Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

will there be any big sporting events this summer? (May to August)

• 04-05-2011 10:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭

I don't know of any. I know the Rugby World Cup is on, but this is September 9th onwards.

Note to mods: I would post this question in a general sports forum if there was one, but in the sports forums each forum is only for a very specific sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Wimbledon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Lcronin2011

Cork week in crosshaven - sailing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

there is a general sports forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

The International Sunburn Championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

All Ireland hurling and football final....

and you a cork man :rolleyes::p

edit...nevermind. I thought you meant sept onwards.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Munster football final.
    Munster hurling final.

All Ireland hurling final
    All Ireland Football final

Magners semi and final
    Heineken final
    Champions lge final
    FA cup final

....nothing really.

SeaFields wrote: »
    All Ireland hurling and football final....

and you a cork man :rolleyes::p

he cant be a corkman, his location says Dublin

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Europa Final, 18th May in the Aviva

Does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Munster football final.
    Munster hurling final.

Magners semi and final
    Heineken final

Champions lge final
    FA cup final

....nothing really.

Wembeley, Wembeley,
    We're the famous Man United and we're goin' to Wembeley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

The big one.

Manchester United V Barcelona, Champions League Final, Sat May 28th at Wembley Stadium. See you all there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

New Womens Premier league in England imo

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

he cant be a corkman, his location says Dublin

it should read - de real capital!;)

Bound to be a few boxing matches scheduled outside Supermacs in Limerick on saturday nights during the summer. Quality entertainment! :D

it should read - de real capital boi!

fyp :D

Giro d'Italia, Tour de France, Vuelta á Espana.

never sure if it's boi or bai - I usually go for bai... decisions, decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It's a year ending in an uneven number. You always know you're ****ed for summer sport when the year ends in an uneven number :mad:

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

ahh tis always been boi for me.

never sure if it's boi or bai - I usually go for bai... decisions, decisions.

Bai is more phoenetically accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Munster football final.
    Munster hurling final.

All Ireland hurling final
    All Ireland Football final

Magners semi and final
    Heineken final
    Champions lge final
    FA cup final

....nothing really.

You could add in The Irish Open Golf, The Dublin Horse show, The Galway Races and most of the GAA Inter County championship games for the counties involved. Not to mention Grand Prix racing etc etc etc

The OP needs to be more specific. Are you looking for a random international sport event to attend/avoid??

The only major sporting events you could be referring to that are not on is the World Cup and European Championship in Soccer or the Olympic Games - otherwise business as usual in the wonderful world of sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

No sporting events for forseeable future due to recession cutbacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,214 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

The IAAF World Athletics Championships.

Doesn't get any bigger, with every nation on Earth (and a few more besides) attending.

The World Swimming Championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Darts in my local on Saturday if you're interested

Wife carrying championships in sneem, kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Tim Henman will finally win wimbledon :cool:

Wife carrying championships in sneem, kerry.

I think I'd fall at the first hurdle (picking the wife up).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I think I'd fall at the first hurdle (picking the wife up).

Fat yolk is she??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I think he means something like a big tournament with games on every night for a few weeks. So Wimbledon would be the only one that's on telly. (That I can think of.) It's the Stanley Cup (Ice hockey) now in America/Canada if you stay up late and have access to American tv or can stream it.

I get what he's looking for. I will watch sports I'd never normally watch if there's a big tournament on. Better vibe about, more people talking about them, you can get behind teams without having to follow them over a prolonged tournament.

Best tournament like this I found was the Winter Olympics. I much prefer it to Summer ones. Some great sports, like Ski cross and Ice Hockey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

English Derby
    Irish Derby
    Copa America
    GAA Championships
    Ascot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

There's probably some Snooker or Darts or some other pseudo sport on BBC2 all day long

ahh tis always been boi for me.

prefer the girls myself;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

kfallon wrote: »
    English Derby
    Irish Derby
    Copa America
    GAA Championships
    Ascot

Three horse races and a bogger tournament...? feck that!

Copa America, I give you. Thank you for reminding me.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Fat yolk is she??

Not at all. She's a seven stone Filipino. But I have no strength...

('tis all technique and stamina. :D)

Pauleta wrote: »
    Tim Henman will finally win wimbledon :cool:

you've been at the poitín!

the Irish derby on the 26th of june at HQ

HQ? Quinn HQ? Bankcentre? Croke Park? Give us a hint...

...so we can avoid it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

League of Ireland matches every weekend if you're into your football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

wow sierra wrote: »
    You could add in The Irish Open Golf, The Dublin Horse show, The Galway Races and most of the GAA Inter County championship games for the counties involved. Not to mention Grand Prix racing etc etc etc

The OP needs to be more specific. Are you looking for a random international sport event to attend/avoid??

The only major sporting events you could be referring to that are not on is the World Cup and European Championship in Soccer or the Olympic Games - otherwise business as usual in the wonderful world of sport.

Just anything. Soccer is my No.1 sport but i'd watch most sports. I'd like to watch golf and tennis. Definitely gonna watch Wimbledon and Copa America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Le mans 24hour is on in july I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Europa Final, 18th May in the Aviva

Does that count?

No, because none of our local teams (ManU, Liverpool, Arsenal, Celtic etc) qualified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Lots of strenght events on. Irish strenght association website or limerick strongman club's facebook page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Europe leaque final in dublin next week!
    French open tennis and wimbledon
    Champions league final - the mighty barca to put manners on that shower of wánkers they're playing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

CorkMan wrote: »
    Just anything. Soccer is my No.1 sport but i'd watch most sports. I'd like to watch golf and tennis. Definitely gonna watch Wimbledon and Copa America.

FIFA womens world cup??
    I'm surprised it hasn't been mentioned yet tbh! Maybe it's just because it's on here. But it's on for all June and July.
    wiki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Pherekydes wrote: »
    HQ? Quinn HQ? Bankcentre? Croke Park? Give us a hint...

...so we can avoid it.

Well if you don't know where HQ is you're hardly gonna be there are you so by that logic you will be avoiding it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Haye V Klitschko - Sky Sports are trying to convince us this is a big event.

The Lingerie Football League also starts the end of August.