Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What magazines do you read/are you subscribed to?

• 26-04-2011 5:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭

I'm subscribed to the National Geographic magazine and Time magazine too. I love NG as it always has something fascinating and has terrific photographs,Time is interesting enough too.

Anyone else read magazines, or with the exception of OK, Heat etc and that type of thing, does the internet do the job?

Anyone subscribed to anything unusual?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Yeah the internet does the job for me, read everything online these days. Can't justify spending money on magazines when I can read what I want online for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭!MAVERICK!

Flying in Ireland, Golfs Digest and Rugby World.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

barely legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Love Pick me Up, Love It, Take a Break, Thats Life, Chat.

Where else you gonna get such great headlines like "My cruel husband came back as Splashy, my goldfish," "Gastric Bypass left me starving for sex," "Fanged beast grew by my baby," "I gave birth to my baby on the loo," "Stocking shelves made my vagina collapse," "Squeezing a spot nearly killed me," among many more gems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

None now. A few years ago, before i had broadband, i used to subscribe to a video game magazine. I remember one day leaving the house to go and pick it up, mammy asked me where i was going, i said 'just to pick up my game magazine'. She just looked at me and said 'Oh..' Took me a while to realise what it sounded like i said...
    gay magazine

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

orourkeda wrote: »
    barely legal

Shouda guessed! :pac: :D

Myself:

National Geographic
    Monocle
    Newsweek
    Time
    ...And a few work related magazines from the states (can't be got here).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

i get prudence by sub. its a womans mag that prides itself on its budgetinbg aims.
    i also read stellar most months - its a lot better than most rags ive ever read - nice to read at the local coffee shop with an extra large latte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Used to get FourFourTwo every month but gave up buying it about 4 years ago!

I wouldn't even buy a paper these days apart from Racing Post on a Saturday/big day of racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

Time
    Vanity Fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Wrestling Observer Newsletter
    Home Cinema Choice
    Sound On Sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

beastility uncovered
    stalker [only comes out at night though so you have to be quick]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Aishae wrote: »
    i get prudence by sub. its a womans mag that prides itself on its budgetinbg aims.
    i also read stellar most months - its a lot better than most rags ive ever read - nice to read at the local coffee shop with an extra large latte

Stellar is just one long advertisement!The fact that is Irish doesn't make up for the OTT product placement and poor writing.

I subscribe to Private Eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

KeithM89 wrote: »
    None now. A few years ago, before i had broadband, i used to subscribe to a video game magazine. I remember one day leaving the house to go and pick it up, mammy asked me where i was going, i said 'just to pick up my game magazine'. She just looked at me and said 'Oh..' Took me a while to realise what it sounded like i said...
    gay magazine

I'm sure she wasn't surprised :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

'Alive magazine' great read - just the other day there was a great article in it about tvs in your kids room - real eye opener

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Oranage2 wrote: »
    ...tvs in your kids room - real eye opener
    Well if it woke them up - it would be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I subscribe to BBC History magazine and Time. Everything else I blag for free on the intertubes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭QuinnC88

High Times is a fantastic magazine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I'll occassionally buy Company or Cosmopolitan, but only a couple of times a year. I don't really like magazines much. When I was younger I used to get them all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭ClareVisitor

Four Four Two (subscribed) and New Scientist (buy reasonably regularly). Good bathroom reading material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Dont subscribe but I buy Rugby World and Emerald rugby every month and T3 and/or Stuff most months. Used to have a subscription to Time about 10 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,162 ✭✭✭Kiva.D

Utne Reader
    Real Simple
    and a few architecture publications

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Rugby World/Air Forces Monthly/Flying In Ireland/Ships Monthly/An Cosantoir/Bizarre! Magazine/Zoo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Einhard wrote: »
    I subscribe to BBC History magazine and Time. Everything else I blag for free on the intertubes.
    Is that history magazine a good one? Been looking to subscribe to one myself.

panda100 wrote: »
    Stellar is just one long advertisement!The fact that is Irish doesn't make up for the OTT product placement and poor writing.

I subscribe to Private Eye.

theyre by far not the worst offenders at over advertisement. like many big fat glossies that are 70% ads and feck all articles too....
    i dont like u anymore - it was a mag with potential when it first came out. but when it was bought out by another company it changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Is that history magazine a good one? Been looking to subscribe to one myself.

