Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Padraig Harrington's Gulfstream at Weston

• 30-04-2011 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭

Has anybody seen the size of Harrington's G3 at Weston??!! I walked through the hangar yesterday and it completely dwarfs the Citations! Some bargain at €1.4m.

I've forgotten the reg, something like N769ME (but that's not it). I didn't know at the time it was his or I'd certainly have taken a photo! Anyone know it and care to put a photo up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭TW Mr Tayto

It's out there a good bit!
    No pictures myself, but I'll message you next time I see it.

1.4, but can you stand up in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Su Campu wrote: »
    Has anybody seen the size of Harrington's G3 at Weston??!! I walked through the hangar yesterday and it completely dwarfs the Citations! Some bargain at €1.4m.

I've forgotten the reg, something like N769ME (but that's not it). I didn't know at the time it was his or I'd certainly have taken a photo! Anyone know it and care to put a photo up?

It's N794ME.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/38016434@N05/5357587614/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

Thanks for that lads. I hadn't been to Weston in the last month but I live in Celbridge so I'll keep an eye and ear out for it now I know it's there.

This is it in the hangar...

157201.PNG

And it would seem you can stand up in it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

I have to ask, I like Padraig, he seems like a nice guy but is he really in that league? Its one thing to buy a jet for 1.4mil (it does seem a bargain) but it's quite another thing to keep it! running costs and maintainance cannot be cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Jaysus, he's come a long way in the past 5 years. He had to slum it on an Aer Lingus flight with me from Dusseldorf to Dublin back in 2006.

The first prize in the weekly tournaments on the US Tour are around the $1.5M mark, so a week's work will almost buy it, and a top 5 finish would pay for the running costs for the year.

With career earnings of above $36M, I think he can afford it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭MightyDucks

Jaysus, he's come a long way in the past 5 years. He had to slum it on an Aer Lingus flight with me from Dusseldorf to Dublin back in 2006.

If he stays playing the way he is he could be going back to Aer lingus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

If he stays playing the way he is he could be going back to Aer lingus

Kinda what I was getting at:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

Is it just me or is that video ridiculous

It made me laugh anyway and I hope their flying capabilities are better than there video making sales pitch ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

Wow. Nicole can do "anything for you that you would like".

Indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Su Campu wrote: »

Ehh that would depend on condition and hours would it not.

As regards Harrington maybe he should go back to flying normal pleb airlines and his golf might improve.
    Missing the cuts ain't going to keep that baby in the air. :rolleyes:
    pclancy wrote: »
    Wow. Nicole can do "anything for you that you would like".

Indeed.

Now if Nicole looked more like some of Ryanairs staff that statement would have more meaning. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Good girl Nicole !!!

Papa would be proud. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

i too believe that the jet is unnecessary esp for one person, actaully i'd go as far to say it's obnoxious and no chips on shoulders here. Does he need such a monster? also wait till those maint bills roll in.....those engines are noisey hoors too.

whats wrong with a tbm 850 for europe and 1st class it for long haul? a lot of big wigs buy the row in first class so riff raff cant pester them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

Surely he would be better off getting a lease in one or using a company like NetJets or something.

€1.4mil seems suspiciously cheap to me, that Jet must have more cycles on it than a hawaiian island hopper or have some undocumented repairs or be coming up to a D check or something because something doesnt quite add up.

The maintenance will be huge, even using a company to manage a maintenance program for it will be costly, let alone even carry out the actual maintenance costs!

As of 28th March 2010 there were 3669 landings on it. Not sure what else is important but you can have a look here...

http://www.omnijet.com/aircraftpages/g3483/status.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

Harrington is a qualified accountant and notoriously " frugal". He's been trying to convince himself to buy a jet for years. Only when he got a cracking deal like this did he jump. This is basically a tool for his job, so he can maximise his earnings, and time with family. The guy has career tournament earnings of over $ 20m. With sponsorship & endorsements etc, thats sure to at least double. Id say he'll be able to manage the bills alright......
    Nice smell of begrudgery around these parts tho'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

Exactly its his money he can spend it as he sees fit.

Was it Greg Norman who used own a 747 or is that just an urban legend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

john travolta has his own jet and he is a pilot himself i think he ownes an airbus A320 afaik and he flyes his own helicopter as well clint eastwood is the same he flyes his own gulfstream jet and ownes his own jet ranger 407 helicopter which he also flyes himself if ya have the money go for it i know i would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

Travolta owns a 707-138 N707JT an ex Qantas machine and painted in retro scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭nag

Travolta's gaff on Google Maps

travoltahome.jpg

Would be the best episode of cribs, EVER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

spyderski wrote: »
    Nice smell of begrudgery around these parts tho'

not me, I wish him well but it's a hell of an outlay accountant or not. If I won the euro mill I still wouldnt buy one......the pilot miser in me will always be there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Greg Norman was one of the first people to have a BBJ. Don't know if he still has it. Harrington's jet is available for hire when he's not using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭LadyTBolt

roundymac wrote: »
    Harrington's jet is available for hire when he's not using it.

Are you sure about that?
    His aircraft is an N reg which, as far as I know, is for private use only and not for hire for reward.
    If his aircraft is available for hire when he is not using it would be registered on an AOC. AOC registered aircraft in Ireland have tail numers with EI----.
    Is this not the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Nope he could have the likes of Netjets look after the MX and AOC details for hiring the acft out to other people when not using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭TW Mr Tayto

She's baaaaaaaack :D
    Landed just 5 minutes ago. Being tugged into the hanger soon I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

She's baaaaaaaack :D
    Landed just 5 minutes ago. Being tugged into the hanger soon I reckon.

A 78 on day two has that effect...