Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Downward facing dog

Options
  • 05-05-2011 3:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to yoga (I've done about 20 classes so far) and I'm really enjoying it. One problem I have is that I've aggravated an old shoulder injury since taking up yoga. I'm pretty positive that it's down to doing the downward facing dog pose. It's really annoying because I'm just starting to really enjoy the pose (I hated it at first!). So I've two questions to ask for anyone that might know.

1) Are shoulder injuries common from yoga or could it be that I'm doing the pose wrong? It seems to me that there's a lot of strain on the shoulders during class.

2) Are there any specific types of yoga I can do for a while that don't incorporate the shoulder as much or should I just speak to my instructor before my next class to see if I can do something else while the rest of the class does the downward facing dog (and side plank).

Any help/advice much appreciated:D

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

I can see how side plank could be an issue, all right. I've never heard of downward dog giving somebody shoulder problems, though.

I would definitely speak to your teacher before the next class. It might be something to do with your position in the pose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭ivy tilsley

I agree: if you're in any doubt, talk to your instructor. They have to study anatomy and all that and are better equipped to see where you're having problems.