Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car damage

• 02-05-2011 8:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭

So I'm parked in a train-station car-park today waiting for my brother when a woman pulls up beside me with her daughter (about 12) in the passengers seat, next thing I hear a bang, the "youngwan" just swung open the door and smacked in to mine.

I got out to have a look at the damage and it was pretty bad, a noticable dent had appeared.

I waited for the mother to get out and I said the youngwan had just damaged my car with the door, and she said "awh did she" I said yes she did and you are going to have to pay for the damage so you may either give me you're insurance details and you're phone number and she said " I'll do no such thing":eek: and with that she walked away, I did'nt follow her as I did'nt want to cause a scene.

I got her reg number, what do I do now, go to the Guards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

So I'm parked in a train-station car-park today waiting for my brother when a woman pulls up beside me with her daughter (about 12) in the passengers seat, next thing I hear a bang, the "youngwan" just swung open the door and smacked in to mine.

I got out to have a look at the damage and it was pretty bad, a noticable dent had appeared.

I waited for the mother to get out and I said the youngwan had just damaged my car with the door, and she said "awh did she" I said yes she did and you are going to have to pay for the damage so you may either give me you're insurance details and you're phone number and she said " I'll do no such thing"eek.gif and with that she walked away, I did'nt follow her as I did'nt want to cause a scene.

try posting in the motoring section

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

Go straight to the guards as they'll obtain the insurance details for you. Women and especially children are extremely ignorant when it comes to other peoples cars. No respect b**tards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

you didnt ring the guards there and then? bit late so id imagine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Go straight to the gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

purity wrote: »
    Go straight to the guards as they'll obtain the insurance details for you. Women and especially children are extremely ignorant when it comes to other peoples cars. No respect b**tards

What an idiotic thing to say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Should have given her car a good boot, more satisfying than getting her insurance details!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I waited for the mother to get out and I said the youngwan had just damaged my car with the door, and she said "awh did she" I said yes she did and you are going to have to pay for the damage so you may either give me you're insurance details and you're phone number and she said " I'll do no such thing":eek: and with that she walked away, I did'nt follow her as I did'nt want to cause a scene.

Brick through her window!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Reverse over her head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

Kiera wrote: »
    What an idiotic thing to say!

Well your an idiot for not knowing that the guards should be involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

theboss80 wrote: »
    you didnt ring the guards there and then? bit late so id imagine
    How is it to late? Theres no time limit on reporting any crime to the Guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Aaand here come the sweeping generalisations.

OP, I'd say go to the Guards and they could probably advise you what to do next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Brick through her window!
    Yes because I always carry bricks in the car for such circumstances:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Well your an idiot for not knowing that the guards should be involved

Do not post in this thread again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Women and especially children are extremely ignorant when it comes to other peoples cars. No respect b**tards

Jaysus.. give me strength.. :rolleyes:

@ OP - Call the Gardai now, tell them what happened and give them the reg of the car. They'll advise you what to do then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Motors

edit: sorry super-rush, posted at the same time :)