Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf

• 28-04-2011 2:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭

So, is it "a good walk spoiled" - Twain

or does it matter a fiddlers as it's an excuse for a good walk whilst getting to whack something hard and try to get it into a hole.

Personally, I was always against it, kinda, as the son of a golf widow. But lately there's been some golf clubs knocking around, a very reasonable driving range, a more reasonable par 3 (which isn't just some pitch 'n putt) and I am loving going out and getting better and better.
    McIlroy, watch this space dude

So, is it a tossers game or is it a great reason to get out in the fresh air

Edit : Poll fail rightly pointed out, fourth option should be Hate it (have played), change if you like Mods :)

Do you like golf? 111 votes

Like it (never played)
    0% 0 votes
    Hate it (never played)
    9% 10 votes
    Like it (have played)
    2% 3 votes
    Hate it (never played)
    75% 84 votes
    What's your beef? I couldn't care less...
    12% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I hate it cause i'm terrible at it -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Get in the hole !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

yea!!!!!!!!!!! yea yea yea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! yea!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I've only played pitch and putt but I love watching Golf of the telly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Good stress relief with a driver smacking it down the fairway. I like watching the major championships.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Dundalk crazy golfing champion 2005 :cool:

..please ladies, one at a time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Ruu wrote: »
    Good stress relief with a driver smacking it down the fairway. I like watching the major championships.

Particularly the two American ones, for the golf obviously but also the way the American crowd react to every shot :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Crazy Golf ftw.

So much more challenging than the Masters.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

good for a laugh all right, nice when you whack a shot in the sweet spot and it doesnt rick o shea up your arm afterwards

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

thought it was sooo boring before I played, now I know it is amazzzzzing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Not my cup of tea at all...almost as boring as tennis:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Golf, just like other 'sports' such as Snooker, Baseball and even tennis etc are fun to play. But dont translate well to watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Snooker is great to watch if you're wrecked. Just lyin' back, chillin', vegetatin', workin' out the angles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Bit of a pole fail there. I hate it and have played.

I think its my personality though I’m not patient enough for the game and get frustrated too easily with myself when I make a mistake or if I don’t do well which just makes me worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Great to play on a warm summer's evening.
    Hell yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Great game even if its really difficult. As long as you hit one good shot in a round you'll keep coming back.

Getting much cheaper to play these days as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Played it a few times but seemed to get stuck on the 19th hole longer than I spent on the whole course, so until I can control my drinking I will give it a miss for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

I've played a few rounds of crazy golf before now. But as for "proper" golf, I have no experience of it, nor do I want any.

And think of all the space that is wasted in constructing a golf course. And think of all the time that is wasted in broadcasting a golf tournament. And think of all the people that are wasted in the whole business of golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

OPENROAD wrote: »

Particularly the two American ones, for the golf obviously but also the way the American crowd react to every shot :D

Except that there are 3 majors in America. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

OPENROAD wrote: »

Three of them are American.

Fantastic sport!

I love playing it, watching it and betting on it. It really is a great game to watch I really don't understand people saying its boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Not a sport. It's a game. If dressing up like a nerd and walking around after a ball is your bag OP all I can say is, wasted life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Playing more rounds now a days but still poor at it. Just like getting out there with the mates on a nice day and having a bit of banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

id rather throw peanuts into an empty pint glass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

GrizzlyMan wrote: »
    id rather throw peanuts into an empty pint glass!

What par would you give yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It's not my bag to be honest but I can imagine on a day like today, 4 or 5 of ye heading out for a round followed by a few drinks, it's a cracking passtime!

Hate watching it, does nothing for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

What par would you give yourself?

not too sure but my Handicap is pretty bad after a few jagermisters:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Any option for hating it having played it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Doc wrote: »
    Bit of a pole fail there.
    Bit of a spelling fail there Doc... *runs*:D

Naw I'm with Twain on this one. Of all the pointless ways for ungainly buggers to play a ball game golf is up at the top. Sure, watching a top player drive is impressive, but any top player in damn near any sport is impressive. Shít some fat darts player from Cleethorpes is impressive, but the average golfer? Some tubby lower middle management guy from "accounts" called "Dave(no, my name is David) with a permanent telephone voice"? God no. It's all a bit sad.

