Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The next New York taxi..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Buying something because it's locally built when it's not the best isn't patriotic, it's stupid. That said, the Nissan is ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Anan1 wrote: »
    Buying something because it's locally built when it's not the best isn't patriotic, it's stupid.

Maybe so but the NYC yellow cab is as much a symbol of America as the shamrock is of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

"How ridiculous is it that the next New York taxi will be a vehicle designed for soccer moms"

That bit is a tad silly. Surely a people carrier is exactly the type of thing a taxi should be.

Giving out about it not being cool to be seen in a "minivan" , its a ****ing taxi, if your looking for a status symbol, stop being a cheap ass and get a limo.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Maybe so but the NYC yellow cab is as much a symbol of America as the shamrock is of Ireland.

Theres been different ones though. The Crown Victoria, as he pointed out in the article replaced the old Chequer cabs. They both just happeneds to be car shaped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

This is what the NY taxi will always be to me
    5600821095_0bba150fac_z.jpg

But there are already an awful lot of these already doing the rounds
    5622723283_1dd62aef6d_z.jpg

5600821095_0bba150fac_z.jpg

But there are already an awful lot of these already doing the rounds
    5622723283_1dd62aef6d_z.jpg

This is the one that was the famous NYC cabs:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_Markin

Anythign after is just another yellow car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Give me the Crown Victoria any day over that hideous yoke.

I agree that when one goes to the US, they expect to get an all-American things wherever possible - certainly whenever I am in the US I want my taxi to be a proper old school big-engined American car rather than some crap cheapbox from Japan with a small engine.

Theres been different ones though. The Crown Victoria, as he pointed out in the article replaced the old Chequer cabs. They both just happeneds to be American

FYP:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

This is the one that was the famous NYC cabs:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_Markin

Anythign after is just another yellow car.

I was more referring to the style/shape of the car rather than a MPV or converted van

Give me the Crown Victoria any day over that hideous yoke.

I agree that when one goes to the US, they expect to get an all-American things wherever possible - certainly whenever I am in the US I want my taxi to be a proper old school big-engined American car rather than some crap cheapbox from Japan with a small engine.

Yeah, theres nothing a taxi needs more when sitting in traffic all day is a big V8 burning petrol at a rate of knots.

Im all for people ownign and runnign big engined cars, but this crap of needlessly burnign petrol for the sake of it being american is a load of bull.

Which one? The yellow cab has changed dramatically over the years - look at the checker cab and the Crown Vic, for example. The only thing that's remained constant is the colour, and the new one's still yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Yeah, theres nothing a taxi needs more when sitting in traffic all day is a big V8 burning petrol at a rate of knots.

Ever hear of stop/start technology? Porsche and Merc V8s have this now so there is no reason why a new generation taxi couldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,748 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I've been in a Crown Victoria many times and they handle terribly, mpg on them is atrocious too. Nice room in the back but other than that, poor. In Ireland we need to go either single colour for all cabs or single model, just too much of a variation at the moment from anything like a Peugeot 206 to a Lexus LS430.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Giving out about it not being cool to be seen in a "minivan" , its a ****ing taxi, if your looking for a status symbol, stop being a cheap ass and get a limo.

It wouldnt be for reasons of status that anyone would be complaining about the mini van. Its just that NY cabs are iconic and there is a certain coolness to them that will be lost with these vans.
    I dont get the whole limo thing at all, even in NY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

this is a total disgrace and the wrong descision in my opinion. NYC needs iconic cars for its taxi fleet - these yokes are a joke.

The reason they use a big lazy lowly stressed V8 is simple longevity and reliability. The engines in Crown Vics do intergalactic mileage with little or no trouble. ( a distant relative owns a few in NYC and tells me this )

Ever hear of stop/start technology? Porsche and Merc V8s have this now so there is no reason why a new generation taxi couldn't.

Thats great for someone who wants a V8 for whatever reason. A taxi is a public service vehicle, it doesnt need to be a V8. Regardless of what fuel savign devices you fit to it, it's never going to be as good on fuel as somethign much smaller.

There just isnt a justification for having 13000 V8's burning tons of fuel needlessly every day.

Which one? The yellow cab has changed dramatically over the years - look at the checker cab and the Crown Vic, for example. The only thing that's remained constant is the colour, and the new one's still yellow.

