Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LOI summer holidays

• 05-05-2011 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

Saints region almost complete most likely we will be seeded (being the greatest LOI side ever in Europe gives that advantage :cool: )

Still 3 more teams to be added but this is the list of where i be spending my summer holidays. Obviously we not great at the back so im terrified of another Zimbru but would love if we got TNS :D

Aktobe (Kazakhstan)
    Irtysh Pavlodar (Kazakhstan)
    Levadia Tallinn (Estonia)
    Narva Trans (Estonia)
    Banants (Armenia)
    Ulisses (Armenia)
    NSÍ Runavík (Faroe Islands)
    ÍF Fuglafjørður (Faroe Islands)
    Lusitanos (Andorra)
    Sant Julià (Andorra)
    TNS (Wales)
    Cliftonville (NI)
    Glentoran (NI)
    Vllaznia Shkodër (Albania)
    Flamurtari Vlorë (Albania)
    Nõmme Kalju (Estonia)

Rovers opponents difficult to gauge atm but all far far away trips.

No idea whats ahead for Bohs, Sligo and possibly UCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

They're supposed to be Sporting Fingal's fixtures. Just sayin' :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

dreamers75 wrote: »
    but would love if we got TNS :D

I'd ask Bohs for advice!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,468 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Sligo Rovers still waiting to find out if they'll start in the 2nd Q round or the 3rd.

If Porto win in the final we'll start in the 3rd round.

If Braga win we'll start in the 2nd round.
    If Porto win the cup Their place in the group stage is vacated. They lose all entitlement to this place, even if they are knocked out out of the Champions League and re-enter the Europa League. Their place in the group stage is not automatically given to another team. This means that one more team is required to progress from the playoff round to the group stage. To do this:
    The domestic cup winners of associations 16 and 17 (Scotland and Bulgaria) are moved from the third qualifying round to the play-off round.The domestic cup winners of association 29 (Republic of Ireland) are moved from the second qualifying round to the third qualifying round.The domestic league runners-up of associations 33 and 34 (Latvia and Moldova) are moved from the first qualifying round to the second qualifying round. If Braga win the cup and qualify for the Europa League play-off round by their domestic position The domestic cup winners of association 16 (Scotland) are promoted from the third qualifying round to the play-off round.
    Could get a big draw if we start in the 3rd round but that would mean no European games at the showgrounds(place is only good enough to play in till the 2nd Q round).

I love the European time of year. Even if my team isn't involved I wish all our representatives the best!

League teams in Europe. Feels good, man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Aktobe (Kazakhstan)
    Narva Trans (Estonia)
    Banants (Armenia)
    Ulisses (Armenia)
    Lusitanos (Andorra)
    Sant Julià (Andorra)
    TNS (Wales)
    Cliftonville (NI)
    Glentoran (NI)
    Nõmme Kalju (Estonia)

I'd say the best draw there is Cliftonvile. Glentoran would be a bit tougher. A trip to Andorra might be winnable and in a nice location for a holiday trip. If ye get TNS at least they might be cocky after their thrashing of Bohs.:D

I'd be praying to avoid the rest of the teams though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭aliveandkicking

Nope. Talk on our forum that the draw is regionalised so we won't end up with a far away trip to somewhere like Israel or Azerbaijan.

Countries in our region last season below so likelyhood is we will be playing somewhere on this list.

Scotland
    Austria
    Sweden
    Lituania
    N.Ireland
    Belarus
    Luxembourg
    Iceland
    Finland
    Norway
    Wales
    Faroe Islands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

I'd ask Bohs for advice!:D

One piece of advice, bring several changes of clothes. I still feel soaking wet from that day *Shiver*

Cheap drink in Wrexham made it bearable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

frantic190 wrote: »
    One piece of advice, bring several changes of clothes. I still feel soaking wet from that day *Shiver*

Cheap drink in Wrexham made it bearable.

pffffft, You should have seen Italy... my passport is still wrecked :/

Winning the first game for us is such a cash cow. 6 games in europe this season would be amazing financially and obviously for the leagues profile.

