owner had the gall to call the Gardai on them.

Since the Garda CCTV cameras went in a few years ago the place is quiet as a mouse at night,so I'm definitely glad to have them!