Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A good finish

• 26-04-2011 11:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭

Went out this evening with the ucaller and the shotgun to try and and bang a few grey crows .Sat in the cover under an oak tree for two hrs solid watching them circling way out of range and sitting up on the trees on the opposite ditch making a laugh of me ,then just as it was starting to get dark in comes one over my head BANG BANG missed the f##ker, couldn't believe i missed such a handy shot after sitting there for so long,stood there for five mins giving out to myself in my head with the caller still going in the background then out of the corner of my eye i see the long grass starting to move fast and and a flash of red,spun around with the gun and bang Charlie smoked!Left her out in the grass and switched the call on to magpie cackle,couple of mins later two greys landed over my head in the tree ,BANG BANG il have them too.Then just as i was just going to pack up another one landed over my head to check out the fox gave him a number 6 as well.For an evening that started off slow got a nice little return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Xplor.er

nice bit of vermin control there lb, waiting for two hours and nothing happening, you have better patience than i do.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Xplor.er wrote: »
    nice bit of vermin control there lb, waiting for two hours and nothing happening, you have better patience than i do.:rolleyes:
    was either stay there or go home and cut the grass or get nagged to do some job in the gaff:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Xplor.er

how do you find the Ucaller? i use a mundi sound caller and the c**ts just wont come into it. i tried putting a cut up rabbit in the field but still no joy

Xplor.er wrote: »
    how do you find the Ucaller? i use a mundi sound caller and the c**ts just wont come into it. i tried putting a cut up rabbit in the field but still no joy
    last night i got 4 grey crows with the crow call(first time i used it in that spot),but tonight they were way more cautious and only one came in before i left the dead fox out and switched to a magpie cackle.I found the same thing happening last week (thats when i bought it)they seem to kop on that the call leads to danger.From now on i am going to go to a different area each night and see how i fair out.

lb1981 wrote: »
    last night i got 4 grey crows with the crow call(first time i used it in that spot),but tonight they were way more cautious and only one came in before i left the dead fox out and switched to a magpie cackle.I found the same thing happening last week (thats when i bought it)they seem to kop on that the call leads to danger.From now on i am going to go to a different area each night and see how i fair out.
    Oh by the way i could have shot black crows and jack daws all evening it brings them in fine ,i just let them go because i was after the greys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

Went out last week with the u-caller after crows aswell... left out a few pigeon decoys on a ploughed field because i have no crow ones... within five minutes there were about 20 crows screaming above me... got 4 of them BUT there were no grey lads. I reckon the ucaller is a serious bit of kit for calling the crows... use the external speaker and youll see them coming for miles!!

rambo87 wrote: »
    Went out last week with the u-caller after crows aswell... left out a few pigeon decoys on a ploughed field because i have no crow ones... within five minutes there were about 20 crows screaming above me... got 4 of them BUT there were no grey lads. I reckon the ucaller is a serious bit of kit for calling the crows... use the external speaker and youll see them coming for miles!!
    a bit of fresh road kill with the grey crow call has worked for my mate a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

lb1981 wrote: »
    Went out this evening with the ucaller and the shotgun to try and and bang a few grey crows .Sat in the cover under an oak tree for two hrs solid watching them circling way out of range and sitting up on the trees on the opposite ditch making a laugh of me ,then just as it was starting to get dark in comes one over my head BANG BANG missed the f##ker, couldn't believe i missed such a handy shot after sitting there for so long,stood there for five mins giving out to myself in my head with the caller still going in the background then out of the corner of my eye i see the long grass starting to move fast and and a flash of red,spun around with the gun and bang Charlie smoked!Left her out in the grass and switched the call on to magpie cackle,couple of mins later two greys landed over my head in the tree ,BANG BANG il have them too.Then just as i was just going to pack up another one landed over my head to check out the fox gave him a number 6 as well.For an evening that started off slow got a nice little return.

well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Nice looking fox lb, did the same few weeks ago while out after crows, crows weren't having none of me being there:mad: so waited outside a den blast to foxes coming out of a den with the shottie:D I'm still after one big vixen in a field, I lamp the field weekly and she's always there but where the field is there is houses behind and on each side:mad: the only way to get her is off the road which I won't be doing, might just bring the shottie up and wait until she comes out;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Excelent work well done.
    That was 2 hours well spent even if it all happened at the very end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Not a bad evenings work at all lb.. Nice looking fox!

Fair play!

Thanks Lads ,yeah she was one of the better looking ones i have shot lately,lot of mangy looking ones around.Went back out this evening not a sausage!!!! If i get out for a few hrs tomorrow il try a different strip of wood.