Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fear Of Speaking To An Audience

• 05-05-2011 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭

Hi, I'm currently doing Transition Year and I am lacking in confidence a great deal I would think. I don't seem to have any confidence talking to girls aswell. However, this thread is about more than that.

For my english class, my class is required to choose a piece of music or a movie that we liked and show a 30 second clip of the music/movie.

Then, afterwards we must talk for around 1-2 minutes about why we choose that song/movie.

I am worried about making a fool of myself in front of the whole class, and the fact that I suffer from a lack of confidence makes that fear even worse.

The reason that I am posting this thread is that I am looking for any advice or tips that people might have to (a.) improve my confidence and (b.) help me getting through this project without making a fool of myself.

I would like to thank you all for taking the time to read my thread, and I would also appreciate any advice you could give me.

Thank you, in advance.

Hey there,

You should read this and this, and understand and accept what the articles have to say. Once you realise the truth behind the effects they're describing you'll hopefully lose some inhibition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Wats_in_a_name

I can't really give many tips as I still have a fear of speaking. I'm in 6th year and the one thing I would say is be prepared know what your gonna say roughly. Don't have it scripted cause if you get lost you will get flustered just know the points you want to make. Most of all do it. I regret not taking full advantage of these type of things in 4th year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭SigersonCup

I can't really give many tips as I still have a fear of speaking. I'm in 6th year and the one thing I would say is be prepared know what your gonna say roughly. Don't have it scripted cause if you get lost you will get flustered just know the points you want to make. Most of all do it. I regret not taking full advantage of these type of things in 4th year.
    Thanks for the advice, the topic that we have to talk about in front of our class is...

we have to talk about a song or a movie that we like for 1-2 minutes. I can't think of anything at the moment and I'd like to know if you have any idea's on what I could talk about. Thanks again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

we have to talk about a song or a movie that we like for 1-2 minutes. I can't think of anything at the moment and I'd like to know if you have any idea's on what I could talk about. Thanks again.

Stick to the task you're set - talk about something you like. You'll find it easier and will be able to handle questions. Trying to do the task based on something other people like won't help if you're already nervous about the speaking. I can stand up and talk about my likes and passions to any group, anywhere, anytime and have done and enjoyed it. I find it hard to make smalltalk with one person about something I have no interest in.

Must be a song or film that at least like, or better still love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭verywell

Is there anything that you are really interested in? When you are interested in a subject it will be easier to talk about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

verywell wrote: »
    Is there anything that you are really interested in? When you are interested in a subject it will be easier to talk about it.

We have to talk about a movie or a song. I have thought of a movie now that I like. It's a comedy, "Step Brothers". I like the movie because it's funny and its a comedy. But, you have to talk about it for between 1-2 minutes. You have to talk about WHY you like the movie. And I have timed myself already and it certainly takes less than 1 minute to say "I like this movie because it's funny, and I like comedies"

So I would like to know what else could I say except the above.

verywell wrote: »
    We have to talk about a movie or a song. I have thought of a movie now that I like. It's a comedy, "Step Brothers". I like the movie because it's funny and its a comedy. But, you have to talk about it for between 1-2 minutes. You have to talk about WHY you like the movie. And I have timed myself already and it certainly takes less than 1 minute to say "I like this movie because it's funny, and I like comedies"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭m-a-i-

You could maybe talk about the actors, how the connect as a pair or talk about a specific scene that you liked and why you liked it.
    Once you start writing about something like that you won't be able to stop :)

I've had trouble speaking in public before and being lost for content but if you take your time, take deep breaths and talk slowly then you should be fine :)
    Best of luck with it

Well, if you have time, try and get an idea of what other people are doing. Some people always say you shouldn't worry about what anyone else is doing, but at the end of the day the issue at hand is your comfort in speaking and your content. I'd say talk to some people who are doing this presentation too. Not to copy them obviously, but if other people are talking about cinematography and you're prepared for talking about character development, you're going to feel more nervous.

