Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best hedging for privacy

Options
  • 28-04-2011 1:01am

Hi folks,

I'm new to gardening having bought a house a while back so please excuse what may appear to be newbie questions

I have nearly an acre of a site and I want to put up hedging on 3 sides.

Here's what I want....

I want to use 2 different types of hedging so that its a broken pattern all around the border of the site.

I want something that isn't going to grow mental (leylandi) and wont grow above 6-8 feet fully mature.

Here's what I need to know...

1. What types of hedging would be best?
    2. What kind of cost am I looking at?
    3. How do I go about doing the planting?

For #3 I'm thinking of doing the following:
    Rotovate the border out to 2 feet from fence, topsoil, lay the black weedproof stuff (dont know what its called), cut holes in it, plant and cover with bark or gravel or something like that

I really need help with 1 & 2 and would like to know if I'm on the right track with 3

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

We have a Thuja hedge, does the trick nicely (there are various types with slightly different shades of green)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Beech hedging is probably one of the best looking hedges, though it is slow to establish. You could also try escallonia which is green and sometimes gives a little flower , quick to establish and makes a very solid hedge. Griselinia is a lovely light green but many of them have been damaged by severe frosts in last two years.