Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the deal with this modification....

• 04-05-2011 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭

I've seen this on a few modified and skangered out cars... towing eyes? surely these are not all actual track cars so whats the idea? because they dont add anything to the "L@@K" if you ask me!! just another stupid thing to add onto a car.... did they ever hear "less is more"?
    View2-6261603.jpeg
    PICT0187.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Same as big wheels, some people think they look well. There's no accounting for taste..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Probably so you can reverse into sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I'd love if someone could explain the phenomenon of having your bonnet hingers on extensions so it's about 3 inches higher than it should be in front of the windscreen - it looks naff, as most cars I've seen with it are little 4 pot 1.4 engined noise machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Be a handy Yoke for getting out of a tight parking spot, just lift the ass and swing :)

I'd love if someone could explain the phenomenon of having your bonnet hingers on extensions so it's about 3 inches higher than it should be in front of the windscreen - it looks naff, as most cars I've seen with it are little 4 pot 1.4 engined noise machines.
    Presumably to let all that 'turbocharged' heat out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 mackinfella

I believe its supposed to act similar to " vents " hot air exits much faster with the bonnet raised at the top....

But i still would rather press vents into my bonnet that raise it like this...

as for the tow eye at the back?? looks silly imo... but each to their own i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭amandaf675

Ive seen cars with them and they look dacent :) There just bad examples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

Oh great, yet another thing peopel haev decided to whinge about, What are you doing looking up honda civics anyway? Particularly tacky ones like that?

Yes it's not strictly necessary, and when extremely oversized or very brightly coloured etc it looks a bit unsightly, but it could actually be a reasonably good idea on a car with a bodykit, as the towing eye could be obscured (not saying that's a great idea or anything, but it happens) or positioned in such a way as to create a risk of damaging the bumper if you were to use the towing eye in it's original position. (Rope/chain/ winch cable etc could pull against the bumper and either pull it off or crack it).

I don't see much difference between that and an MPack on a BMW to be honest. It's all tat but it's their car, their money, and not really anything to do with me. Unless of course some tat is acceptable here and some isn't?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Handy for when you have an off at the track ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Is it some kind of dog walking device ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Did not expect that from you...

For breathing? Seen tons of high modified cars with lifted bonnet. Some like it, some not... But that's deffently not stupid. I don't have it on my cars thought.

As for eye... Well on some cars it looks class. And a good few of them do go on race track.

Sireously lads, you don't have enough type-rs with drum brakes in the back. awesome Tdi rs4s etc? Or op just sow something new and decided to have some attention and rant a bit?

There are worse things out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Damokc wrote: »
    I've seen this on a few modified and skangered out cars... towing eyes? surely these are not all actual track cars so whats the idea?

To carry extra passengers of course. :D

SaintMatt2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Every few months modified 'car enthusiasts' will come up with something more stupid than the last thing they cable tied onto the car.
    But then thats my opinion:)

Plug wrote: »
    Every few months modified 'car enthusiasts' will come up with something more stupid than the last thing they cable tied onto the car.
    But then thats my opinion:)

We " car enthusiasts ", have to keep you lot entertained. Who else you going to hate? Old drivers? Tdi racers? Tail gaters? Micra road huggers? Ignorant fools with phones in their hands? Ofc no "car enthusiasts" are ultimate evil on the road with theyr... Eyes?

I bet we will get some scientific research how this eye increases speed and deaths on the road....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe it's a pull-string car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Did not expect that from you...

For breathing? Seen tons of high modified cars with lifted bonnet. Some like it, some not... But that's deffently not stupid.

We'll agree to disagree. I think it looks like crap. I've seen tons of modified cars with it, but none which have been highly tuned. Just the usual loud badly modified stuff.

I've infinite respect for something done properly, but I've yet to see this mod being done with an engine that needs it.

We'll agree to disagree. I think it looks like crap. I've seen tons of modified cars with it, but none which have been highly tuned. Just the usual loud badly modified stuff.

I've infinite respect for something done properly, but I've yet to see this mod being done with an engine that needs it.

Might look like crap, but it does have a function. Like I said, you can't argue about taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

We " car enthusiasts ", have to keep you lot entertained. Who else you going to hate? Old drivers? Tdi racers? Tail gaters? Micra road huggers? Ignorant fools with phones in their hands? Ofc no "car enthusiasts" are ultimate evil on the road with theyr... Eyes?

I bet we will get some scientific research how this eye increases speed and deaths on the road....

Ah well sure I know they are not bad mods, their sure are real modified car enthusiasts out there but not loads. It might sound like im tarring them with the one brush but Im not.

I just can't stand a lot of the things they do, like paint drum brakes, put on loud exhausts, rubbish looking body kits, Halfords alloys etc Just look at the scanger mobile thread. I just think its childish IMO. Im sure others will agree and others not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Anan1 wrote: »
    I don't see much difference between that and an MPack on a BMW to be honest. It's all tat but it's their car, their money, and not really anything to do with me. Unless of course some tat is acceptable here and some isn't?;)

Anything thats factory fitted on a car is fine by me so I see a hell of a difference between bmw msport packs and this crap.

mickdw wrote: »
    Anything thats factory fitted on a car is fine by me so I see a hell of a difference between bmw msport packs and this crap.
    You do, but I don't. And that's my point really - tastes vary, so live & let live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

so what about if somebody buys a used BMW, and decides to add an M Sport Pack kit and add it to the car?????

personally i hate modded stuff and like Anan i think msport stuff is crap....
    its in the same league as the RS TDI's ....
    but I dont hold it against enthusiasts who do like modding there cars....

robtri wrote: »
    so what about if somebody buys a used BMW, and decides to add an M Sport Pack kit and add it to the car?????

personally i hate modded stuff and like Anan i think msport stuff is crap....
    its in the same league as the RS TDI's ....
    but I dont hold it against enthusiasts who do like modding there cars....