As for content, you can talk about how the characters develop, how maybe they're not very likable at the start, but by the end they prove themselves. You can talk about the director's contribution, the writing, the kind of comedy (eg. physical comedy, jokes, irony, ridiculous characters). There's plenty to keep you going for a few minutes, and bear in mind that time wise, you'll speak a lot slower when you're speaking to the class than you will when reading off stuff you've written down, so you don't need to feel like you have to fill lots of time.

No one is watching you as closely as you think they do. Once your voice is steady, and you try to stay calm, the rest will follow. Trust me, 60% of the people talking in your class are probably nervous too. You just wont notice it because you'll be thinking about what you're going to say. I'm quite a comfortable speaker, but I find it helps to place my hands between me and the group. Stuff like gesturing as I talk, holding my hands around stomach height (NOT crossed arms, that looks bad). It's a bit of a barrier. Keep your head up, don't mumble, and don't rush. If you forget something, don't worry, just leave it out.

You'll be grand, good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,189 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I would also consider checking if there is a local toastmasters club in your area and could they give you some advice?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

I can tell you honestly OP from a lot of experience of having to speak in public for projects that everyone else is just as nervous as you are and they're not gonna judge you while you're up there because they're too worried about their own project to even really notice yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

What helps me most with these types of things is one thing.
    The knowledge that everybody wants it to go well for you, and nobody wants you to fail, and that even if you appear nervous, nobody is going to think any less of you at all for it, as the majority are nervous themselves and just want to see you do well.
    Nobody is going to laugh at you, and nobody is going to be hoping that you fcuk up. People are understanding and accepting of the odd blunder in presentations, and won't even give it a second thought.
    Nobody expects it to be the most mind blowing, perfect presentation ever. What a lot of people will be thinking during your presentation is "I wonder how many people are left before me", or "oh **** I'm next, better practice abit in my head!":D

My first ever presentation had to be 30 minutes long, and I was being judged and marked on how well I delivered the presentation by my tutor. I was being marked on content, clarity, body language, eye contact, and ability to answer questions about my presentation afterwards! All the while my tutor standing there in the class with a clipboard in his hand, ticking away with his pen.

I can tell you the day our class presentations started my palms were sweating, and I felt a tightness in my chest. I didn't know if I was going to have to do the presentation on that day or the day after.
    (Our class presentations had to be spread over two days, due to the amount of people, and the fact that each person had to speak for 30 minutes each.)
    The names were picked at random on the day for the first half of the class.
    I was so lucky that I wasn't picked on the first day, so had the chance to see others do it first.
    All my class spoke with each other about how nervous we were about these presentations. Even one of the most confident and sociable lads in the class admitted to me that if he felt physically sick thinking about it!
    As we were all aware that each other was nervous, it led to a real sense of comradeship, where we just really wanted to see each other succeed.
    I still felt shaky and dry throated and my stomach was doing somersaults when it was my turn, but with lots of encouraging smiles and nods from my friends in the class, I shocked myself by actually going over the limit and speaking for 33 mins!

I think it was a really great experience getting thrown in the deep end like that. I have since had to do mock interviews, and group presentations in college, and although yes I definitely still get nervous, I think to myself that I have spoke for over half an hour on my own to a class, so 10 minutes as part of a group presentation, is definitely doable. Infact, in my first college presentation, the worst case scenario happened, and half my slides had disappeared of the powerpoint presentation on the laptop, so I was left with no slides. I just continued talking anyways, as I knew my presentation inside out even without my notes and slides. My lecturer was happy with me.:D
    I think this will be good experience for you too, and really think presentations are something people should try at least once. I think they build confidence, and you will be so relieved and pleased with yourself when you are finished.

In the college presentations, even with new people who I didn't know that well I was still willing them to do well. And from speaking to them in the break afterwards, everyone admitted to being very nervous. They also wished me luck in mine, and you can just tell that nobody is judging you harshly.

