Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

leaving cert brings the worst out in people

• 07-05-2011 7:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

i was talking to my friend on saturday, and he asked me about a topic on the business course as he didnt understand it. i gave him the correct answer. after the class another lad came up 2 me and said i shouldnt of told him how to do the question as we were competing against one another. i was wondering to you think the leaving cert bring out the worst in people. has the amazing selfless nature of humanity been removed?. for the time being that is:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Yes, the leaving cert and the holocaust.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

It's never been human nature to be selfless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

i was talking to my friend on saturday, and he asked me about a topic on the business course as he didnt understand it. i gave him the correct answer. after the class another lad came up 2 me and said i shouldnt of told him how to do the question as we were competing against one another. i was wondering to you think the leaving cert bring out the worst in people. has the amazing selfless nature of humanity been removed?. for the time being that is:confused:

No the 2nd fella is just a dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

You need to weigh up whether you're time is better spent studying to make yourself more competitive, or going on a killing spree to remove the competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

That guy sounds like an assholé

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭mcw92

the guy sounds like one of them people who wants to be the best. he probably dosnt tell anyone the results he gets in tests either(not because they are bad tho)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

Trust me it's not just the leaving cert, that fella is a dick & he will continue to be a dick all the way through life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

You'll find people like this everywhere.

When my girlfriend was in college, she couldn't find an academic journal in the library and asked some other girl where it was. The girl said she knew but wouldn't tell her :mad: :(:confused:

Some people are just insane. If it's any consolation they're probably deeply unhappy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

another lad came up 2 me and said i shouldnt of told him how to do the question as we were competing against one another.

Your not competing against one and other, thats not the point of the LC at all. Its purpose is to get you to experience studying towards a goal, and to get you into a college, doing a course that will (maybe) become your vocation.

I'd ignore that lad - if he's studying hard, fair play to him, but his motivations are waaay off if he thinks he can only succeed if other people fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

I think examinations of any kind bring out the worst in people, and not just like your situation. At the moment, my two brothers, my sister, my mother and myself are all studying and the crankiness is unbelieveable. Stress can make you very unhappy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

Your not competing against one and other, thats not the point of the LC at all

It may not be the point of the Leaving Cert, but yes you are competing against each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Cian92 wrote: »
    It may not be the point of the Leaving Cert, but yes you are competing against each other.

Technically you might be competing with one another, but thousands of people taking the exam. It's no excuse for one person to be an p**ck to another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

the whole point of learning is to feckin learn. and that is done in many ways. asking people things is one of the biggies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

Lads its just human tendency to do something like.

Economic theories even explain this that people will always try to make themselves better of than someone else.

The 2nd guy in this case thinks he will do so by not telling the 1st guy the answer which is totally wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Leaving Cert fack off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

No it just brings the worst out in competitive arseholes who are also like that the whole way through college and their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Is there a prize for coming first? Is there a first?

Does competing not mean a winner? How do you win an exam?

Well not really.

If they both want exactly the same course, then yes they are kind of competing, although it's totally possible that they would both get a place.

If they're not looking for the same course, which is most likely, then it doesn't matter how each other does, their points are largely irrespective of each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Not really. Its not like the 2 lads are on a crashing plane and theirs only 1 parachute =) Its designed to get you to achieve a personal goal, ie- getting the points for the course you want (and cramming algebra formulae, learning what Issac Butt liked for breakfast, learning about the foreshore/backshore/storm beach, and that silly experiment with the orange peel, and that Dickens novels can be the cure for insomnia).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

No preblem in helping people as long as they'll help you, thats what real friendship is - would your friend explain a question to you if you needed help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭The Shtig

When we were in third year our old principle told us that we WERE competing against each other, a principle should know better not to be putting these views into pupils heads.

The only way you would be competing with someone in the leaving is if both of you were applying for the same course that has a small intake. It still doesn't give you permission to be a prick though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Another Gordon Gekko on the rise. He'll spend the rest of his life shitting down people's necks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭PurpleVintage

Rant Warning - skip cause I wont be responsible for wasting 1 minute of your life.

