Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bob Geldof to get honourary Israeli degree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

"Give us the f*cken degree."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

A.Tomas wrote: »

On what issues?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

dvpower wrote: »
    On what issues?

Bricklaying on a grand scale I'd guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Who are 'Collective Resistance'?.

Looks like a bunch of crusty, smelly hippies.

I'd hazard a guess and say they're a shower of professional whingers & protesters - Richard Boyd Barret wannabe's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

The democratically elected government you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Normally people who boycott Israel aren't consistent to boycott China or other countries with oppressive regimes. Bob is the opposite.

Personally I don't like Israel, but I don't boycott it because if I was to start boycotting nations I have problems with, there wouldn't be much I could buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

is this for Live Aid, or his efforts campaigning against the vandalisation of phone booths?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

You'd think they'ed be on Bob's side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

...and other clichés.

Why is it that Israel-apologists so rarely offer anything more substantive than the usual tired old 'crusty' 'smelly hippies' rhetoric?

Does this mean he agrees with the Israeli regime?

When Indymedias servers go down, are you forced into forming your own opinions?

RayM wrote: »

Israel-apologists

Yay, and we're off :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭A.Tomas

Read the article. They do have an agenda for sure, but...

The man's a hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...given post 5, I'd say 'we' were off a bit earlier.

So you're not an ardent supporter of Israel then?

This was a previous attempt at character assasination:D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=70542470

Who are 'Collective Resistance'?.

I'd hazard a guess and say they're a shower of professional whingers & protesters - Richard Boyd Barret wannabe's.

It is mentioned in the current Phoenix magazine.

(I actually heard about it on the radio ad)

Nodin wrote: »
    ...given post 5, I'd say 'we' were off a bit earlier.

Nope, I asked a question and gave my opinion.

Nothing wrong with that.

I think honourary degree's are f**king stupid anyway,

RayM wrote: »
    So you're not an ardent supporter of Israel then?

Depends on what direction the wind is blowing.

Nope, I asked a question and gave my opinion
    Nothing wrong with that.

No (apart from baseless stereotyping therein), but when you throw out that 'crusty, smelly hippies' kind of thing and somebody comes back with "Israeli apologist" it's a bit much to declare that the starting gun to the usual shite has been fired by them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I support Israel and its right to exist and all the citizens within it. I think this is great news for Bob Geldof.

Nodin wrote: »
    No (apart from baseless stereotyping therein), but when you throw out that 'crusty, smelly hippies' kind of thing and somebody comes back with "Israeli apologist" it's a bit much to declare that the starting gun to the usual shite has been fired by them.

'Collective Resistance' :rolleyes:

Hippies need to cop the f**k on, mostly people don't give a sh*t for them and their moaning.. We're too busy with the real issues, speaking of which - time to rest before I head out to work tonight.

Have you met Mr.Potato Head?.

Below in my sig.

v
    v
    v
    v
    v
    v

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I think op is bob gelsof trying to get discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I support Israel and its right to exist and all the citizens within it. I think this is great news for Bob Geldof.

Well, you would. Israel is slightly synonymous with the remnants of the Ulster Plantation.

'Collective Resistance' :rolleyes:

Hippies need to cop the f**k on, mostly people don't give a sh*t for them and their moaning..

Wunderbar, more bluster. However don't complain when the other side go to the same level you set.

I think op is bob gelsof trying to get discussed.

As Steve Staunton would say : "You tell me".:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

As Geldof lives in the UK, he should now have to pay a graduate tax or something.

That'll learn him.

KeithAFC wrote: »

No Keith, you support whatever it is that gets you the attention here that real life has denied you everywhere else. Hopefully you'll grow out of it soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I think Keith is funny. You keep doing what you're doing Keith.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Well, you would. Israel is slightly synonymous with the remnants of the Ulster Plantation.
    I don't see the problem with that.
    No Keith, you support whatever it is that gets you the attention here that real life has denied you everywhere else. Hopefully you'll grow out of it soon.
    No. I just support Israel and its people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 YeaBuddy

Nodin is getting very worked up...again. Unclog that fudge from your jap's eye, lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

the op certainly has an unhealthy obsession with Bob.

YeaBuddy wrote: »
    Nodin is getting very worked up...again. Unclog that fudge from your jap's eye, lad.

O look...a two post sock puppet.

You might want to bend over while I place that fudge back where I found it.

Depends on what direction the wind is blowing.

So (depending on what direction the wind is blowing, obviously) you are an apologist for Israel then. Unlike such (mind-blowingly original and oh-so-cutting) terms as "crusties" and "smelly hippies", "apologist" is not automatically a pejorative. By seizing upon that, and ignoring the actual question, you've shown quite clearly that you genuinely have nothing more substantive to offer than tired old clichés.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Wow; its amazing how a thread can so rapidly descend into childish petty sniping.

drkpower wrote: »
    Wow; its amazing how a thread can so rapidly descend into childish petty sniping.

Shalom & Salaam my friend,

Welcome to the Middle East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

If you are trying to find the answer to the question in your first post I think you might find the link in your second is probably biased.

Hey everone calm down, listen to this and calm down!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EpuYp8CLSyI&feature=related

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Thats out of order

Report it, I did. But you shouldn't quote it, it makes the moderators job of deleting it a little more time consuming.

Yahew wrote: »
    the op certainly has an unhealthy obsession with Bob.

And I'm not too thrilled about Nobo either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

I thought I heard before the colleges in Israel were a big part of the pro Palestinian movement based in Israel, which does exist believe it or not. something that gets very little media coverage imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

YeaBuddy banned.

Quit the fcuking sniping everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

My morality only lasts as long as nothing tasty is produced in a region.
    A company in Israel has started making Sodastreams so screw it, I'll see you all in the eighties! :D