Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well Done Norwich City

• 02-05-2011 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

Promoted tonight.

The first side to gain back-to-back promotions to the Premier League since Manchester City in 2000.

A fine club, with a lot of passionate and loyal supporters. They also play some great football under one of the best young managers in the business.

They'll be a welcome addition back in the Premier League.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Aw yay, I'm happy for Stephen Fry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Thanks :D Can't wait to see ye again in the Stadium Of Light. What a hell of a day, my nerves are completely shot to pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Look forward to more of this.

:rolleyes: There's always one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

QPR and Norwich - it'll be like the 90's again! All we need now is Forest to win the play-offs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

Well done Paul Lambert what a job

Hopefully he doesn't get the sack if things go wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Tenuous link time!

Norwich
    Robert Fleck
    Chelsea
    Torres

"We all live in a Robert Fleck World"
    (To the tune of yellow submarine)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Weso in the Premier League, nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Zak Whitbread used to play for Liverpool you know (there, staked a claim!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Des wrote: »
    Weso in the Premier League, nice one.

Which in turn will no doubt earn him a place in the Oirish squad, which is well overdue imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Nice to see them being promoted.

Cardiff or Forest to win the play-off place please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Happy to see it as Henri Lansbury has been on load from Arsenal there all season and apparently has been one of their best players. Hoping to see him involved with the first team next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Hopefully Reading go up as well!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,992 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

well done, delighted for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

Great achievement, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

Norwich play great football and deserving of a place in the Premier League.

Great work by Paul Lambert, his staff and of course the players. Martin, Crofts, Hoolahan, Surman & Holt have been excellent.

Jackson has come a long way since his days at Rushden. It's his goals of late that's took them over the finishing line. Top marks to that lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

A real club and not a PLC

Lost their first game in Championship 1 7-1 at home. They stuck with the manager and they deserve everything they get.

Great to see Wes Hoolahan playing on the big stage which he richly deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Great to see them back, getting like the old days of Div 1.

My big memory of Norwich is the huge player brawl in front of the North Bank at Highbury after we got a late winner, think we got deducted points for it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

I wonder will Trap still ignore picking Wes Hoolahan now?:pac:

Fair play Norwich. Fantastic achievement... if they stay up next year, Paul Lambert should be knighted!

doomed wrote: »

Lost their first game in Championship 1 7-1 at home. They stuck with the manager and they deserve everything they get.

League 1 it was with Bryan Gunn in charge. Best defeat ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

flahavaj wrote: »
    QPR and Norwich - it'll be like the 90's again! All we need now is Forest to win the play-offs.

I'd take that. That would be 3 proper football clubs back where they belong IMO.

It's just a shame the likes of Sheffield Wednesday have dropped so far back because if we could get the Norwich's, Forest's, Sheffield Wednesday's etc back in the Premier League we'd be all the better for it.

Forest would be my first choice to win the play-offs, then Reading.

I wouldn't be happy about Cardiff or Swansea going up, dangerous away days on top of other factors. The authorities will be ****ting it if they both get into the final, although they might avoid such a scenario by demoting QPR because of their upcoming point deduction to the play-offs and allowing Cardiff to go up automatically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

doomed wrote: »

If I remember rightly, it was the complete opposite and appointed the manager of the opposing team (Colchester boss Paul Lambert) after their first game drubbing in league 1. Best appointment ever by the sounds of it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

With these promotions, I hope come the bad hairstyles and jerseys, the black leather boots and terrible football pitches with standing terraces. That would be fantastic! :pac:

kensutz wrote: »

Lambert was the Colchester manager that day, wasn't he? Appointed as Norwich manager shortly afterwards IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Delighted for Wes Hoolahan. Made a brave decision to move abroad when most would have given up on their chances of making it abraod. Definitely deserves a place in the Irish squad based on his perforamances this season for Norwich.

Looking forward to see him in the Premier League next season, he certainly has worked hard and earned the opportunity to play in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Fowler87 wrote: »
    If I remember rightly, it was the complete opposite and appointed the manager of the opposing team (Colchester boss Paul Lambert) after their first game drubbing in league 1. Best appointment ever by the sounds of it:D

Sorry lads - bout of alzheimers. Still great news!

Thanks :D Can't wait to see ye again in the Stadium Of Light. What a hell of a day, my nerves are completely shot to pieces.

I know the feeling mate! Hopefully you won't be back there for a long time.

Great to see you back in the Premier League and enjoy the celebrations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Very happy for Norwich. A proper football club, very traditionalist and played very positive football this year, similar to Blackpool last year, but maybe not with as much abandon.

Now Forest, please join them and Rangers in the PL...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Having QPR and Norwich back in the big time will give me a Merlin sticker book nostalgia moment. :)

All that's left is Forest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

keano_afc wrote: »

Look forward to more of this.

I want to go to this Lesbian Avenue she speaks of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Am I going mad, or is Delia Smith also somehow connected to the club too?
    Any other weird celebrity attachments?

Delia is our clubs director along with Stephen Fry who joined this year. Jake Humphrey who hosts the Formula 1 is a massive fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

That_Guy wrote: »
    Having QPR and Norwich back in the big time will give me a Merlin sticker book nostalgia moment. :)

All that's left is Forest.

Oddly reminded me of this:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Delighted for Lambert. Next Celtic manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Well done.....always have a soft spot for these smaller 'country' clubs like Norwich, Ipswich etc. Fair play to Lambert....probably be having the bigger clubs sniffing around him soon but hope they can dig in in the prem now and establish themselves there.....good girl Delia!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Congrats Norwich, well deserved. You put some fancied teams to the sword this year and nicked crucial goals at the end of games, which is a sign of true winners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Well done to Norwich,a great achievement considering they were bottom of League 1 August 2009 when Lambert took them over and transformed the club.

Lambert has showed the credentials required to be a top manager and I would like to see him manage Celtic some time in the future but in the mean time it wouldn't surprise me if he managed Norwich to a top 10 finish in next season's premiership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Simon Thomas off sky sports news follows Norwich doesn't he. My old bbc news channel look east will be delighted to have a premier league team back in the region after years without one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Alan Partridge will be happy that they are back :D
    Maybe Sky could sign him up.