I'm giving you these examples because you said you are worried about making a fool of yourself. I hope that my examples show that is not going to happen. Your classmates are not going to be analyzing or looking out for any flaws you make. They want you to be ok and just get it done, and are spending most of their time worrying about their own presentation!

Some people find it helps them to just pretend to themselves that they are very confident about it. If you can make yourself believe that it's no big deal, that it will be a breeze, and can adopt the character in your head of someone very confident who has experience of doing these things, then you might be able to stay "in character" for the presentation and find that it goes fine. It doesn't work for everyone though, and it's no harm if you can't force yourself to do this, as there's nothing wrong really with a few nerves, everyone gets them.

I would also suggest maybe keeping a small glass of water on the table during your presentation, or if you think that it will distract from your presentation, take a good drink of water beforehand, to help with the terribly dry mouth that nerves can sometimes cause. It happens to me anyways, my mouth and throat goes like sandpaper beforehand, so I drink some water, and I'm ok then once I get into it.
    Some excellent ideas there from true or false about things you could speak about. You'll be absolutely fine.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

The whole idea of doing public speaking during TY is to build your confidence.

It's like saying "I'm afraid of going to guitar lessons because I'm terrible at playing the guitar". That's the idea of going to lessons!

To improve at public speaking, it's good to have a very good grasp on the topic you are discussing. Then, without looking at notes, be able to discuss it.

Also practice your speech out loud, and without notes, a few times. You can't just learn it off in your head and hope it will turn out ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭gerryk

The trick to public speaking is to know your topic. Start by picking 5 things you like about this movie. Write them down in simple three or four word points and practice your talk, basing the flow around these points. Practice ways of getting from one point to another.

Also, speak slowly and clearly. You'd be amazed how a 45 second talk can easily be expanded to 1 or 2 minutes by speaking more slowly, and pausing occasionally to let points sink in. This also makes your talk easier to understand and digest for your audience.

A final point... when you sit down after doing it, enjoy the buzz you get from having done it, and take this with you for the next time.

Thanks everyone for all the advice, I feel now already better about speaking in front of the class. We had english again today and I asked the teacher what we have to talk about and he said that we have to choose a movie scene that we thought was funny and tell the class why you thought it was funny.

This is the scene that I have chosen to talk about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D2sU4Qr0lWU

its from the movie Step Brothers.

I think its funny but I dont know what to say.

For instace, I cant just go up to the top of the class and say "I like this scene because I think that it's funny."

I do think it is funny, but I'm unable to explain WHY I think it's funny.

Thanks again, for all the advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

For instace, I cant just go up to the top of the class and say "I like this scene because I think that it's funny."

I do think it is funny, but I'm unable to explain WHY I think it's funny./QUOTE]

It's fricking hilarious!

anyway, your original issue seemed to be you were nervous. Now you want people to tell you why something's funny? Not really a PI! Try another forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Hey,

Humour is a subjective thing, so don't worry too much about explaining humour. Odds are you'll get some laugher from your classmates when you show the movie anyway. Just explain what the films' about, why you like that clip so much, the characters etc.

Nerves are something you're just gonna have to accept. Don't deal with them; you can't, but what can you do is practice and practice and practice and practice.... You're nervous, I'm nervous, ever poster here gets nervous when they have to make a public speech and like everything in this world the more you do it the more you get accustomed to doing it, right? Well partly, preparation is the key. Rehearse your general points, know them well, have them structured,short and concise. Speak aloud to yourself in the mirror to get accustomed to your own voice, don't try to memorise an entire script. Practice your presentation several times and just let it flow, no one is watching you so now's the time to know what you are going to say, say it via linking brief little general points, then give a brief summary of what you said.* The more times you speak to yourself and rehearse the "skeleton" speech, the easier it will flow from you come the moment.

Embrace this opportunity, by the looks of it it promises to be some craic. Your classmates are in the same boat as you. If you prepare well you will enjoy it. or at the very least, realise it went wayyyy better than you originally expected.:)

*The general rule of a public presentation is tell the audience what you are going to say, say it,then tell them what you said.