Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIXED PENALTY NOTICE

• 27-04-2011 12:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭

Was picked up by the gardai for doin somethin seriously stupid at weekend, the cop said he would be sending me a fine in the post, so i presume this is a fixed penalty notice, i am heading off on the j1 at end of may. I have a conviction for possesion of cannabis 8 years ago, received a 300 quid fine. absolutely devastated about what happened the weekend, when i pay this fixed penalty notice will it come up when i go to the states again when i have to get the garda clearence form? or cos it didnt go to court and result in conviction will that mean that i dont have to disclose it,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

What are the details of the offence you commited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭syd barrett

Oh and its a public order offence, by right i should have to pay 140 euros but a local garda told me its at the guard who did me's discretion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭syd barrett

its embarrasing as feck, got caught doin a number one,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

a number one?? is this a piss pull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

what did u wipe ur arse with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 ShortyG

HI all can anyone help me ?

I was stopped by the guards i was supposed to have crossed a continuous white line in front of them !!! he said i would be recieving a fixed penelty notice although 2 and half months later i've heard nothing.... strange thing was before he left he said ur not driving that long and should keep my licence clean ??

how long does it take to get the notice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

ShortyG wrote: »
    how long does it take to get the notice

Anything up to 6 months, I believe.

Paulw wrote: »
    Anything up to 6 months, I believe.

Thanks Paulw ...

Six months thats serious want it outta the way lol

was kinda hoping he was just trying to scare me heard of them doing that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Normally it's only a few weeks though.

Maybe he did just scare you enough.

Paulw wrote: »
    Normally it's only a few weeks though.

Maybe he did just scare you enough.

Yeah he did scare me into being more careful on the road although im sure i did not cross the white line as i was not speeding or overtakin i was just going shoppin was in no hurry to be anywhere...

is there anyway of finging out for sure or should i just wait and see ???