Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Robbie Savage

• 07-05-2011 12:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

Savage is currently playing his final game today. What are your thoughts of him as a player and a person?

I liked him as a player. I've always thought he was very underrated and he has done a good job wherever he's gone. He might not be the most skilful or prettiest player on the ball to watch, but what he lacked he made up for in determination and effort. So many more players have had more natural ability but didn't have half the career he has had, simply because they didn't put in the work. People will say he's dirty, but although he's been booked a lot he's only been sent off a couple of times (once at international level, once in the Premier League AFAIK). He knew where the line was and didn't usually tend to cross it. I was gutted when he decided to join Derby instead of Sunderland a few years ago, as he would have been loved at the Stadium of Light.

As a pundit he's one of my favourite. He seems to be one of the only pundits around who will praise the smaller teams and criticise the bigger teams (when justified, of course). For example, if a weaker team beats a team they're expected to lose to, he'll say ''lets give the weaker team credit rather than saying the bigger team were poor''.

He's done a lot of charity work too and raised awareness for issues such as depression and dementia.

He's one of my favourite players and he's a great character as well as being a better footballer than he should have been, purely through dedication and hard work.

Some of my favourite Robbie Savage moments:

And some decent reading:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/nov/06/robbie-savage-interview

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/derby-county/8498522/Robbie-Savage-off-to-tackle-life-in-the-media-as-curtain-falls-on-Derby-playing-career.html

His autobiography is quite a good read too. It's quite light-hearted, but there's also some heavy reading too when he speaks about his dad's condition and how he tried to commit suicide.

So lads, your thoughts on Savage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Poor mans Vinny Jones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Solid player over the years. Very cunning and seems a likable guy apart from when he is playing against you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Hes done a few dickheaded things but he seems fairly sound. Had the championship POTY in his pocket the other week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

I know somebody who was a youth team player with him. Said he was barking but great craic. Only thing that used to p..s him off though was how long it took him to get ready for a night out. He was OBSESSIVE about his hair and would spend a solid hour touching it up in the mirror. Mad to see he is in his late 30s know and the samson locks are still pride of place:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Like a dog chasing a ball in the park, bull in a china shop and headless chicken (and many other animal anologys I am sure) on the pitch. Seems like he has a good sense of humour off it, and I don't think he ever thought he was the most skillful, just a 100% tryer. Decent pundit, who actually gives his opinion about things rather than sitting on the fence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Top lad. Love him or hate him, football needs these type of characters, there's not enough of them around these days.

On the field, he was like a wasp. Dangerous at times, but guaranteed to buzz around the place and píss people off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Has he ever won anything ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I think he's a good lad and a decent enough pundit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Has he ever won anything ?

Fa youth cup with United 92 - league cup with Leicester 00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Woody_FX

Aye he is a character! Bit of a tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He's Welsh! :mad: :p

As a player he mixed talent and low cunning a bit too much of the latter at times, as a pundit he is awful when allowed to go 'off on one' doing 606 (last refuge of the football idiocracy I admit) but as a co-commentator in games he's quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Pauleta wrote: »
    Solid player over the years. Very cunning and seems a likable guy apart from when he is playing against you.
    ^This. Don't mind Robbie Savage. Very average player but a likeable character.

Bacon and Cabbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Didn't know he played for United until I read his column a few weeks ago and he mentioned it at least 5 times...noticed it again the other day and it got another 5 mentions...seems like he lives on that.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Didn't know he played for United until I read his column a few weeks ago and he mentioned it at least 5 times...noticed it again the other day and it got another 5 mentions...seems like he lives on that.

He didn't play a game for utd though afaik ?

How can he be living off his United past when you yourself say you only found out he ever played for them last week??? Makes no sense.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

rarnes1 wrote: »
    He didn't play a game for utd though afaik ?

I think it was just reserve games or under age
    flahavaj wrote: »
    How can he be living off his United past when you yourself say you only found out he ever played for them last week??? Makes no sense.:confused:

Care to point out the part of my post where I said he was living off it??? Your post makes no sense.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I think it was just reserve games or under age

Care to point out the part of my post where I said he was living off it??? Your post makes no sense.:confused:

Eh I'll take a wild guess and say its where you said 'seens like he lives on that'.

What did "he's living on it" mean then? That makes no sense.:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

i like him. complete dick to play against but hes a good lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I always enjoyed this rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

bonerm wrote: »

I always enjoyed this rant.

Yep, that's a good one.

I thought Savage was spot on there. A 31 year old experienced player playing for a top 6 Premier League side and couldn't get a call-up for Wales? Madness, and the only reason was because Toshack didn't like him as Savage was more popular than he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Was always a huge fan, seems like a very happy go lucky sort, good player too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

As a player i didn't like him, but by god i respected him. And truth be told i would have loved him in my team. Been to enough Forest - Derby games where he got dog loads of abuse and he always gave as good as he got.

A proper pro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

He was great for Rovers when he was with us, let Tugay do his thing and just broke up play when the opposition tried to break. He had so much energy, never stopped running all over the pitch. Very underrated player imo.