We too have also been constantly reminded that the LC is a competition, and even encouraged to think before you let someone have a look at your notes, or project, in our school. I remember this was particularly the case with our 'Projects'. You know? Special Topic, Field Study, you name it. I understand and am very much aware of plagiarism as i'm 100% against of people copying others (apart from homework or summer exams like) in any way possible, but fgs there's no need to be a jerk about it! Nobody wants to take your shizz home, it's not that good, you inflated animal.

Then again, i've always been surrounded by sickening, competitive people. I understand everyone wants to be the best, i'm not gonna deny that I dont (even though, circumstances caused by myself, have prevented me from even being anywhere near to that word). But what gives you the right (junior cert days) to ask me for my paper, so you can ADD UP ALL THE POINTS of both our exams, just because I got a 78 and you got a 62, regardless of the fact I sleep through class, and dont even bring books to school, let alone study at home... at all?! Some people are just ridiculously oblivious to the fact that not everyone is smart because of being a bookworm. Which brings me to another point - people need to stfu about the whole theory of "The more points I get, the smarter I am!" type of nonsense. These people are so crazy, they dont even understand the difference between permanent and temporary memory. It's almost like they dont think outside the box. The exam tests your temporary memory... it has even been admitted by annnnnncient well informed teachers, in my school who have contacts within the SEC and all those intimidating people. I can guarantee you, you wont be able to remember more than half of the stuff you learned in most of your subjects, once you're done with the LC. I know for sure I wont. BECAUSE ITS TEMPORARY MEMORY. Therefore it does not and should not stand for intelligence. Intelligence is not something that leaves you within 4 or 5 months darn it :mad:

Sorry, i'm just sick of all those pompous pricks with their 460 points, thinking they're all that and a bag of chips. Comparing their goddamn results to them lads with 200 points. So effing what, its not an IQ test you dee bag, you'd think with all those points your boasting about, you'd actually know that by now, if you were so darn intelligent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Sorry, i'm just sick of all those pompous pricks with their 460 points, thinking they're all that and a bag of chips. Comparing their goddamn results to them lads with 200 points. So effing what, its not an IQ test you dee bag, you'd think with all those points your boasting about, you'd actually know that by now, if you were so darn intelligent.

When they go out in the real world,some lose the run of themselves,many turn into right party animals and piss it away..

Just to add,parents can be competitive too,gossiping what their little fiona or mark got in the leaving and have a place booked already in trinity...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

blast the 2nd bloke with piss that'll learn em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

i was wondering to you think the leaving cert bring out the worst in people
    No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Wait until you get to college OP

Might be a handful of books for a course and people will hide them in random places in the library so others cannot take them home and the staff can't find them to lend.

Seen it done many times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

So sick of hearing about the Leaving Cert, its on the news, the newspaper, everywhere... who gives a fiddlers fcuk, ugh!

Shove it up your hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

College can be even worse. Some people will downplay essay / thesis marks to try to lull others in a fall sense of 'confidence.' They'll claim not to study etc but every time you walk through the library they're there buried in books.
    It's fairly pathetic really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

mariebeth wrote: »
    Trust me it's not just the leaving cert, that fella is a dick & he will continue to be a dick all the way through life

He won't be a dick the day he is going into the dole office for "the week's wages"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Hurricane-Dean

The 2nd fella is right, if you didn't give the 1st guy the answer then the 2nd guy would be one place ahead of him in the dole queue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

That guy sounds like a complete dick but I've met his type before and will no doubt have the dubious pleasure in the future. I always helped anyone who asked for it in college and school, academia shouldn't be like the thunderdome where you can only advance by standing on the neck of others. Lending a helping hand costs nothing and can have great rewards if it is reciprocated or acknowledged. I got a brilliant reference from my university adviser because he noticed that I was willing to go out of my way to help others in my class and that has been of far better use to me than a few extra marks on an exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

i was wondering to you think the leaving cert bring out the worst in people.
    No.

