Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oh.. to be able to switch it off !

• 08-05-2011 2:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭

Sex drive that is. :D

Perpetually single early 30's bloke who's never had a long-term relationship with a girl.

Have never had a fulfilling sex-life with another person. Drives me nuts sometimes - the sheer frustration.

I know it is probably critical to the survival of the species for us men to be so loaded with desire but man, give me a break !!

I'm not a player/one-night stand merchant (not that there's anything wrong with that). I just don't have those skills. Yes, I've read PUA stuff but it didn't work out for me. I would like nothing more than a string of wanton harmless fun-filled one-nighters but I'll probably have to lose a couple of stone, get a new ward-robe, get some confidence with the ladies etc.

That is grand - my dry spell/drought is down to my own lack of skills/practice etc but STILL.... can I not please switch it off for a few months until I get in better shape !!:D

God - anyone else ever feel like this ??

It's feels like I'm being propelled by a blind train driver - so much so that sex/lack thereof is taking on way too much importance in my life. Like the drop of ink that discolours the whole jar of water. And I know that is REALLY unattractive to women - desperation - but my body IS yearning for some sensual human touch.

Don't know what else to say. An aspect of the human condition I suppose !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

Channel the sex drive into working out etc? If only for those few months when you're trying to get into shape? Though it may be easier said than done, like turning water into wine :)

Don't forget that despite the stereotype, some women will be more than up for some action early on in a relationship, without it being a one night stand situation. Ladies have needs too remember. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Fewcifur wrote: »
    Channel the sex drive into working out etc? If only for those few months when you're trying to get into shape? Though it may be easier said than done, like turning water into wine smile.gif

Don't forget that despite the stereotype, some women will be more than up for some action early on in a relationship, without it being a one night stand situation. Ladies have needs too remember. smile.gif

same advice really.focus your energies on working out/bettering yourself then the rest will probably will fall into place.if you feel good about yourself it will show in everthing you do and people will see this.

the mind is strong but the flesh is weak -the human condition:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I don't think you can ever switch it off. I can only echo what has been posted already and that is to use the energy and frustration to through yourself into work. It can be a great benefit. There have been times where I have worked myself to the limit in order to keep it from my mind. It doesn't really cleanse your urges though, it just gives you temporary relief. I don't think it gets better as you get older , if anything the more you get the worse it gets.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Why not try to get better at talking to girls and actually get yourself a girlfriend? Cause its not going to go away :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Soul Stretcher

True. Agree with you all.

I don't think I'm bad at talking to girls. I'm well able to shoot the breeze with them. The stumbling block is moving from chit-chat/flirting to actually "making the move".

I don't think I'm hideous but I'm no Brad Pitt either. I just don't see how a girl would be sexually attracted to me. That is perhaps my greatest wish - to feel desired by someone I find attractive.

And I find lots of girls/women attractive. You know when you see that pretty face, great cleavage, great bottom or whatever and your body/hormones immediately sit up and take notice. I can't for the life of me envision a woman looking at me and feeling those feelings.

That is the obstacle at the moment.

Sorry - didn't mean to turn this into a personal issue. I just wanted other Gent's views/experiences/solutions :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Hit the gym dude, you need to like yourself before the ladies like you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

True. Agree with you all.

I don't think I'm bad at talking to girls. I'm well able to shoot the breeze with them. The stumbling block is moving from chit-chat/flirting to actually "making the move".

I don't think I'm hideous but I'm no Brad Pitt either. I just don't see how a girl would be sexually attracted to me. That is perhaps my greatest wish - to feel desired by someone I find attractive.

And I find lots of girls/women attractive. You know when you see that pretty face, great cleavage, great bottom or whatever and your body/hormones immediately sit up and take notice. I can't for the life of me envision a woman looking at me and feeling those feelings.

That is the obstacle at the moment.

Sorry - didn't mean to turn this into a personal issue. I just wanted other Gent's views/experiences/solutions :)

Honestly, I don't think an awful lot of girls would be too hung up if a guy was slightly overweight. I don't think straight guys can ever realise what women see in other guys. I dont think you will ever come across many guys that look like Brad Pitt. Just look at any couple that you see walking down the street, the guy is usually not a chippendale hunk.

I think it just comes down to confidence and practice. Why not try on line dating in the mean time. You might not get a whole lot out of it initially, but you might get a few dates and you can use these to build your confidence as long as you realise that you don't necessarily need to get it right first time round or take it as a personal black mark on your character if it doesn't go any further. You never know you just might get lucky.