If regionalised we have a great shot of getting into the third round hence another 4 games..... Only a few more weeks left, have my piggyback and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

this is the list of where i be spending my summer holidays.

Aktobe (Kazakhstan)
    Banants (Armenia)
    Ulisses (Armenia)

These look like pretty far/ logistically tough trips for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

stovelid wrote: »
    These look like pretty far/ logistically tough trips for you?

If we seeded the bottom half of the list is what we get. I have a budget of 400 for flights/hotel anymore and im ****ed.

Berts site is updated quite regularly with new inclusions

http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/

Rovers looking to have the best chance ever to get tru 2 rounds thanks to Platini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

We are currently 50/50 on being seeded for the Second round. Its between Rovers and whoever wins the Slovak League for the last seeded place. Seeded and its an easier, but logistically tougher game, unseeded, much more difficult a game but logistically easier.

Currently Seeded Teams:

Champions of 2010–11 Scottish Premier League
    BATE Borisov
    Dinamo Zagreb
    Rosenborg
    APOEL
    Champions of 2010–11 A PFG
    Champions of 2010–11 Israeli Premier League
    Champions of 2010–11 Czech First Division
    Champions of 2010–11 Austrian Bundesliga
    Champions of 2010–11 Serbian Super League
    HJK Helsinki
    Ekranas
    Champions of 2010–11 Polish Premier League
    Malmö FF
    Champions of 2010–11 Premier League of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Currently Unseeded:

Pyunik
    Skonto
    Bangor City
    Champions of 2010–11 Montenegrin First League
    Champions of 2010–11 Hungarian National Championship I
    Tobol Kostanay
    Flora Tallinn
    Breiðablik
    Neftchi Baku
    Skënderbeu Korçë
    Champions of 2010–11 Moldovan National Division
    Champions of 2010–11 Slovenian Premier League
    Champions of 2010–11 Umaglesi Liga
    Champions of 2010–11 Macedonian Premier League

and the winning three of:

HB Tórshavn
    Linfield
    F91 Dudelange
    FC Santa Coloma
    Valletta
    Champions of 2010–11 Campionato Sammarinese di Calcio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Saints region almost complete most likely we will be seeded (being the greatest LOI side ever in Europe gives that advantage :cool: )

Number of wins in Europe's premier competition? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

I have a budget of 400 for flights/hotel anymore and im ****ed.

I've €570 so far! biggrin.gif

Aktobe (Kazakhstan)

Narva Trans (Estonia)
    Banants (Armenia)
    Ulisses (Armenia)

Lusitanos (Andorra)
    Sant Julià (Andorra)
    TNS (Wales)
    Cliftonville (NI)
    Glentoran (NI)

Nõmme Kalju (Estonia)

Anywhere bar them places in bold I reckon I could go too! Although, might also be able to go too Albania!

Session in Kerr's gaff if we get Faroe's :cool:

Edit: Also, can we not get Floriana? Would love to get them!

They added in yesterday.

How're things lookin' now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I've €570 so far! biggrin.gif

Anywhere bar them places in bold I reckon I could go too! Although, might also be able to go too Albania!

Session in Kerr's gaff if we get Faroe's :cool:

Dublin to London to trieste all on Ryanair would be cheap enough, then boat from Trieste to Tirane... its a treck but do-able

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

whens the draw lads?....

nice to see sligo going into the 3rd round the yearly hoping starts now. does anyone know what round rovers go into the CL and are they seeded etc.? like the op i love the euro games no matter who is in them.

whens the draw lads?....

nice to see sligo going into the 3rd round the yearly hoping starts now. does anyone know what round rovers go into the CL and are they seeded etc.? like the op i love the euro games no matter who is in them.

One month today. 20th of June. Tic toc :/

2nd round. Think seeding will be out in a week or so.

(unseeded < 2.549, seeded > 2.824)

Unknown coef.