Off the pitch he was great to fans. He is a really down to earth guy, bit of a nutter going by his youtubes etc. but he speaks his mind and enjoys life. He is a good pundit too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

A thread devoted to Robbie "****ing" Savage.

FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Absolute legend!! A perfect example of hard work getting you further than talent that doesn't work hard. How many better players haven't played as long as him??

You can play the what has he won card, but i reckon someone like Lee Sharpe who won the Prem would have given that medal up to have as long a career at the top as Sav.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

A thread devoted to Robbie "****ing" Savage.

FFS

BARBRA STREISAND!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Not the most gifted of players by any stretch but put a lot of hard work and graft into his play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Seen him posting on twitter that he is considering running a competition for him to turn out for a sunday league side next season, that would be class if he actually did it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The stereotypical overpaid footballer. I remember a 2 journalists talking about him on off the ball, they reckoned he was a genuinely nasty person.

Robbie's going to be on the new series of Strictly Come Dancing starting this Saturday. Should be a good laugh :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

One of the worst players to ever grace the game, another square ball merchant, couldn't pass water. As big a joke as a pundit.

Says it all that Derby were in a relegation battle last year when he was there, get him off the wage bill (he was by far highest paid there) which allows Derby to sign a few players in the summer and hey presto Derby win 4 out of their first 5 league games!

I've seen boats turn quicker than him. Absolutely useless, made Neil Lennon look good! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Never really had an opinion on him either way until I started to follow him on Twitter and listen to him on 5 live. Now I can't stand the man and he's shockingly bad as a pundit. I don't listen to 5 live if he's on and I have unfollowed him on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

kfallon wrote: »
    Says it all that Derby were in a relegation battle last year when he was there, get him off the wage bill (he was by far highest paid there) which allows Derby to sign a few players in the summer and hey presto Derby win 4 out of their first 5 league games!
    :

I says it all that he's not as good in the team as 4 or 5 players? Really? Is it his fault they agreed to make him their highest paid player? I assume if you were a pro your contract negotiations would go along the lines of " Ok Mr Fallon, we're going to offer you 80k a week" . "ah here no, I'm not worth anywhere near that, pay me 20k"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I says it all that he's not as good in the team as 4 or 5 players? Really? Is it his fault they agreed to make him their highest paid player? I assume if you were a pro your contract negotiations would go along the lines of " Ok Mr Fallon, we're going to offer you 80k a week" . "ah here no, I'm not worth anywhere near that, pay me 20k"

No it says it all that he was the worst player in the team.....by a country mile! And he was the one dragging the team down!

He made out he loved the club but in fact he was bleeding them dry and then had to gaul to ask them to make a 606 studio for him at Pride Park so he could broadcast his radio show straight after games. Hardly focused was he?

Anyone who thinks Robbie Savage was or is a good player obviously knows nothing about football!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Anyone who thinks Robbie Savage was or is a good player obviously knows nothing about football!

I hate when people say "(their own opinion) and anyone who says otherwise knows nothing about football..."

Absolute horse shít. Says more about the maturity of the poster tbh.

So Dario Gradi, Martin O'Neill, Steve Bruce, and Mark Hughes know nothing about football.

Thanks for that insight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

I kind of admire Robbie Savage....he had limited talent but he made the most of his opportunities in the game which is more that can be said for a lot of the players who are getting ridiculous amounts of money and they dont even care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

I love Robbie Savage, absolute legend.
    Mad as a hatter and very funny, would love him as a drinking buddy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Robbie Savage was a good player.

I'm very comfortable taking an opposing position to you on this. Very comfortable indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

No it says it all that he was the worst player in the team.....by a country mile! And he was the one dragging the team down!

He made out he loved the club but in fact he was bleeding them dry and then had to gaul to ask them to make a 606 studio for him at Pride Park so he could broadcast his radio show straight after games. Hardly focused was he?

He bled them dry or took the money THEY offered him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

I think he is a good pundit. listen to him on the 606 football phone in, speaks him mind, he is not always right, who is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

As a player a real grafter. Always put in a good shift.

As a pundit, not so good. States the obvious a lot and no great insight into the tactical side. Not saying he doesn't know his stuff but it doesn't come across. He's always on ESPN these days and he tries to be funny too much, some of his stuff is cringe worthy.

As a person, seems like a decent guy. Bit of an ego. He grates on me big time. The voice, the attitude etc but he seems friendly without a malicious streak.

In summary, a decent bloke I wish him the best. I couldn't stand him as a friend though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

I didnt mind him as a player (Provided he wasnt playing against us) but as a pundit he is crap. Seems to be the latest in the ever growing line of retired players who have nothing else to do so become a pundit regardless of how good they are at it. To me, he comes across as a guy who thinks he knows it all but in reality is saying the first thing that comes to mind and hoping it's right.

He was on ESPN a few times during the pre-season and every time he spoke I was hoping Keown would headbutt him to shut him up. Unfortunatly it didnt happen.