Sometimes I think it is just better not to over analyse things and just plough straight ahead. If you are meeting girls your own age around the 30 mark , I think they generally appreciate the whole package more and not just the outward veneer. It might seem like an unfair generalisation on younger women but it is what I have tended to see more and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Like others I heartily recommend using it to fuel some hard gym sessions, put some cheesy 80's rocky music on your music player, hit up the gym and crank out your own montage worthy workouts.

This will deplete your frustration and also get you into shape at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Mrmoe wrote: »
    Honestly, I don't think an awful lot of girls would be too hung up if a guy was slightly overweight. I don't think straight guys can ever realise what women see in other guys. I dont think you will ever come across many guys that look like Brad Pitt. Just look at any couple that you see walking down the street, the guy is usually not a chippendale hunk.

I think it just comes down to confidence and practice. Why not try on line dating in the mean time. You might not get a whole lot out of it initially, but you might get a few dates and you can use these to build your confidence as long as you realise that you don't necessarily need to get it right first time round or take it as a personal black mark on your character if it doesn't go any further. You never know you just might get lucky.

Sometimes I think it is just better not to over analyse things and just plough straight ahead. If you are meeting girls your own age around the 30 mark , I think they generally appreciate the whole package more and not just the outward veneer. It might seem like an unfair generalisation on younger women but it is what I have tended to see more and more.

Agreed, though it is a tad bit of a generalisation there, MrMoe, all women vary in their choices of guys regardless of age, but you've hit the nail about ploughing straight ahead. Rejection isnt nice, but everyone gets it at some stage in their lives and I really believe theres someone out there for everyone. Plus as for the Brad Pitt thing, can't say he ever did it for me really :D Most be the only one though!!! :D:D Best of luck

I actually have a wedding in the Autumn that I'm going to use as a target to lose 2/3 stone. I'm getting back into running and might do a half-marathon at the end of August - so that will help on the weight front.

But I remember when I used to go to the gym about 8/9/10 years ago and was about 3 stone lighter than I am now and then with no weight I was still useless at seduction ! :rolleyes: I'm not broadly-shouldered in my upperbody so I don't know if any amount of bench-pressing will give my that Alpha-Male appearance.

I would tend to be on MrMoe's side of it being all in the Mind. I do lack confidence in my attractiveness to women but that can be fixed by experience and practice. Not all women are Stunners either and I'm sure a lot of them have insecurities too. I'm not after Jessica Alba (necessarily :D) but just someone who rocks my boat and someone who's into me in the same way. That is all. As big or as small an ask as that.

MrMoe is right in that I may have entangled myself in a Net of over-analysis or even self-absorption. I think I should just do what I want to do. Someone asked a Daoist Master what the secret to life was and he said "Walk on". Wise word indeed !

Thanks to all :)

Best advice is drop all expectations of how your ideal woman should look and how you should look. Obviously sexual attraction is important, thats what makes the severe distance from being friends to lovers, but at the same time, start with a conversation and interests that you both share, and see where the chemistry takes you then. Most down to earth woman appreciate someone whose polite, geniune and good fun. But if you carry your insecurities and expectations on your sleeve, they'll see it a mile away. Just relax, smile and chat. You'll do fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

I actually have a wedding in the Autumn that I'm going to use as a target to lose 2/3 stone. I'm getting back into running and might do a half-marathon at the end of August - so that will help on the weight front.

Great plan, SS, it's good to have a focussed goal PLUS weddings are fúcking brilliant places to score women. ;) And I say that as a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Man you think your frustrated now wait till you get the fluck'd married!
    You meet a girl soon and it will be sex on tap but you wait till she walk's down the aisle! Get ready to have a right arm like arnie s!
    But my personal problems aside you sound like a really nice bloke and that romance thing will hit you like a ton of bricks when you least expect it........and the really funny part when she does suggest a cuddle, even though you wont admit it, you'll be at your happiest.
    And just on the weight thing we are never as big as we see ourselve's and when you meet somebody you like that shallow stuff does not matter a damn.
    Take care ss and keep us updated on the hunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭micayla

Great plan, SS, it's good to have a focussed goal PLUS weddings are fúcking brilliant places to score women. ;) And I say that as a woman.