I hate modded stuff too. IN response to your question, I dont like the idea of someone sticking a kit on a use bmw for 2 reasons.

1/ Ive not seen anybody do the complete fit out, its usually just the bumpers & skirts.

2/ Many times Ive seen this done after some damage has occured so its not something I would be interested in buying.

But it's their BMW/Civic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

exactly...I never got upset over what someone else does to their car.

If it makes them happy, I'm glad they're getting a bit of craic/joy out of their car, as I do myself.

Anan1 wrote: »
    But it's their BMW/Civic?

Fair enough but I mean I would certainly buy a bmw msport bmw in 3 series coupe but not a mocked up or modded car of any kind.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Maybe the lads should use that space to express their masculinity?

balls-car2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Had it done on my rallycar for ages. Mine was to increase the airflow around the rear facing airfilter.

The lads in the puntos etc like people to think they've got a massive power engine in there that's just too big to fit under the bonnet ;) Plus Ive been reliably informed by some well known tuners that a raised bonnet can increase a standard punto from 60 bhp to 800 bhp :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Lads...the young fellas are going to have hair cuts you don't get, clothes you don't like, listen to music that sounds like noise and stick bits of metal in bits you may have even forgotten you have :D

Why would they be any different with their cars ??

Leave 'em to it - complaining about it just sounds like grumpy old men :D:D:D

Had it done on my rallycar for ages. Mine was to increase the airflow around the rear facing airfilter.

The lads in the puntos etc like people to think they've got a massive power engine in there that's just too big to fit under the bonnet ;) Plus Ive been reliably informed by some well known tuners that a raised bonnet can increase a standard punto from 60 bhp to 800 bhp :)

I haven't seem raised bonnet on any 1.4 or ather shot boxes. And I have seen a good few modified cars and way too many shot boxes with fart cannons.

Lowest hp cars I have seen that to be done: Toyota cynos 4e turbo with 200hp and mk1 punto 250hp ( last time I seen it, it's even more now ) . Bouth cars were with dyno prove and like I said those two were least powerful I met with bonnet raised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Anything that's not Factory fitted? I Dont like the massive bodykits And huge exhausts on small cars but I've seen ITR's with genuine Mugen kits on them and they're absolutely gorgeous looking. There's plenty of aftermarket parts that look good.
    I haven't seem raised bonnet on any 1.4 or ather shot boxes.

I've seen it done on a 1.3 Civic :o

Fair enough but I mean I would certainly buy a bmw msport bmw in 3 series coupe but not a mocked up or modded car of any kind.
    In other words, you like your kind of car tinsel and they like theirs.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

IMO the only difference between someone with msport or RS kits and a lad with these type of mods on his civic is the price of the car they can afford. They are both trying to make their car something it isn't and appeal to their particular pier group.

As with all these things its everyone to their own, I struggle to imagine how any civic with a tow hook fitted has effected the life of people enough to feel the need to post up a thread complaining about it.:rolleyes:

If people don't like what other people do to their cars, try to concentrate on something interesting in your own life and stop whinging about what other people do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

I think the quality or stupidity of the mod is generally highlighted in the resale value, and a lot of them are unsellable when people are done with them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

It's their car, it's their money, they like like it, and I presume they really don't give a fcuk what the OP or other's like them think about it. If they want to raise the trailing edge on a bonnet of a one litre car, so what, if they want to glue a bodykit on a car, so what, the real sad individuals are the people driving around getting annoyed by what other people do to their own cars

I think golf clothes(and the game of golf in general) look silly but I'm not sad enough to get annoyed about it and post ranty thread's about it on an internet forum full of threads from people just looking for the next thing to moan about.

Just as a side note on the raised bonnet's, aerodynamically speaking, when a car is moving, air will be drawn in around the gap created by raising the bonnet, causing pressurisation of the engine bay and actually reducing airflow through radiator's, intercooler's, oil cooler's etc

2455_4mg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I've seen it done on a 1.3 Civic :o

Just the one? :p

have seen the raised bonnet on VZR n1's but imo that's kinda warrented...

massive tow eye probably coming from being on drift cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

It's their car, it's their money, they like like it, and I presume they really don't give a fcuk what the OP or other's like them think about it. If they want to raise the trailing edge on a bonnet of a one litre car, so what, if they want to glue a bodykit on a car, so what, the real sad individuals are the people driving around getting annoyed by what other people do to their own cars

I think golf clothes(and the game of golf in general) look silly but I'm not sad enough to get annoyed about it and post ranty thread's about it on internet forum full of threads from people just looking for the next thing to moan about.

No so much getting annoyed really, just having a bit of a laugh at their expense. Those raised bonnets remind me of jedwards hair, and sure it's good to get a bit of a moan off your chest, best place to do it is here really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Yeah, there's a difference between getting annoyed at something (obnoxious parking) and taking the piss out of ridiculous looking mods (skangermobile thread) :D