True,

But for many people yellow cab = big American Sedan, most recently (for the last two decades?) and predominantly the Crown Vic. As has been said they're iconic and a symbol of NYC. A Japo people carrier isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

Not a city cyclist myself but those new NYC hiace vans are bad news for cyclists

But for many people yellow cab = big American Sedan, most recently (for the last two decades?) and predominantly the Crown Vic. As has been said they're iconic and a symbol of NYC. A Japo people carrier isn't.
    Yet.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

JMSE wrote: »
    Not a city cyclist myself but those new NYC hiace vans are bad news for cyclists
    Surely the vastly reduced emission levels would be good news for cyclists :confused:

Yet.;)

Ever!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

reduced emissions would be good for everyone, but for a cyclist, lower roofs make for better collision avoidance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭bobdole968

RIP, America
    the old taxis always looked cool in the movies
    chevy-nyc-taxi-1980.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Meh.....just a bog standard Crown Vic, to me it will always be this..

checker-sm.jpg

I agree that its senseless having a big V8, and that a high cab design is more practical for getting in and out, but that Nissan is too bland, thay should have tried for something more recogniseable, more iconic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Is it just me that wonders if Nissan are trying for an award of the ugliest vehicles on the road ? Everything they make lately looks utterly shyte :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Looks like a modern day Johnny Cab:

jc1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Start stop? Feck it in NY the taxis could be pedal powered and the driver still wouldn't get tired

bijapos wrote: »
    Meh.....just a bog standard Crown Vic

Chevy Caprice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

In fairness to the Crown Vic - I was always shocked at how such a huge boat of a car had so little rear leg room in it. And the "trunk" wasn't exactly huge for its external dimensions either, being very shallow and a lot of it take up by the spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

RobAMerc wrote: »
    In fairness to the Crown Vic - I was always shocked at how such a huge boat of a car had so little rear leg room in it. And the "trunk" wasn't exactly huge for its external dimensions either, being very shallow and a lot of it take up by the spare.

There's one car I can think of that might fit the bill so ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I very much agree that the big america V8 saloon(crown vic, caprice or whatever) is an american icon for taxi's, cop cars etc.

But at the end of the day, its a taxi, its point is to move peope around an as spacious and efficient way as possible and to that end the new Nissan will be much better. IMO, taxi's are like vans, style etc take second place to functionality.

As for it being an import, most Americans are over this now and all the best selling cars in the US are from non US manufacturers, anyway, Nissan US is very much an American company, design studios(although admittidly not for the above vanette based taxi) manufacturing plants etc are all based in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

I very much agree that the big america V8 saloon(crown vic, caprice or whatever) is an american icon for taxi's, cope cars etc.

But at the end of the day, its a taxi, its point is to move peope around an as spacious and efficient way as possible and to that end the new Nissan will be much better. IMO, taxi's are like vans, style etc take second place to functionality.

I disagree. I see the point of a taxi as being to move people around in as comfy and efficient way as possible.

If I'm paying a premium for a transport service, I expect to be as comfortable as is reasonably possible. And no matter how you look at it, minivan's are not comfortable - a top heavy, hard suspension vehicle with upright seats never will be - I don't want an extra 3 feet of headroom. I'll take the reclined and soft back seat of the crown victoria anyday.

I disagree. I see the point of a taxi as being to move people around in as comfy and efficient way as possible.

If I'm paying a premium for a transport service, I expect to be as comfortable as is reasonably possible. And no matter how you look at it, minivan's are not comfortable - a top heavy, hard suspension vehicle with upright seats never will be - I don't want an extra 3 feet of headroom. I'll take the reclined and soft back seat of the crown victoria anyday.

But you aren't paying a premium, a public taxi is the most basic form of private hire transport. If you want a premium service in NYC, hire a town car, its still pretty cheap.

I will, however, agree that I see the suspension comfort and, more to the point, longevity as being an issue. NYC roads are in bits, you havn't seen potholes untill you've been there and the usual problem with any other type of vehicle is they simply can't stand up the abuse. Even the Ford expeditions that are commonly used fall apart, and they are an SUV!

The thing is, there are already hundreds of jap based cars used as taxi's in New York, Toyota Sienna's, Nissan Altima's etc

Even the cop cars, there are little or no crown vics(police interceptors) still used in NYC anymore....time are changing:(

I very much agree that the big america V8 saloon(crown vic, caprice or whatever) is an american icon for taxi's, cop cars etc.