Gotta say haven't found that as a single girl at any wedding I've been to:rolleyes:

OP, like the others have said try not to focus what you expect women to find attractive, you'd be surprised how many women don't rank good looks in their top 5 when it comes to the right guy! I have a few friends who were in your position and who hit the gym for a year and built up their self confidence so it can be done:) Best of luck with the running and the half marathon! And remember, when you're comfortable and happy with yourself others will be the same:)

micayla wrote: »
    Gotta say haven't found that as a single girl at any wedding I've been to:rolleyes:

I have very much found it to be the case myself. Why the rolleyes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭micayla

I have very much found it to be the case myself. Why the rolleyes?

The rolleyes wasn't at you but at the 'how easy it is to get picked up at a wedding' idea. I had so many people tell me, oh you'll get hit on so much, and I barely had anyone, besides the people I knew actually chat to me. But then it's like the 'it's so easy to get chatted up in Coppers' argument, been there loads and never been hit on :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

The rolleyes wasn't at you but at the 'how easy it is to get picked up at a wedding' idea. I had so many people tell me, oh you'll get hit on so much, and I barely had anyone, besides the people I knew actually chat to me. But then it's like the 'it's so easy to get chatted up in Coppers' argument, been there loads and never been hit on :pac:

i know of a guy going to a wedding in aug and you'd defo get hit on! *cough SS send her a pm cough*

Well, I guess we've just had different experiences. Weddings make single women a bit crazy sometimes (moi included) and men can exploit this their advantage! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Well, I guess we've just had different experiences. Weddings make single women a bit crazy sometimes (moi included) and men can exploit this their advantage! :pac:

Tsk Tsk how do we know it's not some poor young lad being led astray by womens and their wiles taking advantage of him. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

I love this part actually. The trick, I find, is their hair. Seriously. So, suppose you're sitting beside a girl and you've been chatting and flirting, and, you want to take things to the next level and get physical. What should you do? Find some way to comment on their hair (nicely) so that you can touch it, slowly. I know this sounds weird, but I'm dead serious. If you touch her hair in the midst of a flirting-style situation and she's okay with that, 95% of the time, you can kiss her within moments (and do not ask if you can kiss her...her body language should be confirmation enough). This has worked beautifully for me in the past. It completely removes the will-I-won't-I-type of uncertainty. If on the other hand she reacts uncomfortably to you touching her hair, then back off.

Dude. That's your problem right there - a lack of confidence. The trick is to be confident. It actually doesn't matter very much what you look like, as long as you're in reasonable shape, presentable, and can hold a conversation. The key with (most) women is not how you look, but how you make them feel. You often see average guys going out with stunning women. This is because those average guys are able to make those stunning women feel a certain way. You tease them, you bust on them, you should be cocky but not overbearing, and you should make them laugh. Don't try to please them; don't flatter them; and don't adopt a submissive role to show her how nice you are. It'll all fall into place for you if you become more confident. You're going to have to practice this of course, but that's fun.

Now, this advice won't work on all women (and some women here may even disagree with me), but it does work on most women in my experience.

Tremelo wrote: »
    I love this part actually. The trick, I find, is their hair. Seriously. So, suppose you're sitting beside a girl and you've been chatting and flirting, and, you want to take things to the next level and get physical. What should you do? Find some way to comment on their hair (nicely) so that you can touch it, slowly. I know this sounds weird, but I'm dead serious. If you touch her hair in the midst of a flirting-style situation and she's okay with that, 95% of the time, you can kiss her within moments (and do not ask if you can kiss her...her body language should be confirmation enough). This has worked beautifully for me in the past. It completely removes the will-I-won't-I-type of uncertainty. If on the other hand she reacts uncomfortably to you touching her hair, then back off.

Dude. That's your problem right there - a lack of confidence. The trick is to be confident. It actually doesn't matter very much what you look like, as long as you're in reasonable shape, presentable, and can hold a conversation. The key with (most) women is not how you look, but how you make them feel. You often see average guys going out with stunning women. This is because those average guys are able to make those stunning women feel a certain way. You tease them, you bust on them, you should be cocky but not overbearing, and you should make them laugh. Don't try to please them; don't flatter them; and don't adopt a submissive role to show her how nice you are. It'll all fall into place for you if you become more confident. You're going to have to practice this of course, but that's fun.

Now, this advice won't work on all women (and some women here may even disagree with me), but it does work on most women in my experience.

agree, and throw in "casual, and genuinely nice," and you have the correct formula for a successful conversation. Looks might start a relationship, but they certainly dont sustain one, personality plays the key role there. Get a bit of confidence now and you'll be amazed.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Alternatively, I've found that engrossing yourself in a marathon session of Civilization IV is a pretty effective way of distracting yourself from your sex-drive... and everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

scanlas, as per the charter, discussion/promotion of PUA stuff is not permitted here, so post deleted

You tease them, you bust on them, you should be cocky but not overbearing, and you should make them laugh. Don't try to please them; don't flatter them; and don't adopt a submissive role to show her how nice you are.

