Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy sets off speed camera with 40mph dash (but police can't prosecute him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Do speed limits apply to pedestrians, or man-powered vehicles? Or only things with engines?

What could they do, ban you from walking for 6 months?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Dartz wrote: »

12 points and you're executed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

They could seize the roller blades...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Do speed limits apply to pedestrians, or man-powered vehicles? Or only things with engines?

I think you can be done for drink driving on a bike so might be something similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

godtabh wrote: »
    I think you can be done for drink driving on a bike so might be something similar

fairly sure you cant...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

You can recieve points for any offence you commit on a bicycle even if you don't have a license yet.

fairly sure you cant...
    challenge.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

ye was there not a cyclist banned from driving for breaking a red light and causing a crash a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I suppose sometimes ya gotta do these things but if a car happened to pull out in front of him or even if there was a large-ish stone on the road he would be fcuked!:cool:

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I suppose sometimes ya gotta do these things but if a car happened to pull out in front of him or even if there was a large-ish stone on the road he would be fcuked!:cool:
    Yeah I agree, from the link above..
    Despite its online popularity, Mr Tufnell's stunt has been labelled 'nothing short of extremely foolish' by road safety campaigners.

'It is almost inconceivable that anyone would attempt such a dangerous stunt at night, dressed mostly in black, on a road that's in use, just to prove a point,' said Neil Hopkins of the Sussex Safer Roads Partnership.

'This sort of activity should always take place off the road under supervised conditions and ideally with protective clothing being used.

'Motorists also won't be expecting to see someone on roller blades in the road, and other road users would find it incredibly difficult to accurately judge speed.'

Even though it was 'cool' it was still obviously very dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Just because it's dangerous, doesn't mean you shouldn't do it. Half the time that's the fun of it... and if you're only going to hurt yourself and are aware of the risks, where's the harm in that?

I mean dangerous to others...

I don't care if he has fun, if he hit my car, he'd be getting a slap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

As stated you cannot be done for speeding on a non motorised device.

Fair play to him. I wonder what they thought when the film was developed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

godtabh wrote: »
    fairly sure you cant...

you most certainly can. Road Traffic Act 1961
    51.—(1) A person shall not, in a public place—

(a) drive or attempt to drive, or be in charge of, an animal drawn vehicle, or

(b) drive or attempt to drive a pedal cycle,
    while he is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a drug to such an extent as to be incapable of having proper control of the vehicle or cycle.

(2) A person who contravenes subsection (1) of this section shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on summary conviction, in the case of a first offence, to a fine not exceeding twenty pounds or, at the discretion of the court, to imprisonment for any term not exceeding one month or to both such fine and such imprisonment and, in the case of a second or any subsequent offence, to a fine not exceeding fifty pounds or, at the discretion of the court, to imprisonment for any term not exceeding three months or to both such fine and such imprisonment.

(3) A person liable to be charged with an offence under this section shall not, by reference to the same occurrence, be liable to be charged under section 12 of the Licensing Act, 1872, with the offence of being drunk while in charge, on a highway or other public place, of a carriage.

(4) Where a member of the Garda Síochána is of opinion that a person is committing or has committed an offence under this section, he may arrest the person without warrant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

you can be done for drink driving on a pushbike.

if you do not have a license when you go to get one it will be on your driver file, and you will be banned if you get a new (or renew) your driving license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

they sound very posh for Hastings....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Roller Blades......:rolleyes:

80mph.... on a skateboard - (1.08+ is insane)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,128 ✭✭✭✭L1011

corktina wrote: »
    they sound very posh for Hastings....:D

They did say they'd driven from Brighton. Sound like Sussex boys anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

ye was there not a cyclist banned from driving for breaking a red light and causing a crash a while back.

I remember this actually.