Shamrock Rovers Irl 2.741
    Dacia Chisinau Mol 2.549
    CL Bos 2.324 - 2.824
    CL Slo 1.224 - 4.224

Two of the 4 will be seeded and two wont. Statistically it's likely we will be seeded.
    With us and the Slo league winners being seeded.

they'll still have to go through 3 rounds so since they stuck that play off round in. its a load of bollix really they just try everything to keep the smaller nations out of the group stages. ah maybe rovers will just go and sicken them this year

A third round loss still gets Europa league backdoor, while a forth round loss gets Europa league group stage backdoor.

Obviously I want to get into the last 16, but I think a third round loss and a potentially seeded Europa league game/good chance of group stage is the best we can look at.

Ebbs wrote: »
    A third round loss still gets Europa league backdoor, while a forth round loss gets Europa league group stage backdoor.

Obviously I want to get into the last 16, but I think a third round loss and a potentially seeded Europa league game/good chance of group stage is the best we can look at.

ah ye never know, im not a rovers supporter but i will be supporting them and the other irish teams in europe as i always do, they held themselves well against juventus last year so maybe with the help of the draw they can reach the holy grail this year

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

A really big result today..

Zelejnicar 0-1 Borac

Rovers probably seeded:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭paulcorr

dfx- wrote: »
    A really big result today..

Zelejnicar 0-1 Borac

Rovers probably seeded:cool:

100% sure they are seeded.

so is post #7 accurate regarding their possible opponents?

Pretty much..big difference in unseeded and seeded teams in the region. Still could go out, but should a good trip.
    Unseeded:

Skonto Riga
    Bangor City
    HB Torshavn
    Linfield
    F91 Dudelange
    Breidablik
    Flora Tallinn

Seeded:

Rovers
    Rosenborg
    Malmo
    HJK Helsinki
    Eranas
    [Austrian side]
    Bate Borisov

northern ireland or wales would be a good draw - odds on favourites plus financially not much travel

If we were to get past the second qualify round, the perfect scenario would be Bangor or Linfield. Either would be a great tie (esp Linfield) and cheap and if we got past, I could also justify the third round away trips to the missus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

If we were to get past the second qualify round, the perfect scenario would be Bangor or Linfield. Either would be a great tie (esp Linfield) and cheap and if we got past, I could also justify the third round away trips to the missus.

Rovers should beat Linfield fairly easy. We beat them fairly comfortably and got a draw when they were in the middle of their season and we were still in pre-season. I'd be a bit more concerned about Banger if TNS are anything to go by

doncarlos wrote: »
    Rovers should beat Linfield fairly easy. We beat them fairly comfortably and got a draw when they were in the middle of their season and we were still in pre-season. I'd be a bit more concerned about Banger if TNS are anything to go by

Wouldn't never take any team for granted after last year. Just that the logistically easy clubs mean more trips affordable if you get by the second round. :pac:

Contentious!!!!!

With the inclusion of Brum and Bpool as possible opponents.

Anyone fear them?

Bear in the mind its unlikely due to the draw but still possible and the game would be in little over 7 weeks. They wont have the same squad and would be only beginning pre season.

I think we could take either one :eek:

Wouldn't never take any team for granted after last year. Just that the logistically easy clubs mean more trips affordable if you get by the second round. :pac:

think last year was just an eye off the ball scenario. i still reckon we're streets ahead of the welsh league, and i wouldnt hold any fear playing any of their teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭aliveandkicking

The excitement is building, draws taking place this morning. As predicted a few weeks ago Rovers are seeded in a regionalised group with the following teams

Group 3
    Seeded: FC BATE Borisov (BLR), Rosenborg BK (NOR), Wisła Kraków (POL), HJK Helsinki (FIN), Malmö FF (SWE), Shamrock Rovers FC (IRL)

Unseeded: Skonto FC (LVA), Bangor City FC (WAL), HB Tórshavn (FRO), Linfield FC (NIR), FC Flora Tallinn (EST), Breidablik (ISL)

Would love a trip to Wales.

