Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

diesel dump??

• 29-04-2011 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭

got myself a 1.8tdci 3dr focus yesterday, black, i put 17inch white alloys on it today and tinted the windows and a sunvisor, now my next plan is to put in a diesel dumpvalve and put on a exhaust system onto it. any suggestions? also is it worth my while putting a bodykit on it as il be lowering it in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

boxermad wrote: »
    got myself a 1.8tdci 3dr focus yesterday, black, i put 17inch white alloys on it today and tinted the windows and a sunvisor, now my next plan is to put in a diesel dumpvalve and put on a exhaust system onto it. any suggestions? also is it worth my while putting a bodykit on it as il be lowering it in time.

:o

Would you not just consider a remap? Forget the exhaust and dump valve they will make you look like a tit.
    Try www.superchips.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

imo dont put on a sewer pipe type exhaust, take out the cat and put in a straight stainless section and you'll get a chooooo effect sound when you change gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭boxermad

was gona put in a dump cos i like the sound of them. the exhaust i had in mind im not sure who make it but there is a lever by the driver seat in which yu can open u the exhaust to louden it or keep it closed to keep it quiet. i had a plan on remapping it but was advised not to cos it gets smokey afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

I have yet to hear a diesel dump valve that sounds good. The lever you're on about for the exhaust would be an exhaust control valve, basically just a valve in the exhaust piping which opens and shuts the desired amount to increase/decrease the flow through the exhaust. Again not something I'd really bother with on a diesel as they dont sound good with a straight through type exhaust system anyway.

I'd just get it remapped if I was you. If its done by someone who knows their stuff then you should have no issue. It shouldn't be smokey unless the boost is turned up too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Any pics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

The mods your talking about can work ok on petrols but not diesels. Not without a lot more supporting mods at least.

Diesels have small relitivly low pressure turbo's so putting a free flowing exhaust on or removing the cat will simply result in the back pressure being too low and the turbo spooling slower. In many diesels the cat is also combined with the Diesel particulate filter and if you remove this it will get smokey and have trouble with NCT/DOE.

As for diesel dumpvalves....well IMO they only serve the purpose of making you the laughing stock on anyone with an interest in cars.

A remap will make the car smokey? My advise is stop taking tuning advice from the lads in the local mcdonalds car park and get on to some like chippedire to get more actual performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

A remap will make the car smokey? My advise is stop taking tuning advice from the lads in the local mcdonalds car park and get on to some like chippedire to get more actual performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭boxermad

getting it remapped next week il try post a pic of her in the coming days. have 17inch alloys on her and lowering her 40mill. thinking of a 5zigen exhaust now they are relativly quiet but nice rasp off it all the same. what ye think?

boxermad wrote: »
    getting it remapped next week il try post a pic of her in the coming days. have 17inch alloys on her and lowering her 40mill. thinking of a 5zigen exhaust now they are relativly quiet but nice rasp off it all the same. what ye think?

5zigen don't make an exhaust for the Focus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

if i was you and looking for extra performance from your diesel!

1.take off heavy white 17s and throw in bin
    and get lightweight 15s-look better and increase in performance

2.remap

if ya really want a bit of noise without getting a petrol then stick on a back box before ya get it mapped

please dont get a dump valve till ya get a performance car if i hear another fella in a school uniform go by in a toledo or bora with 18inch monsters with the cat taken out goin ooooomv ill go crackers!ha

fair play though lad nice to see a bit of modifying going on still and im a fan of the focus look when lowered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gregsor

5zigen don't make an exhaust for the Focus...

It is a good one,their stickers are universal though.

Gregsor wrote: »
    It is a good one,their stickers are universal though.