Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft shop on crime call?

• 26-04-2011 9:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭

Who got robbed ?

Saw a piece on crime call where they showed some bald guy rob a display gun from a shelf in an airsoft store. Security footage was very clear.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Floodric

Yeah pretty sure it was MIA, could be wrong though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭toshiba2010

seen it man so funny :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

obviously hilarious seeing airsoft guns stolen.... :rolleyes:

hope they catch the thieving pikey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭AUDIE MURPHY

what makes you think its a "pikey".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

The following is amusing:
    1. The copper kept correcting himself every time he referred to it as a gun - he'd do a double take and call it an airsoft device.
    2. The lad in MIA actually managed to tuck an M4 into his jacket and walk out without getting noticed.
    3. That my life has become this sad that I actually watch fecking Crimecall on a Tuesday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevinhalvey

i seen that it said blanchardstown area so id be fairly sure its M.I.A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭mafiaboy

anybody got the clip iv tried www.crimecall.com but its not working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Spooky-Vinny

Why so offended?

IT WAS YOU WASN'T IT?!?!?!
    xXx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

http://www.garda.ie/Crimecall/Default.aspx

Tonight's episode features are not updated on the site yet.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I'm pretty sure it was being used as out of literal context (despite the "literal" context being a derogatory slang term anyway). The word had multiple meanings based on inflection.
    For example, calling someone a "smeghead" (mods will note this isn't an offensive insult unless you're nerdily familiar with a certain tv show) implies a general dislike of inferred person. It does not imply said person has smeg oozing from their cranial cavities.

Now that the needless overreaction has been dealt with, had anyone heard this had happened prior to it's release on national tv? Or, indeed, why the shop owner agreed to it? Seems a rather ludicrous decision given the tenterhooks of public relations upon which airsofts reputation rests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭1man3letters

mia sometimes keep "shells" on the walls for display 2, say they'll be doin alot more of that, but airsoft,stealing dont like that mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Cause we live in houses, we can safely assume everything bad in the world happens because of people who dont live in houses....

Because its an expression.

Now trot on! :pac::pac::pac:

As for shells... thats going to be difficult, as some airsoft guns dont go together very well without a gearbox inside... unless MIA is gluing together a lot of 'broken' guns to display, thats some overheads just for display purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

NakedDex wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure it was being used as out of literal context (despite the "literal" context being a derogatory slang term anyway). The word had multiple meanings based on inflection.
    For example, calling someone a "smeghead" (mods will note this isn't an offensive insult unless you're nerdily familiar with a certain tv show) implies a general dislike of inferred person. It does not imply said person has smeg oozing from their cranial cavities.

I think the issue is not that it's insulting to the person it's directed at, but by its implication to those it's comparing them to. If somebody does something silly and I call them a big Down's syndrome Mong, they get that it's not meant literally but it's still insulting to people with Down's syndrome.

It's similar to using the word "fag" in a derogatory manner.

Anyway, I'm not taking offence, just putting this out there in case people hadn't thought about it.

Ok, fair play, I'm sorry for using the term 'thieving pikey'. This was not directed at anyone in paticular. It was an expression that is fairly common place, and one I used without thinking.

If any of the traveling community see this, Accept my appologies for any offence caused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭moggser

Firekitten wrote: »
    If any of the traveling community see this, Accept my appologies for any offence caused.

they will see it when they stroke the bollox out ya gaff

moggser wrote: »
    Can anyone translate 'northsider' for me? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

moggser wrote: »
    Can anyone translate 'northsider' for me? :rolleyes:

"The individuals who may have been defamed by your comments will become aware of your apology once they have broken into, and subsequently burgled your abode for the entirety of its contents.

The implication of my statement is they will have access to your personal security information which will, in due course, reveal the apology if they explore boards.ie under your credentials."

"The individuals who may have been defamed by your comments will become aware of your apology once they have broken into, and subsequently burgled your abode for the entirety of its contents.

The implication of my statement is they will have access to your personal security information which will, in due course, reveal the apology if they explore boards.ie under your credentials."
    How kind of you Hivemind, I must admit, your 'Nort soyda' is quite fluent, I had no Idea what he said!

Indeed, I expect if they did 'stroke the bollox out of my gaff, I'd hope they would stop to check my boards.ie account and come accross said appology.
    Again, thanks for translating, I hope to learn this strange, and vibrant new language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

How kind of you Hivemind, I must admit, your 'Nort soyda' is quite fluent, I had no Idea what he said!

Indeed, I expect if they did 'stroke the bollox out of my gaff, I'd hope they would stop to check my boards.ie account and come accross said appology.
    Again, thanks for translating, I hope to learn this strange, and vibrant new language.

It's mostly monosyllabic.
    Mostly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭TNTQ

The following is amusing:
    3. That my life has become this sad that I actually watch fecking Crimecall on a Tuesday night.

The truth is you were watching Desperate Housewives, switched over during the break and saw it :pac:

(I only know this because it's how I saw it when herself started flicking;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

In fairness I'd say at this stage they will just do it for laughs.....

Feck it, they wont see it, cant get wifi in a caravan. I take it all back.

Because its an expression.

Now trot on! :pac::pac::pac:

Believe me i couldnt give a sh1t about who your on about and anyone that knows me knows that , but you cant pick and choose who to blame for bad things that happen in this world, i could spout on about stuff that would get me a fine or inprisonment, but i hold back. .just about...and i dont trot .... hugs and kisses B

um, Trot was a reference to the traveling comunity's afinity for horsies... it was a joke...

AH jesus dont take things so seriously, nobody was having a go at anyone, and nobody is having a go at anyone now. Nobody is blaming anyone either.

Jaysus there's more unnecessary wriggling and blaming going on here than in parliament...

ha i know i know im only having a laugh, ha dont you just love the reation on boards. and i think they like transits more than horses now, at least you wont get your arm chopped of at the Ford.

Yeah unfortunately the Victor Meldrew, ' I don't belive it!' reaction is 99% serious on here, one can never tell.

Yeah, they prefer transits, but you still see the kids wandering around on horses bareback, can of cider in hand...

I think we should just blame the Welsh for this terrible theft. Atleast nobody is about to defend them and give me another headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭OddysAirsoft

My mum's welsh - explain yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

Ah jaysus Oddy, I'm sorry to hear that... :D

Explains a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

this is not the off topic thread guys