Don't overdo this stuff, TBH, it's very easy to come across as a cock acting like this. It's a fine line.

+1. It's all about practice, but also the personality of the girl must influence your actions to an extent. Once you're able to read her body language, this is a good guide with regard to how far you can push it. Personally, I'm not averse to throwing a few genuine compliments at a girl, but only after I've taken things with her to a certain point (e.g. after we've kissed).

sam34 wrote: »
    scanlas, as per the charter, discussion/promotion of PUA stuff is not permitted here, so post deleted
    Without wanting to risk incurring a ban hammer (but going to do it anyway), and not being able to re-check the post as it now no longer exists, was he not merely suggesting that the OP consider investigating 'PUA stuff', and not discussing methods or techniques as is disallowed by the charter?

And on that, surely Tremelo's post above falls under the category of PUA stuff. It may be entirely natural to Tremelo and learned by himself, but that is exactly what qualifies as a PUA method or technique.

Once you're able to read her body language, this is a good guide with regard to how far you can push it.

But why would you want to be able to push it far?
    Without wanting to risk incurring a ban hammer (but going to do it anyway), and not being able to re-check the post as it now no longer exists, was he not merely suggesting that the OP consider investigating 'PUA stuff', and not discussing methods or techniques as is disallowed by the charter?

Well mentioning it is promoting it, is it not?

A lot of that PUA stuff is cringeworthy.

And on that, surely Tremelo's post above falls under the category of PUA stuff. It may be entirely natural to Tremelo and learned by himself, but that is exactly what qualifies as a PUA method or technique.

I actually had to Google what the heck a PUA is! I learned all that myself btw, after plenty of trials and errors. The mods can delete my post if they wish. I'm certainly not a PUA though.

But why would you want to be able to push it far?

It's a figure of speech. Some women like more banter, some like less. It always depends on the context and multiple factors.

Well mentioning it is promoting it, is it not?
    Well, the charter doesn't say mentioning it is against the rules, only discussing the methods/techniques involved in it.
    A lot of that PUA stuff is cringeworthy.
    A lot of it certainly is. Still, there is useful material there too and it seems slightly incongruous to disallow mentions of it (but not really, as shown above) in a thread that's about a guy's inability to meet a suitable lady.
    I actually had to Google what the heck a PUA is! I learned all that myself btw, after plenty of trials and errors. The mods can delete my post if they wish. I'm certainly not a PUA though.
    Indeed and I made a point of saying that it was likely all your own. There's a lot of misconception about what 'PUA' is - basically a nerdy term for working on the social graces that we all possess to varying different degrees. Every person on the planet has at some point in his life done it, because all it really is, is the sharing of tips or knowledge on how one can make themselves more attractive to/successful with the desired sex. Whether it's simply a buddy telling you, 'go say hi, that girl on the other side of the room is probably just as shy as you', or whether it's a stranger from the internet giving you an absurdly more complicated version.

Well, the charter doesn't say mentioning it is against the rules, only discussing the methods/techniques involved in it.

Well, promoting it appears to be banned and mentioning it could be seen as promoting it, I guess.

OP, one thing I would say is: DON'T PUT WOMEN ON A PEDESTAL!!!

No woman, even if she's a knock-out, is better than you. She might be better-looking than you*, but that's all. So don't worship her, just chat to her normally.

*I have no idea what you look like, it's just a for instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

can we drop the PUA talk please.

and, as is usual on boards, if you have a problem with a post please report it rather than derailing the thread by discussing it there.

Apologies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

sam34 wrote: »

Have a read of the blog I posted, the guy actually disapproves of traditional PUA techniques. The blog is about personal development as well as success with women. The content in his blog is potentially life changing for the better. Is it ok to private mail the blog to the OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

PUA

Ok folks,just to flesh out why we have banned discussion/promotion of PUA techniques.

On the outside it looks like its just about having more confidence when approaching women,thats grand in theory however if you dig a little deeper,it most of it is incredibly narcissistic and essentially puts forward the idea that women are only there to serve the purpose of sexual gratification for men and they are there to be more or less tricked into bed.

As such,it does not fit the ethos nor spirit of the forum,no matter how "innocent" it may seem.

Scanlas,what you do in PM is your own business however any further mention of it in this or in any other threads for that matter may result in infractions or bans.