As for it being an import, most Americans are over this now and all the best selling cars in the US are from non US manufacturers, anyway, Nissan US is very much an American company, design studios(although admittidly not for the above vanette based taxi) manufacturing plants etc are all based in the US.

There is no need for 100% of taxis to be vans though, and they can take the crown vic body and fit it with a 5kW electric motor and it will be just as good as the V8 version

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

looks like a good choice to me

article-0-0C16020D000005DC-374_634x390.jpg
    Mayor Bloomberg said: 'It’s going to be the safest, most comfortable and most convenient cab the city has ever had'.
    Slated amenities include front and side curtain airbags, anti-microbial upholstery, a 12-volt outlet and two USB plugs for passengers to charge gadgets, a transparent roof (with shade) and a navigation system.

Taxi and Limousine Commissioner David Yassky described Nissan's design as the roomiest and the most ambitious in terms of sustainability. The manufacturer's proposal 'aspires to a fully electric vehicle at some point,' he said.
    The van, which is based on models on sale in Europe and Asia, is said to get 25 miles per gallon in fuel economy.
    Although the city was not legally allowed to make its decision based on fuel efficiency, Nissan's vehicles would double efficiency to 25 miles per gallon from the Crown Victoria's 12 to 13 miles per gallon, the mayor said.

The new models will be the first city taxicabs to offer passenger airbags and to go through crash testing with equipment such as the driver's partition already installed. Doors will slide open sideways, eliminating the possibility of opening a door into an oncoming bicyclist or automobile.

Ford had planned to build its vehicles overseas, while Nissan plans to build them in Mexico then put final touches on them at a New York City-area facility. About 70 percent of Nissan vehicles sold in the U.S. are made in the U.S., according to the automaker.

the other entries:

Ford
    nyc_2014_taxi_ford_1.jpg

Karsan:
    nyc_2014_taxi_karsan_a-525x323.jpg

In fairness though 25mpg is still fairly brutal.

Daegerty wrote: »
    In fairness though 25mpg is still fairly brutal.

I presume it's US mpg which is about 30 imperial mpgs

Absurdum wrote: »
    I presume it's US mpg which is about 30 imperial mpgs

ah ffs I have a 20 year old car that gets more than that. you'd think they'd at least have a decent hybrid

ah ffs I have a 20 year old car that gets more than that.

in NY traffic with passengers and luggage? :p

Absurdum wrote: »
    in NY traffic with passengers and luggage? :p

Depends on if the passengers are american or not I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

25 US mpg is not that bad.

When you consider that a US Gallon is slightly smaller than the imperial (UK) gallon measurement we use here.
    Plus the nature of their urban driving, any MPG improvement is a positive step.

When you consider the improvements to the versatility of the vehicle and space, I think its a good step by NYC.

Hard to criticise from Ireland where a Taxi can be a yaris or a punto or whatever.

There is no need for 100% of taxis to be vans though, and they can take the crown vic body and fit it with a 5kW electric motor and it will be just as good as the V8 version

I doubt 100% of them will be, sure like I said there is a variaty of different models used now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Its like the 1994 Carina's forced into retirement and being replaced with 2011 Primera's. A fuking disgrace! :mad::mad:

I Was VB wrote: »
    Its like the 1994 Carina's forced into retirement and being replaced with 2011 Primera's. A fuking disgrace! :mad::mad:

I was waiting for that! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I Was VB wrote: »
    Its like the 1994 Carina's forced into retirement and being replaced with 2011 Primera's.

:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Not to worry, New York is not really "American" anymore, they are all moving to liberal Euro style rubbish ideas and the whole Bos-Wash area is full of these raving non-American ideas.

Get down to Texas or over to Nevada and you will see the real america where real men drive Muscle cars and not plug in hybrids, gas is cheap and carrying a gun on your person is a way of life.

What a crock of sh1te for a car, it makes me glad for our lack of regulation, I can always skip the crappy Carina and get a S-Class, now imagine if Ireland was to do something they'd probably mandate all cars be those Ssyangon 7 seater thingys.

I love you Stinicker! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 95jag

Seriously, could you realy imagine Robert De Niro driving around in one of them sh1tboxes?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bqLyTdcMLhc

I love you Stinicker! :D

you say that in Texas and you'll be lynched boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Stinicker wrote: »
    I can always skip the crappy Carina

Your only a bollix!!

:p