It's excellent, but there's too much emphasis on British history for my liking. Being a BBC publication, that's understandable obviously, but it would make it more interesting if they varied it some more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Irelands Own

I'm on the lookout for someone to marry with at least 80 acres of farmland.

Einhard wrote: »
    It's excellent, but there's too much emphasis on British history for my liking. Being a BBC publication, that's understandable obviously, but it would make it more interesting if they varied it some more.

You should get the podcasts if you don't already. They interview the people who write the current articles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 no_bother

phoenix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

For my Grandfather I set up a subscription for National Geographic. Then I'll read it when I visit.

I used to get The Economist, Time & Newsweek. Dropped Time & Newsweek as I thought too many of their articles were slanted in opinion, seemed to be taking their data from Government sources only or other articles that took info from one source only. At least with the Economist when they are putting off-center opinions out there they put it out as a discussion piece to be debated/commented on. I don't subscribe anymore, but would still read The Economist in the Library.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Doublin wrote: »
    For my Grandfather I set up a subscription for National Geographic. Then I'll read it when I visit.

I used to get The Economist, Time & Newsweek. Dropped Time & Newsweek as I thought too many of their articles were slanted in opinion, seemed to be taking their data from Government sources only or other articles that took info from one source only. At least with the Economist when they are putting off-center opinions out there they put it out as a discussion piece to be debated/commented on. I don't subscribe anymore, but would still read The Economist in the Library.
    There's an Economist iPhone app that gives 6/7 free articles every week (editors highlights). They also come with audio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

Cosmo-have to buy it every month!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Stuff - gadget magazine
    Empire - Films
    Q - Music

Although I don't subscribe...I used to buy them when I had a few quid, now I just read them in Easons and head off on my merry way, well informed and pleased with my economising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Earthmovers. Come on lads, hold your hand up high. There are lots of us. Let there be no shame.

no_bother wrote: »
    phoenix.

phoenix - i dont subscribe as i just swipe mams when she's finished :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Wrestling Observer Newsletter
    Home Cinema Choice
    Sound On Sound

+1 on Sound on Sound. Only magazine I'm subscribed to or would buy regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I occasionally read Hot Press and Q.

Anyone know any good magazines on music production?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Games TM , as far as video game mags go I enjoy it the most, Edge is too up its own hole and the other magazines are too aimed at kids.

Used to buy Empire religiously, I had every single issue stacked on my floor from 1994 ish up until 2008 when I stopped buying it. I buy the odd issue now and then to read on a train or plane if I'm travelling but I use their site instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I buy Guitar and Bass magazine a lot. I used to buy Mojo magazine (which is about music) every month but now I only buy it when there's an article about an artist or band I like, which isn't often now. I sometimes buy Uncut magazine (which is about music and films) when there's an article about a band I like or when there's some good music on the free CD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Business Traveller
    Investment Chronicle
    Shares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Cydoniac wrote: »
    I occasionally read Hot Press and Q.

Anyone know any good magazines on music production?

Eh, my post right above yours! Sound On Sound. :p There was another one mentioned in the Music Production forum recently - can't for the life of me remember it now though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Ooooh, thought Sound on Sound was a music review magazine. Nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I have a subscription to The New Yorker and it is definitely the most bourgeois thing I have ever done :-p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Record Collector Magazine

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Scientific American. New scientist. Nature on occasion. Fortean times, rotate a couple of arts, cars technology and fly fishing mags

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Terrorizer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Focus, Digital Photographer, Terrorizer, Zero Tolerance, Creative Review, Skin Deep, Empire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

time magazine.

new magazine every 2 weeks for £14 a year. bargain subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭LostinKildare

The New Yorker. Great stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Don't subscribe but often read:

Time
    4-4-2
    When Saturday Comes
    Latex Santa Suit Monthly
    Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I have a subscription to The New Yorker and it is definitely the most bourgeois thing I have ever done :-p

I actually like sitting back in a chair with a glass of craft beer reading it. Feel like a gimp, but it's a cracking mag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Private Eye
    The Phoenix
    Viz
    New Statesman