Hope that clears things up.

Regards,
    OD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I just wanted other Gent's views/experiences/solutions :)

It seems like you just need to boost your confidence with the opposite sex and the only suggestion I can think of is a total change of scenery. Get yourself away for a while and talk to different women in different environments. I can't think of anything worse then being stuck in a rut and having very limited options, so take the bull by the horns and expand your options and get yourself out there!

Best of luck!

Just back yesterday from a weekend away in England..

Myself and a friend were wandering around the city centre when we came across a gay bar that had a great vibe and cheap shots.. so we said feck it, we'll go in and have a look. Ended up having a pretty intensive snog with the sister of one of the regulars (we were both pretty drunk !) but still it felt SO good during and afterwards.. to feel desired by someone who I found attractive ! :D So yes I can do this !! :D

Gonna try Speed-dating in a couple of weeks - onwards and upwards !

Thanks to all for your advices and encouragement !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Just back yesterday from a weekend away in England..

Myself and a friend were wandering around the city centre when we came across a gay bar that had a great vibe and cheap shots.. so we said feck it, we'll go in and have a look. Ended up having a pretty intensive snog with the sister of one of the regulars (we were both pretty drunk !) but still it felt SO good during and afterwards.. to feel desired by someone who I found attractive ! :D So yes I can do this !! :D

Gonna try Speed-dating in a couple of weeks - onwards and upwards !

Thanks to all for your advices and encouragement !

Great steps!! :)

Oh, and it shows always be open. sh*t happens when you least expect it ;)

I guess thats just life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

I know some people may disagree but have you considered a good prostitute that does cuddling? It could help get rid of that sex drive feeling/physical contact need.

If that doesnt float your boat try a good masseuse, a massage can help you feel good about yourself and fulful the craving for sensual contact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭I_am_LOST

Have to say, as a woman, I disagree with almost everything you just said lol. Must be just me!!

But as you said, every woman is different. I'm just surprised it's worked on most women in your experience. The whole 'don't try to please them or flatter them' thing stands out. In my experience, flattery gets you a long way in life :D

I_am_LOST wrote: »
    The whole 'don't try to please them or flatter them' thing stands out. In my experience, flattery gets you a long way in life :D

I once heard that "flattery is the food of fools". I've borne it in mind ever since and try not to get too happy whenever anyone pays me a compliment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

I once heard that "flattery is the food of fools". I've borne it in mind ever since and try not to get too happy whenever anyone pays me a compliment :)
    The Irish are terrible at taking compliments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

But as you said, every woman is different. I'm just surprised it's worked on most women in your experience. The whole 'don't try to please them or flatter them' thing stands out. In my experience, flattery gets you a long way in life :D

But if you read his post again, he is flattering the women (such as comments about hair). But he is just being smart about it and not being overly fawning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Have to say, as a woman, I disagree with almost everything you just said lol. Must be just me!!

Flattery from someone you already fancy maybe. But for the normal man to whom the woman isn't already attracted flattery should be mixed in with pushing her away figuratively speaking.

I think this is why women tend to give bad advice to men. They give advice that could well work for a man she is already attracted to but doesn't work for a man she isn't attracted to. She pictures a man that she fancies already and imagines what he would have to do to pull her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

Sex drive that is. :D

Perpetually single early 30's bloke who's never had a long-term relationship with a girl.

Have never had a fulfilling sex-life with another person. Drives me nuts sometimes - the sheer frustration.

I know it is probably critical to the survival of the species for us men to be so loaded with desire but man, give me a break !!

I'm not a player/one-night stand merchant (not that there's anything wrong with that). I just don't have those skills. Yes, I've read PUA stuff but it didn't work out for me. I would like nothing more than a string of wanton harmless fun-filled one-nighters but I'll probably have to lose a couple of stone, get a new ward-robe, get some confidence with the ladies etc.

That is grand - my dry spell/drought is down to my own lack of skills/practice etc but STILL.... can I not please switch it off for a few months until I get in better shape !!:D

God - anyone else ever feel like this ??

It's feels like I'm being propelled by a blind one-eyed train driver - so much so that sex/lack thereof is taking on way too much importance in my life. Like the drop of ink that discolours the whole jar of water. And I know that is REALLY unattractive to women - desperation - but my body IS yearning for some sensual human touch.

FYP

Following on from Speed-dating, have a coffee date lined up for next weekend ! Onwards and upwards ! :D

Not sure who'd be interested in this apart from my good self.. but just maybe to show others there's hope for all ! haha :)