At least its not as much the class ridden nonsense it used to be. It's opened up a lot. This can only be a good thing. Remove some of the insufferable beige attached to the pursuit like Tiger woods did. It's a beige sport. A couple o lads kicking a football around a park with coats for goals has more human juices in it than a years worth of top level golf in my humble.

Then the golf courses, which are remarkably crap for nature. You'd think they would be better than scrubland but apparently not.

All told, never trust any sport with an overabundance of cardigans and loafers on participants under 40.

TL;DR I'm sitting on the fence on this one. :pac:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Watch it the odd time on the telly... bout it really...

so... more about this beef?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Ruu wrote: »

John Daly was asked at the Open a few years ago, "what do you think of when you're hitting those big drives". Daly replied "my three ex wives".

Great game and a great way to spend a few hours with friends. Looking out the window now I wish I was on the first.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

I always thought is was very boring game but then i began playing pitch and putt and got into golf. Still early days,only learning basics but is an addictive game and when you hit a nice shot you just keep coming back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Dundalk crazy golfing champion 2005 :cool:

..please ladies, one at a time!

Did you beat pighead in a play off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Can't watch it, utterly boring to me.

I did like playing it when I was younger and wouldn't say no to a game if I was asked to come along. My rusty clubs are hanging around somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I'm after getting bitten by the bug - went to the driving range twice last weekend and played a few holes too - can't wait to play again this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Love Golf, happiest days of my life were playing Pitch & Putt on the old ALSAA course that was about as close to the airport runway as you could get. Malahide have a great Par 3 golf course also which I used to enjoy playing. Driving ranges are a great stress buster too.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I love this craic about business deals being struck on the golf course, like we're all part of some zany 80s American soap opera with shoulder pads and bureau drawers full of oak-aged Scotch.

I'd love to play a bit but it's completely unaffordable over here and nobody I knows plays. Irish golfers don't know how good tehy have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

If dressing up like a nerd and walking around after a ball is your bag OP all I can say is, wasted life.

You can pretty much reduce most sports/games to this level if you want. Off hand, I cant think of a sport you don't dress up for.

Footballers dress up and run around a pitch after a ball.

Snooker players dress up and hit a ball on a table with a stick.

Tennis players dress up and run around hitting a ball over a net.....etc..etc.

I think golf is boring to watch but I know a few people who play and they love it. I hit a few baskets of balls off the driving range once, which I enjoyed. Some muscles were a bit sore in places the next day though.

I used to play pitch and putt a little and found it good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I like playing it but golf clubs have been known to fly if I'm having a particularly shítty game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Love Golf, happiest days of my life were playing Pitch & Putt on the old ALSAA course that was about as close to the airport runway as you could get. Malahide have a great Par 3 golf course also which I used to enjoy playing. Driving ranges are a great stress buster too.

Trying to hit the lorry yoke that collects the golf balls provides hours of enjoyment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Thrill wrote: »

I used to play pitch and putt a little and found it good fun.

Dressing up like a civilian and gambolling round a smallish field after a lake ball. Phfffft!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

orourkeda wrote: »
    Did you beat pighead in a play off?

Yes, he ran off after seeing the mascot was a cow and i won by default.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Like it (never played)
    Hate it (never played)
    Like it (have played)
    Hate it (never played)
    What's your beef? I couldn't care less...

Nice poll options :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

GrizzlyMan wrote: »
    not too sure but my Handicap is pretty bad after a few jagermisters:(

Howaya Mister

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Could be worse, could be cricket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

Golf.....nice car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Cybercubed

Great sport. Play it once a week.

Have played it, don't like it.

However, it's been used excellently as a way of keeping land in a semi-natural state. I live in Howth and AFAIK the two golf courses here are largely responsible for why we've been able to keep so much land away from developers.

I think the Bull Island course serves a similar purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

I'm left-handed and always found it awkward swinging a golf club or hurley, so never really played it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Driving range = ultimate stress relief :D

Like golf...
    Prefer crazy golf.

Hate watching it though-its like darts that way