Ok, you'll get dicks like this, who probably wouldn't give his girlfriend a shag if he thought she was getting more pleasure out of it than he was.

But for every asshole like this I encounter over in LC forum, there are 30 who will go out of their way to answer a question someone has, or (especially at the moment) to reassure them if they're getting stressed.

Ok, it may not always be entirely selfless ... often explaining something to someone else will revise / clarify it in your own head, but it's still helping out the other person, and what harm if you're doing yourself a bit of good as well?

Tbh, I think for most it's later, when they get out more in the world, that *some* start to get more selfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Rant Warning - skip cause I wont be responsible for wasting 1 minute of your life.

We too have also been constantly reminded that the LC is a competition, and even encouraged to think before you let someone have a look at your notes, or project, in our school. I remember this was particularly the case with our 'Projects'. You know? Special Topic, Field Study, you name it. I understand and am very much aware of plagiarism as i'm 100% against of people copying others (apart from homework or summer exams like) in any way possible, but fgs there's no need to be a jerk about it! Nobody wants to take your shizz home, it's not that good, you inflated animal.

Then again, i've always been surrounded by sickening, competitive people. I understand everyone wants to be the best, i'm not gonna deny that I dont (even though, circumstances caused by myself, have prevented me from even being anywhere near to that word). But what gives you the right (junior cert days) to ask me for my paper, so you can ADD UP ALL THE POINTS of both our exams, just because I got a 78 and you got a 62, regardless of the fact I sleep through class, and dont even bring books to school, let alone study at home... at all?! Some people are just ridiculously oblivious to the fact that not everyone is smart because of being a bookworm. Which brings me to another point - people need to stfu about the whole theory of "The more points I get, the smarter I am!" type of nonsense. These people are so crazy, they dont even understand the difference between permanent and temporary memory. It's almost like they dont think outside the box. The exam tests your temporary memory... it has even been admitted by annnnnncient well informed teachers, in my school who have contacts within the SEC and all those intimidating people. I can guarantee you, you wont be able to remember more than half of the stuff you learned in most of your subjects, once you're done with the LC. I know for sure I wont. BECAUSE ITS TEMPORARY MEMORY. Therefore it does not and should not stand for intelligence. Intelligence is not something that leaves you within 4 or 5 months darn it :mad:

Didn't do so well in the old leaving then no??

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

2nd fella is a tool - he might do well in his exams, and in life overall, but he'll still be a tool if he keeps that shíte up.

I can't remember who it was that said it but the following quote is fits nicely:

Woman: You're drunk
    Man: That's true, but in the morning, I'll be sober - you'll still be ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

2nd fella is a tool - he might do well in his exams, and in life overall, but he'll still be a tool if he keeps that shíte up.

I can't remember who it was that said it but the following quote is fits nicely:

Woman: You're drunk
    Man: That's true, but in the morning, I'll be sober - you'll still be ugly.

It was by Winston Churchill. Love that quote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭PurpleVintage

@ mconigal
    I've actually only started mine on the 8th :D. But no, I wont be getting any 460 points, i'll tell you this much. Serves me right for being a slacker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 eilire91

Well I know I was an absolute demon from about February until the leaving was completely done with last year. Never saw it as competing with your classmates though thats taking it a bit far, we're all in the same boat after all. The amount of stress and pressure it puts on ya though definitely makes every little annoyance seem like the end of the world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 eilire91

Well I know I was an absolute demon from about February until the leaving was completely done with last year. Never saw it as competing with your classmates though thats taking it a bit far, we're all in the same boat after all. The amount of stress and pressure it puts on ya though definitely makes every little annoyance seem like the end of the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

17 year old going on 40 years old Twat on the news.
    "i thought the english paper was fair. Very topical today"
    shut up and fuk off.
    Its an exam, and exams arent fair.