Rovers

Skonto FC (LVA), Bangor City FC (WAL), HB Tórshavn (FRO), Linfield FC (NIR), FC Flora Tallinn (EST), Breidablik (ISL)

Pats
    Glentoran FC (NIR), ÍBV Vestmannaeyjar (ISL), NSÍ Runavík (FRO), Neath FC (WAL), UN Käerjéng 97 (LUX)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭S.R.F.C.

Nearly there now, just finishing up group 2.

For anyone interested, live stream; http://en.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2012/draws/index.html

Rovers got Flora, nice place cheap drink :D

Bollox to that anyway, probably worst possible draw, Estonia not cheap to get to and home first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

S.R.F.C. wrote: »
    Bollox to that anyway, probably worst possible draw, Estonia not cheap to get to and home first.

It will be a tough two games too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Rovers should thump them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Rovers should thump them!

What gives you that impression?

I'm nearly sure Drogheda or Bohs beat Levadia Tallinn in the CL a few seasons ago. Whether Flora are better than them, who knows. Big game at home first.

Nice ground too

800px-Samba_boys_kick_off_the_match_in_Tallinn.jpg

Better trip than Kazakhstan or Slovenia. It's €20 by ferry from Helsinki to Tallinn and Helsinki should be easy enough to get to via Manchester or Heathrow (Finnair which I've done before) or any number of connections through Oslo, Copenhagen, Stockholm etc with SAS. Or if really desperate, Ryanair..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

I'm nearly sure Drogheda or Bohs beat Levadia Tallinn in the CL a few seasons ago. Whether Flora are better than them, who knows. Big game at home first.

Nice ground too

-Image-

Better trip than Kazakhstan or Slovenia. It's €20 by ferry from Helsinki to Tallinn and Helsinki should be easy enough to get to via Manchester or Heathrow (Finnair which I've done before) or any number of connections through Oslo, Copenhagen, Stockholm etc with SAS. Or if really desperate, Ryanair..

We knocked out Levadia Marduu (which is Levadia Tallinn) about 10 years ago and then we were knocked out by Levadia Talinn 6 years ago. Pretty sure Drogs knocked out Tallinn aswell.

They seem like the big team. Sponsored by the Government, massive training complex and huge stadium. Tough game id imagine.

Looks very costly at the moment. Ryanair up to 370, Finnair direct is even more expensive at nearly 500. Flying to Manchester and then out is 200 pounds but with conversion and ryan air flights is only marginally cheaper.

Cheapest I found, if it had worked, was flyinf to Liverpool and then to Talinn. Worked out 120 all included but the arrival in liverpool was 9:35 and departure to Talinn was 9:30. Sickened. Cant wait to see what the club/charter offer.

Ebbs wrote: »
    They seem like the big team. Sponsored by the Government, massive training complex and huge stadium. Tough game id imagine.

Looks very costly at the moment. Ryanair up to 370, Finnair direct is even more expensive at nearly 500. Flying to Manchester and then out is 200 pounds but with conversion and ryan air flights is only marginally cheaper.

Cheapest I found, if it had worked, was flyinf to Liverpool and then to Talinn. Worked out 120 all included but the arrival in liverpool was 9:35 and departure to Talinn was 9:30. Sickened. Cant wait to see what the club/charter offer.

Worse draw possible. Probably the strongest team and not overly easy to get to.

Ryanair to Riga and bus to Tallin might work. Think it's under 200 miles
    so should be around four hours on bus.

Serious head-melter sorting out travel for this one on the cheap, will wait and see what the club offer but don't expect it to be amazing value.

S.R.F.C. wrote: »
    Serious head-melter sorting out travel for this one on the cheap, will wait and see what the club offer but don't expect it to be amazing value.

The route I said could be done sub €100 I'd guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

We got Bosnia or slovenia,really expensive

Can't wait for this even I'm only heading over for Tuesday-Thursday.